Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising
helmdr

Houston, US
297 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
helmdr Registered since 08th Nov 2012
Tue 14-May-13 09:25 PM

Has anybody used this software to fine tune their camera/lens combo? I have played with it all day and cannot get the first test completed. keep getting communication errors. I have sent email to provider but they want 48 hours to answer.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Garrett Hayes

Lucan, Ireland, IE
289 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 0

Garrett Hayes Gold Member Nikonian since 03rd Nov 2004
Wed 15-May-13 05:19 AM

Yes, I have used it without problems once I had managed to set it up. Not the most intuitive of software and not easy to wade through the manual.

GH

cbrandin

US
41 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 0

cbrandin Silver Member Nikonian since 28th Nov 2011
Wed 15-May-13 05:04 PM

>Has anybody used this software to fine tune their camera/lens
>combo? I have played with it all day and cannot get the first
>test completed. keep getting communication errors. I have
>sent email to provider but they want 48 hours to answer.

The D800 produces huge raw files which if your computer doesn't have more than 4GB of memory may not be able to be processed. Try setting the Focal>Settings>Tests at the bottom of the page to "JPEG" instead of "RAW". JPEG processing is much less intensive than raw processing and requires much less memory. It runs much faster that way too.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

byvini

UK
28 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 0

byvini Registered since 19th Apr 2013
Thu 16-May-13 10:24 AM

I used it to check focus points and sharpness. It works well in my point of view

byVini photography

helmdr

Houston, US
297 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 3

helmdr Registered since 08th Nov 2012
Thu 16-May-13 04:37 PM

thanks for the reply's, Don't think it is a computer problem. I run the latest Macbook Pro with an 2.8ghz i7 and 16 GB Ram. even so i will try to do with jogs

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

cbrandin

US
41 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 4

cbrandin Silver Member Nikonian since 28th Nov 2011
Sat 18-May-13 01:16 AM | edited Sat 18-May-13 01:18 AM by cbrandin

let me know how it works out because I am curious as to whehter it is really a memory problem or whether it it just a problem with their new support of NEF raw captures. When I tried it it took a very, very long time to fail with a message that it ran out of memory.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

helmdr

Houston, US
297 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 5

helmdr Registered since 08th Nov 2012
Sat 18-May-13 11:55 AM

will do, regrettully I am heading out for a month, but will post when I am back.. Interestingly I sent email to Focal and on their website they state they answer within 48 hours. It has been five days and still no answer.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

ljordan316

Inverness, US
830 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 0

ljordan316 Silver Member Nikonian since 10th Feb 2010
Tue 21-May-13 09:15 AM

Version 1.8.1 runs fine on my five year old Dell with quad processors and 16 GB of RAM with Windows 7. However, I had to switch to JPEG capture and processing (not RAW NEF) to get it to work without failure.

FoCal suffers from some of the same issues I see with the CamRanger. The developers just never seem to get around to testing with HUGE RAW files like the ones that the D800 produces.

We get to be the bleeding edge.

Larry Jordan

D800E, D500, 14-24, 16-35, 24-70, 70-180 Micro, 80-400mm AF-S, 500mm AF-S II

Website:
http://larryjordan.smugmug.com/

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

cbrandin

US
41 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 6

cbrandin Silver Member Nikonian since 28th Nov 2011
Tue 21-May-13 01:42 PM

I wonder if it works better with 12-bit raw than 14-bit raw? I'll have to try it out. It seems to me that 12-bit raw would be fine for the purposes of FoCal.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Greyscale

Freehold, US
111 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 4

Greyscale Registered since 12th Jun 2002
Tue 21-May-13 05:01 PM

>thanks for the reply's, Don't think it is a computer problem.
> I run the latest Macbook Pro with an 2.8ghz i7 and 16 GB Ram.
> even so i will try to do with jogs

Section 1.1.2 in the Focal manual states Nikon D800/D800E must use USB 2.0 to avoid communication errors. I believe the latest Macbook Pro uses USB 3.0.
I find it interesting that you have recieved no reply to your problem. Havnt seen an update for a while now and little or no info on the Focal Twitter page????????

Greyscale

helmdr

Houston, US
297 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 7

helmdr Registered since 08th Nov 2012
Tue 21-May-13 09:39 PM

thnaks greyscale and Larry, I have a mac air with usb 2.0, when I get back I will try with that comp. Agree Larry, I guess I will also go to using jogs. Would likeed to have fine tuned my primes for this trip to Galapagos, but gues not meant to be..

By the way it is now ten days and nothing from Focal on the problem.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

rexster314

Angleton, US
26 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#11. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 10

rexster314 Silver Member Nikonian since 15th Dec 2004
Tue 28-May-13 01:45 AM

I just purchased this today. It seemed like it just hung up when it began analyzing the nef file. I waited about 10 minutes and the progress bar never moved. Finally saw the option to change to jpg and it worked as it should. I did my 70-200 2.8, 18-200 VR, 12-24 f4 and an old 28-70 f3.5-4.5. Ran out of time and I'll do my 80-400 VR lens tomorrow. Have not done any testing of the results but will do that later this week.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Vlad_IT

US
1354 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#12. "RE: FoCal" | In response to Reply # 11

Vlad_IT Silver Member Nikonian since 21st Sep 2011
Sat 24-Aug-13 11:36 PM

What version did you buy? is a pro version a must?
Best regards,
Vlad

G