Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising
KerryS

Sedro Woolley, WA, US
270 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
KerryS Registered since 30th Nov 2012
Fri 24-May-13 06:56 PM

My D800 locked up on me today. I managed to work my way down to the collapsed I5 bridge near where I live by telling them I was with the press. I was shooting away when everything stopped and the camera seemed locked. Screens worked, green light for the card was stuck on. Not a good time for this to happen. I was getting some good shots of the media circus surrounding the bridge failure. I powered the camera off which did nothing. Did a two button reset which didn't work. Finally shut the camera off and pulled the battery for about 30 seconds. This worked and everything started working again. Has this happened to anyone else? Should I be worried there is something wrong with my camera?

Thx
Kerry

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

golfercat

Menifee, US
236 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 0

golfercat Silver Member Nikonian since 15th Sep 2012
Fri 24-May-13 05:11 PM

Hmmmmm.. green light stuck on would indicate to me that the problem happened when the camera was transfering data to the card. It could be a hand shaking glitch or an issue with the card as the data transfer never completed. I would first try using a different card. The DSLR is really a computer that takes pictures. Any data transfer that does not complete, either from handshaking or error, can only be cleared by doing an Initial clear as you did ... by removing the battery and allowing all the logic to reset. Question - did the battery have a good charge level when the problem occured? Logic does strange things when voltage drops to a certain point.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

chuckbernard

San Francisco, US
23 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 1

chuckbernard Registered since 30th Dec 2009
Sun 26-May-13 11:56 PM

Try moving the lens next time. Or, remove the lens and then lock it back into place. I've had mine lock up a couple of times and it was related to the lens in the lens mount.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

JazzDoc

Rochester, US
471 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 0

JazzDoc Gold Member Donor Ribbon awarded for his generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Nikonian since 11th Mar 2006
Mon 27-May-13 02:00 PM

This is a longshot. I have had trouble in hastily popping a CF card in that was previously fomrated in a different body, and that can surely hang up. 1-trial learning--I always format in-camera whenever a card is inserted. That also holds for any new card, of course.

Gary Paige

my gallery

www.frontpaige-photography.com

KerryS

Sedro Woolley, WA, US
270 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 3

KerryS Registered since 30th Nov 2012
Mon 27-May-13 07:54 PM

When I got home and downloaded the shots I had some very interesting results. A number of my shots were under exposed, some were over exposed and some seemed ok. I started wondering if I had set bracketing up by accident and went over the camera settings to see what was up. I found the Live View selector had been switched from photograph to video but I continued to take shots. I haven't played with this to see if this may have caused my problem or not.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Magnum164

US
106 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 0

Magnum164 Silver Member Nikonian since 01st Jun 2011
Mon 27-May-13 10:29 PM

I had the same problem the other week shooting a wedding dinner for a friend. spent all night trying to figure out why my screen kept going black and half my pictures we completely black.

Turns out for me I had bumped the release button when picking up my camera, just enough to let the lens come loose.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

porkmunchie

US
16 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 0

porkmunchie Registered since 06th May 2013
Fri 31-May-13 05:22 PM

What version firmware are you using? There was a firmware update A:1.01 / B:1.02 released on April 3, 2013 that addressed a similar issue:

"When a still image was captured while viewing existing images in playback mode, the monitor turned off, the memory card access lamp glowed steadily, and, in some rare cases, the camera ceased to respond to operations. This issue has been resolved."

KerryS

Sedro Woolley, WA, US
270 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 6

KerryS Registered since 30th Nov 2012
Sat 01-Jun-13 12:52 AM

I have the latest version of firmware loaded on the camera.

I still haven't had time to setup the camera to a similar setup of the day it locked up. I need to do this and see if I can replicate the problem. My guess it was a one time event, and/or my hope is this was a one time event. Camera has been working fine ever since.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

rjo

Woodstock, US
69 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 7

rjo Silver Member Nikonian since 05th Apr 2008
Sun 02-Jun-13 12:36 PM

Are you sure it wasn't just a buffer overrun? this happened to me yesterday during a commercial shoot and I put the camera down and used my D300 for a while. During a break i looked at the D800 and all was good. that's when i remembered it ha a slow card in it from the wedding last weekend when I ran out of high speed cards. I was just shooting faster than the camera could write and filld up the buffer.

