Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Remote Shutter Release

jfitzg14

US
143 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
jfitzg14 Silver Member Nikonian since 28th Oct 2012
Mon 26-Nov-12 12:32 PM

I have been taking some pictures with the tripod. I would like to get a wireless shutter release. Any ideas? Does Nikon make one for the D800? I couldn't find it on the website. Thanks.

Grey_Scale

US
21 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: Remote Shutter Release" | In response to Reply # 0

Grey_Scale Registered since 24th Sep 2012
Mon 26-Nov-12 11:43 AM

I use the RFN-4s Wireless Remote Shutter Release and so far it has worked out very well. Do a search for it here on the forum and you will find some other reviews as well as other options.

Ken

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

gpoole

Farmington Hills, US
4132 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: Remote Shutter Release" | In response to Reply # 0

gpoole Platinum Member Fellow Ribbon awarded for his excellent and frequent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community in the Nikonians spirit. Awarded for his very generous support to the Fundrasing Campaing 2014 Writer Ribbon awarded for his article contributions for the Articles library and the eZine Nikonian since 14th Feb 2004
Mon 26-Nov-12 01:10 PM

Nikon makes the ML-3 IR release. It's rather pricey.

Any 10 pin socket compatible release will work. If it's listed for other 10 pin socket cameras, it will work on the D800.

There are a lot for sale on eBay. B&H and other online stores list a few choices too. I got a Promaster brand RF release at my local camera store; I'm happy with it.

Gary in SE Michigan, USA.
Nikonians membership - My most important photographic investment, after the camera.
D4, D810, D300 (720nm IR conversion), D90, F6, FM3a (black), FM2n (chrome)
YashicaMat 124, Graflex Speed Graphic 4x5
My Nikonians Gallery & Our Chapter Gallery

dbvisions

Ringgold, US
65 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: Remote Shutter Release" | In response to Reply # 2

dbvisions Silver Member Nikonian since 25th Jan 2011
Mon 26-Nov-12 01:18 PM

I have a Phottix wireless release that I originally bought to use with my D700. It was not expensive (bought on eBay), worked great for tripod shots with the D700, and works as well with my new D800.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Gromit44

UK
730 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: Remote Shutter Release" | In response to Reply # 1

Gromit44 Registered since 04th Jan 2012
Mon 26-Nov-12 03:00 PM

+1 for the RFN-4s. It has one huge advantage over the others - the receiver is tiny and does not need the hotshoe.

http://www.amazon.com/RFN-4s-Wireless-Shutter-Release-connection/dp/B005PCDSBQ

BigEZ

US
39 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: Remote Shutter Release" | In response to Reply # 0

BigEZ Registered since 21st Mar 2012
Tue 27-Nov-12 12:06 AM

RFN-4s is awesome..
used it for this 5 bracket shoot.



Click on image to view larger version


Attachment#1 (jpg file)

KEN

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

mmontanaro

US
11 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: Remote Shutter Release" | In response to Reply # 5

mmontanaro Registered since 24th Oct 2012
Tue 27-Nov-12 02:21 PM | edited Tue 27-Nov-12 02:38 PM by mmontanaro

Look on page 390 of the user manual, it lists all the Nikon remotes that are compatible with the camera.

The two you are probably looking at, at least made by Nikon, are the MC-30A ($65 at B&H), which is a basic model, and the MC-36A ($160), which adds an intervalometer.

The other models listed in the manual have specialized purposes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Keep clickin'!

Marlo Montanaro

http://www.marlopix.com
http://marlomontanaro.wordpress.com
http://www.facebook.com/marlopix

DAJolley

US
1301 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: Remote Shutter Release" | In response to Reply # 5

DAJolley Silver Member Nikonian since 19th Dec 2007
Tue 27-Nov-12 03:19 PM | edited Tue 27-Nov-12 03:25 PM by DAJolley

Ken,
I saw some reports on DPReview and an Amazon.com review that the RFN-4s remote doesn't allow bracketed bursts on the D800. The claim is that the camera locks when shooting a burst. What is your experience with this?
Dave Jolley

David Jolley
Pickerington, Ohio
Please visit my Website

BigEZ

US
39 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: Remote Shutter Release" | In response to Reply # 7

BigEZ Registered since 21st Mar 2012
Tue 27-Nov-12 03:37 PM

Dave I have experienced good and bad.
I have had the problem you state...but it seems not to be all the time.
I use it one shot ..and .3 brackets...not a problem..I have had issues with 7 brackets...and I cant say at 5 brackets.
I;ll try it at a shoot tomorrow..and report in
I dont need the burst rate..in my interiors.....
But I can say, that I did not buy it for the burst....I got it for the remote...hands off, remote feature...in order to do a better job, in my shooting interiors.
I;m ussually checking the histogram between shots...if nothing els..just to see whats happening......or should I say...OH ####...what;s happening

KEN

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Gromit44

UK
730 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: Remote Shutter Release" | In response to Reply # 7

Gromit44 Registered since 04th Jan 2012
Tue 27-Nov-12 04:10 PM

With mine on BKT and CL or CH, the camera locks up - but if you turn the power off and on again it will complete the bracket sequence.

Gromit44

UK
730 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: Remote Shutter Release" | In response to Reply # 9

Gromit44 Registered since 04th Jan 2012
Tue 27-Nov-12 04:13 PM

PS. CL or CH without BKT works fine (press transmitter button for 1s to start).

bdudzik

Richland, US
18 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#11. "RE: Remote Shutter Release" | In response to Reply # 6

bdudzik Registered since 08th Apr 2009
Tue 27-Nov-12 06:10 PM

>Look on page 390 of the user manual, it lists all the Nikon
>remotes that are compatible with the camera.
>
>The two you are probably looking at, at least made by Nikon,
>are the MC-30A ($65 at B&H), which is a basic model, and
>the MC-36A ($160), which adds an intervalometer.
>
>The other models listed in the manual have specialized
>purposes.
As further clarification, Nikon's website lists both the MC-30 and MC-30A along with the MC-36 and MC-36a. All four are compatible with the D800/D800E with the MC-36 selling for $160 and the MC-36A for $230 on Nikons USA website. The MC-30A and MC-36A use updated materials from the previous models according to Nikon's information.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

G