Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

The Nikonians Community is member-driven and independent, focusing on the joy of learning in a friendly atmosphere. We are advertising free and have both free and paid membership levels. Your support through a paid membership is most vital for both sustaining and expanding our community. Big thanks to all of you who are helping out!

X


Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Members Galleries Master Your Vision Galleries 5Contest Categories 5Winners Galleries 5ANPAT Galleries 5 The Winners Editor's Choice Portfolios Recent Photos Search Contest Info Help News Newsletter Join us Renew Membership About us Retrieve password Contact us Contests Vouchers Wiki Apps THE NIKONIAN™ For the press Fundraising Search Help!
More5

How-to's Camera Reviews

Nikon Z7 First Impressions

Jonathan Kandel (JonK)


Keywords: nikon, z7, mirrorless, camera, photography, jonk

I have been handling the Z7 for about two weeks, test shooting in my apartment, general shooting around the neighborhood, and on two dedicated landscape shoots. Following are my observations. This is not a full review; it is not intended to compete with the articles by professional reviewers, and I won’t recite the camera specs — if you are reading this article you memorized them months ago. And my opinions are based on how I set up a camera which may vary from your set up. 

For the benefit of those who have not met me in person — which, given the self-imposed limits of our internet camaraderie, is almost all of you — here’s a brief introduction. I’m 68, 5'5", weigh 160 lbs., and my hands are medium size. I usually shoot Manual Exposure with unlimited Auto ISO, I use back button AF, and I never shoot movies. All that said, here we go.

01

The Nikon Z7 with 24-70mm f/4 S
Click for an enlargement

 

To read the rest of the article, please log in. This article is available to all Silver, Gold and Platinum Nikonians members. If you are not registered yet, please do so. To discover the world of Nikonians and the advantages of being a registered member, take our short discovery tour.

10 comments

Stan Fong (Stan_Fong) on November 18, 2018

Nice review, Jon!

J. Ramon Palacios (jrp) on November 12, 2018

JRP is one of the co-founders, has in-depth knowledge in various areas. Awarded for his contributions for the Resources

Thank you very much Jon for this thorough review. I believe that while the D850 and Z7 sensors may be similar, the new generation SPEED 6 processor on the Z cameras could very well have a significant impact on rendering. Looking forward to see your image quality tests.

Karen Gottschall (scenicshutterbug) on November 11, 2018

John, Thanks for the review. I didn't realize the menus and playback features were accessible through the EVF. That is a very handy feature! I just returned from a 3-week trip to China where I used the Z7 almost exclusively and was not disappointed with it! I had one problem with moire on a black and white striped shirt in one image. Other images with the same shirt were fine. I also had one slight panic attack when I accidentally hit the EVF button and turned off the viewfinder. It took me a few minutes to figure out what I had done, but it was easily fixed. I used the FTZ with my 70-300 G IF-ED lens a few times. The balance felt fine, but the lens seemed to hunt a bit for focus. I have not yet tested it with any other lenses, so I have no conclusions about this yet. The camera worked superbly with the 24-70 kit lens. I also noticed no problems with battery life, but I shoot almost exclusively with the viewfinder. Karen

Jonathan Kandel (JonK) on November 10, 2018

Awarded for his high level skills and in-depth knowledge in various areas, such as Wildlife, Landscape and Stage Photography Donor Ribbon awarded for his very generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2015

Otto, I also liked Ming Thein’s review of the Z7. But even he got hung up on minor points — the missing “protect” button, for instance — and he disagreed with the placement of the major back-button controls, notably the DISP button and the Joystick. Everyone is entitled to his or her own opinion. While I am not quite get completely used to the positions, I am sure I would not want those two interchanged. I, um, rarely read anything on depreview… :-)

Jonathan Kandel (JonK) on November 10, 2018

Awarded for his high level skills and in-depth knowledge in various areas, such as Wildlife, Landscape and Stage Photography Donor Ribbon awarded for his very generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2015

David, I have yet to do A-B testing, though I do intend to shoot a Colorchecker with both bodies. My gut feeling is that the IQ is the same — no surprise, the sensors are technically very similar. Post work feels the same for Z7 files as for D850 files — in fact, I am using the same preset, as of yet there is no good reason to change it. More to come…

Peter Mandzuk (Petzuk) on November 10, 2018

Good insight to the new Z. Thanks for posting.

David Kuttler (kuttler) on November 9, 2018

Thanks Jon - Enjoyed your opening give a good perspective on how the camera felt to someone with your body which helped me since I have not had a chance to hold one. Can you say something about picture quality from your point of view say compared to the 850?

Otto Fabricius (fabric) on November 9, 2018

Thank you Jon for an interesting and enjoyable reading. Like probably many of you I have read the review at dpreview, and I don't understand why they seemingly blow some minor issues out of proportin. I can recommend the review of Z7 (and the new 24-70) by photographer Ming Thein here: https://blog.mingthein.com/2018/09/29/2018-nikon-z7-24-70-review/

Geoff Baylis (GBaylis) on November 9, 2018

Donor Ribbon awarded for his support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Donor Ribbon awarded for his very generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2015 Awarded for his generous and continuous sharing of his high level skills with the Nikonians community Writer Ribbon awarded for his contributions to the Nikonians Articles. Ribbon awarded for his generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2017 Ribbon awarded for his win at the Best of Nikonians 2107 Annual Photo Contest

Thanks Jon for an enjoyable read. It's nice to get a hands-on review about what's good for 99% of us rather than those reviews that seem to set out to uncover the 'deficiencies' versus the latest DSLRs Geoff.

David Summers (dm1dave) on November 9, 2018

Awarded for high level knowledge and skills in various areas, most notably in Wildlife and Landscape Writer Ribbon awarded for his excellent article contributions to the Nikonians community Donor Ribbon awarded for his very generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2015

A good practical hands-on article. Thanks John!

G