RJO

Nikon nut since 1968.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

KerryS

Sedro Woolley, WA, US
270 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 6

KerryS Registered since 30th Nov 2012
Sun 02-Jun-13 08:22 PM

It happened again and this time it seems to be the problem that the firmware upgrade was suppose to fix. I was shooting some candids of a group of high school seniors before their prom. I was shooting in continuous high. I chimped a shot before the camera was done writing to the card and it locked up. It would seem the firmware upgrade didn't quite take care of the lock up problem. I have checked my firmware and I have the latest loaded on the camera.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Arkayem

Richmond Hill, GA (Savannah), US
6134 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 9

Arkayem Moderator Awarded for his high level skills in flash photography Charter Member
Sun 02-Jun-13 10:11 PM

>It happened again and this time it seems to be the problem
>that the firmware upgrade was suppose to fix. I was shooting
>some candids of a group of high school seniors before their
>prom. I was shooting in continuous high. I chimped a shot
>before the camera was done writing to the card and it locked
>up. It would seem the firmware upgrade didn't quite take care
>of the lock up problem. I have checked my firmware and I have
>the latest loaded on the camera.

Sure sounds like a bad lens connection. Did you try removing and reinstalling the lens?

Russ
Nikonian Moderator
Russell MacDonald Photography
Nikon CLS Practical Guide

DAJolley

US
1301 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#11. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 0

DAJolley Silver Member Nikonian since 19th Dec 2007
Mon 03-Jun-13 09:10 PM

My early production D800E has locked like this since the day I got it. It is sporadic and Nikon was unable to fix the problem. Lately, it has started locking up when I first turn the camera on. I just had this start up lockup happen last night. Faster memory cards (95mbs)reduced the frequency of lockups when shooting, but have not helped with the start up problem.
Dave Jolley

David Jolley
Pickerington, Ohio
Please visit my Website

KerryS

Sedro Woolley, WA, US
270 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#12. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 10

KerryS Registered since 30th Nov 2012
Wed 05-Jun-13 11:42 PM

>Sure sounds like a bad lens connection. Did you try removing
>and reinstalling the lens?
>
>Russ
>Nikonian Moderator
>http://russmacdonaldphotos.com">Russell
>MacDonald Photography
>>"http://NikonCLSPracticalGuide.blogspot.com"]Nikon
>CLS Practical Guide

Ok, I started thinking about this and both times I had the problem I was using the same lens. I played around with that lens on this afternoon and experienced a problem with focus and shutter speed. I cleaned the contacts of the lens and it is now working perfectly.

I am crossing my fingers you maybe correct. I will be shooting my niece's graduation ceremony this weekend and I want to use the same lens; a Sigma 70-200 f2.8.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Magnum164

US
106 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#13. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 12

Magnum164 Silver Member Nikonian since 01st Jun 2011
Wed 05-Jun-13 11:56 PM


>>Nikonian Moderator
>>>href="http://russmacdonaldphotos.com"]Russell
>>MacDonald Photography
>>>>"http://NikonCLSPracticalGuide.blogspot.com"]Nikon
>>CLS Practical Guide
>
>Ok, I started thinking about this and both times I had the
>problem I was using the same lens. I played around with that
>lens on this afternoon and experienced a problem with focus
>and shutter speed. I cleaned the contacts of the lens and it
>is now working perfectly.
>
>I am crossing my fingers you maybe correct. I will be
>shooting my niece's graduation ceremony this weekend and I
>want to use the same lens; a Sigma 70-200 f2.8.


Interesting.... I had trouble taking pictures with my D7000 the past few days... Could not figure out why I would press the button and nothing would happen.

