Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Remote control option for D800

hujiie

US
596 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
hujiie Silver Member Nikonian since 10th Apr 2009
Sat 29-Sep-12 12:47 AM

My MC-36 is getting old and inner cables start to expose, especially on the joints.

Can anyone tell me what options we have for remote operation (with / without cable release) on D800 / D800 e?

www.hitoshiujiie.com/photography.html

sbpatel75

Chicago, US
55 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 0

sbpatel75 Silver Member Nikonian since 25th Aug 2007
Sat 29-Sep-12 02:41 AM

I used the Vello Wireless ShutterBoss Timer Remote for Nikon 10-Pin Connections. It works great.

sbp
www.flickr.com/photos/sbpatel75

I tend to clumsily march to the beat of my own off-rhythm drum.

My mom wishes I spent my money on girlie things like dresses, shoes, jewelry, and purses. I'd rather focus on glass.

spicyTuna

San jose, US
75 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 1

spicyTuna Registered since 26th Jun 2008
Sat 29-Sep-12 04:16 AM

Ditto. So many features and options.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

BigEZ

US
39 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 0

BigEZ Registered since 21st Mar 2012
Sat 06-Oct-12 09:19 AM

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005PCDSBQ/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i0

I use one of these....it's awesome.
Works first time every time!
Just sayin'

KEN

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

hujiie

US
596 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 0

hujiie Silver Member Nikonian since 10th Apr 2009
Sat 06-Oct-12 11:14 AM

Thank you all for suggestions. After I realized so many options, I ended up (1) Vello wired release for $8 and (2) remote trigger function with PW Flex TT5. Since I have TT5's, I ordered cable for 10-Pin Connections and PW from FlashZebra for $27.

Both works so well.

www.hitoshiujiie.com/photography.html

MEMcD

US
31595 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 4

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007
Sat 06-Oct-12 02:25 PM

Hi Hitoshi,

I use the Pocket Wizard cables with MultiMax transceivers and they are very reliable.
I haven't tried them with the FlexTT5's yet.
Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

hujiie

US
596 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 5

hujiie Silver Member Nikonian since 10th Apr 2009
Sat 06-Oct-12 02:56 PM

Marty:

The issue is that cables from PW are so expensive. 10-pin remote shutter cable b/w Nikon camera to PW3, TT5 costs over $100. FlashZebra offers very reliable great deal in my experience.

When I was experimenting, I found out that my old 10 pin remote shutter cable from FlashZebra (I used for D700 and PW2) is not compatible to TT5 and PW3. Then I ordered a proper one for TT5 / PW3 while the old cable is in ebay.

www.hitoshiujiie.com/photography.html

HSSwan

Hollywood, US
58 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 0

HSSwan Silver Member Laureate Ribbon awarded as a winner in a Nikonians Best of Images Annual Photo Contest Nikonian since 24th Jun 2006
Sat 06-Oct-12 10:38 PM

I've been using a Phottix Cleon II with my last three Nikon DSLR's. They call it a hybrid, it can be used as a wired or wireless remote. The latter works pretty well but I prefer a Nikon MC 30 shutter release in use. I just need a separate cable for different bodies.

http://www.phottix.com/en/wireless-remotes/phottixr-cleon-ii.html



supergimp

Los Angeles, US
89 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 7

supergimp Silver Member Nikonian since 03rd Sep 2008
Tue 09-Oct-12 07:59 PM

This intervalometer/delay/timed release is available with both the D800 (i.e. pro) 10-pin or the D7000-type connector under many brands. I have one of each. They are inexpensive and offer every bit the functionality of the Nikon unit (the seem to be a clone). I've used them a ton and I've lost them long before they failed on me.

Oh and did I say cheap too?

Works for me.

http://www.amazon.com/Remote-Shutter-Release-EZA-N3-Display/dp/B005LTH7QA/ref=sr_1_14?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1349819709&sr=1-14&keywords=nikon+shutter+release

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

MEMcD

US
31595 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 6

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007
Wed 10-Oct-12 06:47 AM

Hi Hitoshi,

The FlashZebra cords for the Plus III, FlexTT5, and MultiMax are a very recent addition to their product line.
Have you tried them?
I am thinking of adding one or two and was wondering about the build quality compared to the PW cords.

I have been using the latest ACC PW cords for over 5 years without issues. They are very well made but as noted very expensive.
Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

hujiie

US
596 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 9

hujiie Silver Member Nikonian since 10th Apr 2009
Wed 10-Oct-12 09:11 AM

Marty:

I had an original version of 10 pin camera remote cable from FlashZebra for PW2, which worked well with D700 / D300 and PW2. After I found out the original cable did not work with Flex TT5 and D800 I now have, I found the newer cable at FlashZebra and spent $31 including shipping. Though I can not compare with PW cord, I do not see problems with built quality.

