Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Those embarrassing situations we all face

ZoneV

US
3564 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
ZoneV Silver Member Nikonian since 08th Jan 2005
Sat 16-Mar-13 03:49 AM | edited Sat 16-Mar-13 04:04 AM by ZoneV

As a part-time newspaper photographer, I occasionally find myself photographing in some seemingly normal situations that end up a bit whacky.

Two such situations have been bothering me for a few months. They are related, but different.

One involved an assignment for a regional ballroom dancing club comprised mainly of retired folk. Many were there with a spouse, but some kept on switching dance partners every dance. Others stuck with their spouse the entire time. Some also seemed to not be there with a spouse, but stuck with a certain designated dance partner. As a PJ, you shoot and then take names. So you don't know anything until you see the last names of the people. If they're the same, you then ask the people what their relation is. 99 times out of 100, there is a relation, often marriage, but sometimes it's brother-sister. Once in a great while, two people with the same name aren't related at all. The problem is, you get a photo, and it might be of two unrelated people dancing together. You ask them if it's ok to run it, and they say yes. But their spouse was never informed or asked.