Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

What do you do with your raws?

Buzz Fisher

London, UK
12 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
Buzz Fisher Registered since 02nd Mar 2013
Sat 02-Mar-13 01:44 PM | edited Sat 02-Mar-13 02:06 PM by Buzz Fisher

Hi everyone, newbie here. Im a D4, D800 and D7000 user and work as a freelance photo journalist. With the zillions of files I have kept over the years taking forever more and more external hard drives, im thinking about deleting all the RAW's that have been processed.

What do others do?

nikim45

Memphis, US
12 posts

#1. "RE: What do you do with your raws?" | In response to Reply # 0

nikim45 Registered since 12th Feb 2013
Sat 02-Mar-13 01:05 PM

I save all my RAWs in a seperate folder after processing to TIF. Takes up a lot of space but I have a couple spare large capacity HDs. To me, if it's worth saving it's worth saving in an uncompressed format. I only use JPEGs for e-mail or web posting which I almost never do.

Good luck

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Buzz Fisher

London, UK
12 posts

#2. "RE: What do you do with your raws?" | In response to Reply # 1

Sat 02-Mar-13 01:13 PM

Thanks for the reply, I tend to agree. The problem I have is that as external hard drives have increased in capacity, my files are spread over quite a few small external drives. Maybe I should replace all these with modern Terabyte sized drives rather than cut files

icslowmo

Surprise, US
613 posts

#3. "RE: What do you do with your raws?" | In response to Reply # 0

icslowmo Registered since 01st Jan 2012
Sat 02-Mar-13 01:16 PM | edited Sat 02-Mar-13 01:19 PM by icslowmo