Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising
Rlac

US
13 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
Rlac Registered since 27th Jan 2011
Fri 01-Feb-13 03:26 PM

What's the best way to shoot tethered with the D800E?

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

bkinthebay

bkinthebay, BE
409 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 0

bkinthebay Registered since 27th Feb 2010
Fri 01-Feb-13 04:55 PM

I use lightroom 4 which has built in tethered shooting. I am happy with it.

JECoutre

Concord, US
375 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 0

JECoutre Gold Member Nikonian since 02nd Jan 2008
Sat 02-Feb-13 02:35 AM | edited Sat 02-Feb-13 02:36 AM by JECoutre

I've also captured tethered to my D800E using LR4. Two observations, both dissappointing ... 1) No Live View with OCF. 2) files were not written to in-camera memory chips, only to computer. Other than these two dissappointments, it was very convenient for click and view. Supplied cable was usa ble but I have just purchased the 15ft Tether products cable.

pshnikchch

Christchurch, NZ
255 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 0

pshnikchch Silver Member Nikonian since 16th May 2007
Sat 02-Feb-13 03:44 AM

I use Capture One Pro 7 to tether my 800E. Works well.

Cheers

http://www.pastoralsystems.co.nz/photography/

Antero52

Vantaa, FI
2675 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 0

Antero52 Silver Member Awarded for his expertise in post-processing, being  consistently helpful and professional. Nikonian since 07th Jul 2009
Sat 02-Feb-13 05:38 AM

Define best.

LR is what many photographers already have. If you appreciate the ability to have your photos quickly usable in LR, that's your choice then.

In some discussions it has been reported that LR loses connection to the camera if the user changes lenses during the session, and LR needs to be closed and restarted to detect the new lens. Some say that Nikon's software (Camera Control Pro?) copes with lens changes during session.

If you want to control every aspect of your camera than can be controlled remotely, and then some, I recommend ControlMyNikon. My only nit is that the current version needs Admin privileges (Win only) to run; I'd like to use software as a non-admin user. The author says it will be fixed in the next version.

Regards, Antero

ericbowles

Atlanta, US
10550 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 0

ericbowles Moderator Awarded for his in-depth knowledge and high level skills in various areas, especially Landscape and Wildlife Photoghraphy Writer Ribbon awarded for for his article contributions to the community Donor Ribbon awarded for his very generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2015 Nikonian since 25th Nov 2005
Sat 02-Feb-13 09:51 AM

There are a several major functions that can be handled tethered, so could you explain what you are trying to accomplish?

The easiest problem is simply viewing images immediately after capture. For viewing, something like the Eye-Fi card works well to trasfer images from the camera's SD card slot to a wifi enabled device. For wireless transfer, small files are faster so I normally shoot RAW + basic JPEG with the NEF to the CF card and JPEG going to the Eye-Fi SD card.

If you are trying to upload NEF files or large JPEGs, the Eye-Fi card works but can be slow. Other more powerful solutions are going to be required. Some photographers use other wireless devices to upload files on the fly. Nikon makes the WT-4A/B/C/D/E Wireless Transmitter for this function. This is also a place where shooting connected to a computer works and the LR4 solution and many others should work. The D800E has an ethernet connection so you can simply cable connect from the camera to your computer.

The most advanced situation is controlling the camera remotely. Nikon Camera Control Pro 2 allows you to control most camera settings from a computer - as well as supporting Live View. You can change shutter speed, aperture, exposure mode, hue and WB. In this situation you have the benefit of a large monitor for precise focus, examining exposure, etc. The monitor also can be calibrated so you get more precise color than on the LCD which is not color managed or calibrated. With this solution you still need to transmit images to the computer via wireless or whatever approach is desired.

Eric Bowles
Nikonians Team
My Gallery
Workshops

Nikonians membership — my most important photographic investment, after the camera

Rlac

US
13 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 5

Rlac Registered since 27th Jan 2011
Mon 04-Feb-13 01:53 PM

Thanks for the help. I don't use LR...just ACR. I'll try CCP2

Rick

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

rbsandor

Denver, US
1751 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 0

rbsandor Silver Member Nikonian since 29th Aug 2007
Tue 05-Feb-13 03:03 AM | edited Tue 05-Feb-13 06:20 PM by rbsandor

Take a look at this website http://www.camranger.com. This device is attached to your camera and creates its own wireless network which communicates with your iOS device or laptop (OS 10.8.2 in the case of Apple). All camera functions (WB, SS, Ap etc) are usable including HDR, Focus Stacking and Intervalometer. Per the mfr., the camera can be up to 150 feet away from your device an still communicate with it. About the only thing it can't do is move your camera to a better position.

Edit: all operations are performed in Live View. Images are saved to the card and may or may not be saved to the viewing device by choice.

nnikonk

Edinburgh, UK
21 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 2

nnikonk Silver Member Nikonian since 19th Nov 2012
Tue 05-Feb-13 12:21 PM

I also have tried using LR4 to tether my D800. It is a no-no as the image is not also written to the card in the camera.
Do other types of software allow writing to the computer and camera?
Thanks.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Benkoop

Amsterdam, NL
122 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 6

Benkoop Silver Member Nikonian since 17th Sep 2009
Tue 05-Feb-13 06:06 PM

> I'll try CCP2


That's what I use - works great!
Tried LR but without Live View it is of no use to me.

Regards,

Wim

K64drb

Blacksburg, US
324 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 0

K64drb Silver Member Nikonian since 18th Feb 2012
Fri 08-Feb-13 09:13 PM

FWIW - I've got Kelby's book on LR4, and he states that the issue of whether or not images are written to both the camera and the hard drive is also a function of the camera, not just LR4. He said Canons write to both, but Nikons only write to the hard drive.