Guess what lens I was using? Sigma 70-200 f2.8

When I had trouble with my D800 I was using a Sigma 24-70... Wonder if there is something in the firmware affecting Sigma lenses.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

KerryS

Sedro Woolley, WA, US
270 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#14. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 12

KerryS Registered since 30th Nov 2012
Sat 08-Jun-13 04:20 PM

To put a cap on this; it seems to be the lens that is causing my problems. I was using my Sigma 70-200 last night and it lost communication with the camera at least a half dozen times during the shoot. To get everything back working I would have to either re-mount the lens or shut the camera off and re-mount the lens. Very annoying to say the least. Since this is the only lens that I am having this problem with, it will be sent back to Sigma for repairs. Lens is still covered under warranty, thankfully.

Thanks to all that commented on this, especially Russ. I likely would have found the problem but the suggestions here shorten that time frame.

Kerry

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Arkayem

Richmond Hill, GA (Savannah), US
6134 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#15. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 14

Arkayem Moderator Awarded for his high level skills in flash photography Charter Member
Sat 08-Jun-13 06:34 PM

>To put a cap on this; it seems to be the lens that is causing
>my problems. I was using my Sigma 70-200 last night and it
>lost communication with the camera at least a half dozen times
>during the shoot. To get everything back working I would have
>to either re-mount the lens or shut the camera off and
>re-mount the lens. Very annoying to say the least. Since
>this is the only lens that I am having this problem with, it
>will be sent back to Sigma for repairs. Lens is still covered
>under warranty, thankfully.
>
>Thanks to all that commented on this, especially Russ. I
>likely would have found the problem but the suggestions here
>shorten that time frame.
>
>Kerry

I'm just glad you found the problem. Those kinds of things are very frustrating.

Russ
Nikonian Team Member
Russell MacDonald Photography
Nikon CLS Practical Guide

Magnum164

US
106 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#16. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 14

Magnum164 Silver Member Nikonian since 01st Jun 2011
Sat 08-Jun-13 08:09 PM

>To put a cap on this; it seems to be the lens that is causing
>my problems. I was using my Sigma 70-200 last night and it
>lost communication with the camera at least a half dozen times
>during the shoot. To get everything back working I would have
>to either re-mount the lens or shut the camera off and
>re-mount the lens. Very annoying to say the least. Since
>this is the only lens that I am having this problem with, it
>will be sent back to Sigma for repairs. Lens is still covered
>under warranty, thankfully.
>
>Thanks to all that commented on this, especially Russ. I
>likely would have found the problem but the suggestions here
>shorten that time frame.
>
>Kerry

What year lens do you have? HSM or HSM II?? There were issues with the early 70-200 Sigmas, I believe fro reading pre-2005 which had the same symptoms. If it is the lens, it should be reproducible on another camera if you have one.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

wfmcgrath3

Livingston, US
77 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#17. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 11

wfmcgrath3 Registered since 25th Feb 2012
Sun 09-Jun-13 03:16 PM

On my D800, I have found that using any button on the camera while it is in the boot-up stage, about a second from turn-on, can cause the camera to get stuck. I now try to give it a second or two after power-up before I start pressing any buttons. I didn't do any rigorous testing of this hypothesis, but it did seem to be related to the interval between turn-on and button actuation. I have the latest firmware.

Creating images the new-fashioned way!

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

KerryS

Sedro Woolley, WA, US
270 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#18. "RE: Camera lockup" | In response to Reply # 16

KerryS Registered since 30th Nov 2012
Sun 09-Jun-13 06:14 PM

>What year lens do you have? HSM or HSM II?? There were issues
>with the early 70-200 Sigmas, I believe fro reading pre-2005
>which had the same symptoms. If it is the lens, it should be
>reproducible on another camera if you have one.

I purchased the lens a little under 2 years ago. It is a HSM model. I have a D40 in the closet somewhere I could try it on if I can find it.

Here is another tidbit; I was reading on a Pentax forum (I believe) where someone had a similar issue with the same lens but with a Pentax body. They found that the screws on the lens' mount had come loose. I checked the mount screws on my lens and they were indeed a little loose. I carefully tightened the screws and did not have a problem with the lens shooting about 20 or 30 shots with it. I haven't had the time to shoot much but will try to get out this evening and do more.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

G