Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

D800/e Live View behavior

TomHackettPhoto

Kingston, US
23 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
TomHackettPhoto Silver Member Nikonian since 21st Apr 2012
Thu 06-Dec-12 07:47 PM

I have been using a D700 for several years, and the behavior of Live View is now intuitive to me. With the D800, things are quite different and perplexing.

With the D700, I rotate the dial to Lv. Then when I press the shutter release, the mirror goes up, and the monitor comes on. When I then press the shutter release half way, the monitor turns off, and when I fully press it the image is recorded, the info is displayed (thumbnail, histogram, etc.) for a few seconds, and when that clears the monitor returns to live view.

With the D800, when I press the Lv button, the mirror goes up and the monitor comes on (so far, so good). When I press the shutter release, the monitor goes off and the image is (I presume) recorded. There then follows a period of about 8 or 9 seconds when the monitor is off, the mirror remains up, and neither pressing the shutter release nor the Lv button elicits in any response. (In Cl or Ch mode I can take multiple images as long as the shutter release is pressed, but afterwords the same 8 or 9 second "pause" is once again in effect.) After the 8 or 9 second pause, the monitor comes on showing the info for a few seconds, followed by a return to live view.

I don't see anything in the manual about this. Is this the expected behavior?

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

DAJolley

US
1300 posts

#1. "RE: D800/e Live View behavior" | In response to Reply # 0