All my cables for PW system came from FlashZebra and I do not have any complains about the quality. I am sure it is better than my Nikon MC-36 remote control, of which rubber joints of the cables are deteriorating and exposing the bare cables after 5 years of use.

www.hitoshiujiie.com/photography.html

Gromit44

UK
730 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#11. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 7

Gromit44 Registered since 04th Jan 2012
Wed 10-Oct-12 09:48 AM

The Phottix Plato is another model - http://www.phottix.com/en/wireless-remotes.html.

supergimp

Los Angeles, US
89 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#12. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 10

supergimp Silver Member Nikonian since 03rd Sep 2008
Wed 10-Oct-12 11:09 AM

No connection, except that I depend on Lon for all my sync cables and the like. FlashZebra is awesome. The way a business should be run.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

nwcs

Knoxville, US
7030 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#13. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 0

nwcs Awarded for his in-depth knowledge in various areas, including Landscape and Wildlife Photography Registered since 15th Jan 2006
Wed 10-Oct-12 02:53 PM

Take a look at the RFN-4s wireless shutter release. Just bought mine and about to head to Acadia National Park with it.

Gromit44

UK
730 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#14. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 13

Gromit44 Registered since 04th Jan 2012
Tue 30-Oct-12 11:09 AM

I just bought an RFN-4s direct from the manufacturer in Korea. It arrived in three days!!

nwcs

Knoxville, US
7030 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#15. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 14

nwcs Awarded for his in-depth knowledge in various areas, including Landscape and Wildlife Photography Registered since 15th Jan 2006
Tue 30-Oct-12 03:08 PM

Pretty good shipping! I've used mine and I have to say I really like it. Every once in a while it acts like it's losing its connection but it's been pretty good.

Gromit44

UK
730 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#16. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 15

Gromit44 Registered since 04th Jan 2012
Tue 30-Oct-12 03:34 PM | edited Tue 30-Oct-12 03:35 PM by Gromit44

Amazing shipping speed - I was expecting a week or more and it turned up on the doorstep on day three!!

I really like it too - the reciver is tiny and it's not to difficult to get the collar to screw into the 10-pin socket (much easier than an MC-30 collar). The only thing I don't like is the bright metallic label on the front of the receiver - in fact I've taken it off.

Grey_Scale

US
21 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#17. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 16

Grey_Scale Registered since 24th Sep 2012
Tue 30-Oct-12 10:23 PM

Love my RFN-4s as well. Was a bit concerned after hearing some reports of it failing doing multiple exposures for HDR but I have had no such issues and so far it has worked flawlessly.

Ken

OMMBoy

San Diego, US
678 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#18. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 3

OMMBoy Registered since 22nd Feb 2007
Wed 31-Oct-12 02:17 AM

Just ordered one a couple days ago before reading this post. It should be arriving any day now. I really like it because it frees up the hotshoe for a flash. Plus, it looks really cool

Chris

_________________________________
The camera doesn't make a bit of difference. All of them can record what you are seeing. But, you have to SEE.
Ernst Haas, 1985


Runfola Photography Gallery

Gromit44

UK
730 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#19. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 17

Gromit44 Registered since 04th Jan 2012
Wed 31-Oct-12 10:53 AM

I think most of those reports referred to multiple exposures with the camera set to CL or CH instead of S.

nwcs

Knoxville, US
7030 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#20. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 17

nwcs Awarded for his in-depth knowledge in various areas, including Landscape and Wildlife Photography Registered since 15th Jan 2006
Wed 31-Oct-12 01:50 PM

Funny you say that. When I was in Acadia a week or so ago I had a few times where the camera shutter didn't completely close. The mirror was locked partway and the exposure went over. Had to press the shutter again for the shutter to cycle all the way. I had the remote on. I haven't seen it happen with my old remote (but rarely used it) or when not using the remote. Have to keep an eye on that...

Gromit44

UK
730 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#21. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 20

Gromit44 Registered since 04th Jan 2012
Wed 31-Oct-12 01:54 PM

Just a guess - but I wonder if it's something to do with the number of pins used. The RFN-4s only uses four - whereas the Phottix Plato and Nikon MC-30 use all ten.

Gromit44

UK
730 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#22. "RE: Remote control option for D800" | In response to Reply # 17

Gromit44 Registered since 04th Jan 2012
Tue 06-Nov-12 02:28 PM | edited Tue 06-Nov-12 02:29 PM by Gromit44

I tested my RFN-4s with the D800 on a variety of settings.

It works fine on all of these:

BULB (press for 1 second to open shutter, press again to close)
BKT
MUP
S
CL/CH (press for 1 second)
BKT + MUP
BULB + MUP

The only combination where it gets confused is this one:

CL/CH + BKT (camera locks up but will complete BKT sequence if camera powered off and on again)

G