Dave Badger
Blacksburg, VA
My Nikonians gallery, or visit www.AlternateViewsPhotography.com .

"You don't quit playing because you grow old; you grow old because you quit playing."

Henry64

DK
142 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#11. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 5

Henry64 Silver Member Nikonian since 13th Jan 2008
Sat 09-Feb-13 10:27 AM

>There are a several major functions that can be handled
>tethered, so could you explain what you are trying to
>accomplish?
>
>The easiest problem is simply viewing images immediately after
>capture. For viewing, something like the Eye-Fi card works
>well to trasfer images from the camera's SD card slot to a
>wifi enabled device. For wireless transfer, small files are
>faster so I normally shoot RAW + basic JPEG with the NEF to
>the CF card and JPEG going to the Eye-Fi SD card.
>
>If you are trying to upload NEF files or large JPEGs, the
>Eye-Fi card works but can be slow. Other more powerful
>solutions are going to be required. Some photographers use
>other wireless devices to upload files on the fly. Nikon
>makes the WT-4A/B/C/D/E Wireless Transmitter for this
>function. This is also a place where shooting connected to a
>computer works and the LR4 solution and many others should
>work. The D800E has an ethernet connection so you can simply
>cable connect from the camera to your computer.
>
>The most advanced situation is controlling the camera
>remotely. Nikon Camera Control Pro 2 allows you to control
>most camera settings from a computer - as well as supporting
>Live View. You can change shutter speed, aperture, exposure
>mode, hue and WB. In this situation you have the benefit of a
>large monitor for precise focus, examining exposure, etc. The
>monitor also can be calibrated so you get more precise color
>than on the LCD which is not color managed or calibrated.
>With this solution you still need to transmit images to the
>computer via wireless or whatever approach is desired.
>
>Eric Bowles
>Nikonians Team
>My Gallery
>Workshops
>
>Nikonians membership — my most important photographic
>investment, after the camera


D800/e does not come with an ethernet connection port - D4 does, maybe you have confused that? D800 has a USB3 port

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

TFCJRMD

Bowling Green, US
105 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#12. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 0

TFCJRMD Gold Member Nikonian since 19th Nov 2009
Sun 10-Feb-13 02:29 PM

As mentioned previously ControlMyNikon is an excellent product. Free trial and only $30 for purchase of a license for three computers.
Compare it to the Nikon product.
Link is posted.

Click on image to view larger version


Attachment#1 (controlmynikon file)

kiu

Pleasanton, US
73 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#13. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 10

kiu Registered since 09th May 2012
Wed 20-Feb-13 08:27 PM

>FWIW - I've got Kelby's book on LR4, and he states that the
>issue of whether or not images are written to both the camera
>and the hard drive is also a function of the camera, not just
>LR4. He said Canons write to both, but Nikons only write to
>the hard drive.


It would be great if Nikon would write to the memory card and to the hard drive. My notebook crashed while tethered and lost several frames during a client shoot.

http://kenlamstudios.com

nnikonk

Edinburgh, UK
21 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#14. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 12

nnikonk Silver Member Nikonian since 19th Nov 2012
Wed 20-Feb-13 08:31 PM

I have had a go with controlmynikon and with the D800 I can get it to write to the memory card and the computer - success!

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

infamily

Petaluma, US
223 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#15. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 7

infamily Silver Member Donor Ribbon awarded for his support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Nikonian since 10th Sep 2009
Wed 20-Feb-13 10:42 PM | edited Thu 21-Feb-13 06:20 AM by jrp

>Take a look at this website http://www.camranger.com. This
>device is attached to your camera and creates its own wireless
>network which communicates with your iOS device or laptop (OS
>10.8.2 in the case of Apple). All camera functions (WB, SS, Ap
>etc) are usable including HDR, Focus Stacking and
>Intervalometer. Per the mfr., the camera can be up to 150 feet
>away from your device an still communicate with it. About the
>only thing it can't do is move your camera to a better
>position.
>
>Edit: all operations are performed in Live View. Images are
>saved to the card and may or may not be saved to the viewing
>device by choice.

Are you using this device with d800? does it work well and speed is ok?

Sandeep B
So much to learn, so little time.

visit
my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

liamtoh1ps

US
312 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#16. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 0

liamtoh1ps Registered since 17th Apr 2012
Thu 21-Feb-13 01:59 AM

I have tried (basically installed and used once) Nikon Camera Control application. This is an open source project. Now the product name has been changed to digiCamControl.

The only small issue I noticed was that it took a very long time to show the final photo on my PC. But I was able to change many settings from the PC. It puts the camera in LiveView.

Unfortunately I do not have a personal laptop, hence it is not practical to 'carry' my desktop to my subject. Hence I never really explored all the settings of this software.

Try it yourself and see if meets your requirements.

Rickjobson

Windsor, AU
118 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#17. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 0

Rickjobson Gold Member Nikonian since 20th Dec 2012
Thu 21-Feb-13 07:46 AM

Hi, I am using Helicon Control with my D800, part of Helicon Focus. It has plenty of adjustments and will also step the images for image stacking on macro photography. It is simple and seems to work fine. Currently I take around 70 stepped images then they export straight to Helicon Focus.

RickJ

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

rbsandor

Denver, US
1751 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#18. "RE: Tether" | In response to Reply # 15

rbsandor Silver Member Nikonian since 29th Aug 2007
Thu 21-Feb-13 12:56 PM

yes, i've used it with both the D800 and D4. It works exceedingly well and fast on both cameras.

G