Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Cannot clean "dot" from sensor...

kamputty

Santa Cruz, US
197 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
kamputty Registered since 04th Jan 2007
Thu 14-Feb-13 02:40 AM

Hi all,

It seems that I have a very stubborn particle on my sensor. I've wet cleaned it about 15 times (!) and the sensor is gleaming clean, except for this one spot. I've checked it out with a scope and it looks like something on the sensor.

It starts appearing (smudge) at F8, and show nicely at F22.

I think this might be a professional cleaning job (aka Nikon)?

Any advice? I've tried a blower, brush, wet cleaning...maybe a sensor pen?...

Or just send it in?

~Kam

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

icslowmo

Surprise, US
613 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 0

icslowmo Registered since 01st Jan 2012
Thu 14-Feb-13 02:21 AM

You could see if there are any certified Nikon repair centers in your area and see if you can have them clean it while you wait.... I don't know if they do this, but would be nice if they would.

I feel if it's showing up by f/8, I would be concerned also.... I've only had to wet clean mine (a few try's) once. Mine had some oil on the sensor, only reason I know was I tried using a brush first, and it smeared whatever it was on the first pass. So it took a few wet cleanings that one round and mines been fine.

Chris

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

chuckbernard

San Francisco, US
23 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 1

chuckbernard Registered since 30th Dec 2009
Thu 14-Feb-13 03:11 AM

Could you elaborate on your method for "wet cleaning"?

If you are using methanol (i.e., eclipse Sensor cleaner), and you've attempted to remove the spot 15 times then I'd give up and send it to Nikon before you make a bad situation much worse.

Be sure to send in photos and directions on how to reproduce the spot on an image. Otherwise they might miss the spot you are most interested in.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

kamputty

Santa Cruz, US
197 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 2

kamputty Registered since 04th Jan 2007
Thu 14-Feb-13 03:29 AM

Hazza!

After 22 cleanings, the spot finally came off. I may (?) have not pressed hard enough.

I am using eclipse cleaner.

Woot woot.

I tell you, a sensor loupe really helps. For those that clean their own sensor, a lighted loupe really helps.

Stopping while the going is good!

Kam

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Craig Bennett

Rio Rancho, US
64 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 3

Craig Bennett Registered since 28th Oct 2012
Sat 16-Feb-13 08:46 PM | edited Sat 16-Feb-13 08:47 PM by Craig Bennett

>Hazza!
>
>After 22 cleanings, the spot finally came off. I may (?) have
>not pressed hard enough.

>
>Stopping while the going is good!
>
>Kam
>


Wow, that's a lot of times!
Here's a method I have found useful: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iRW9AmDPqr0

I use a combination of wet cleaning, air, and sensor stamp. Does a great job. And yes, as you point out, the sensor loupe is a good tool as well.

Regards,
Craig Bennett

kamputty

Santa Cruz, US
197 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 4

kamputty Registered since 04th Jan 2007
Sat 16-Feb-13 09:03 PM

I really need the stamp...how about the pen? Is there a particular brand I should go for?

I still have some crud on the edges...I think the stamp would help there. I have a brush that I manually excite the bristles with a blower for static-ness... Is the auto brush better?

Any advice on loupes? Mine I am sure is a lower end one...

I was soooooooo happy when the dot dislodged...I was getting ready to send to nikon with fears of "...you sensor has a chip on the glass...that'll be $1500 for a new sensor..."

Woot woot!

Kam

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

ECC233

Hochwald, CH
315 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 5

ECC233 Registered since 11th Jan 2007
Sun 17-Feb-13 11:04 AM

...that'll be $1500 for a new sensor..."


In your dreams!

Ed


kamputty

Santa Cruz, US
197 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 6

kamputty Registered since 04th Jan 2007
Sun 17-Feb-13 04:31 PM

Does anyone know what a new sensor would cost? Just wondering!

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

K64drb

Blacksburg, US
324 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 5

K64drb Silver Member Nikonian since 18th Feb 2012
Mon 18-Feb-13 03:04 AM

Kam,

I have been very happy with the Quasar Sensor Loupe from VisibleDust. It was pretty espensive - around $95; but really performs very well. It's the only one I have ever used, so I can't compare it to anything. But, I felt like the technology behind its design lived up to the performance promised by VD. Check it out.

http://www.visibledust.com/products3.php?pid=602


Dave Badger
Blacksburg, VA
My Nikonians gallery, or visit www.AlternateViewsPhotography.com .

"You don't quit playing because you grow old; you grow old because you quit playing."

InsaneO

Encino, US
395 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 5

InsaneO Registered since 09th May 2012
Tue 19-Feb-13 01:13 AM

Ok,
Reality check.

My D800e is a dust magnet and I am cleaning it at least once every week.
But so far I have used only a small blower pump and a SensorKlear like in that video. One time I used the brush I bought for $3 with nylon bristles from the art store because sensor was particularly dirty.
After I bought the brush I washed it 3 times with hand soap because all brushes have glue on them. To electrify the brush I use Datavac Duster. This device has filter on the bottom so air is clean. It is just to strong to use it on the camera.
Any remaining dust I remove with SensorKlear by flicking it. No, not polishing it.
The only thing is that I know people from the this company and long time ago at CES I was given to try one of the versions of SensorKlear
that has flexible tips.
The problem with SensorKlear brush is that diameter of it is larger than the tip and it can't get to the very corner on FF camera. No matter how many times I complained about it for some reason they refuse to fix it. But with the flexible tip I can just bend it so the body stays away from the corner and I can reach there with the corner of the tip.
Simply blowing the tip with Datavac cleans it so it can be used forever.
Also company just came out with a new loupe which uses AAA batteries.
I don't have it yet but I do have their older version. This loupe has cutout so you can use your tool at the same time as the loupe.
No guess work there.

So you don't need sensor stamp or that spinning brush. Just SensorKlear and a good blower.

richardd300

Dyserth, UK
4509 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 9

richardd300 Silver Member Nikonian since 19th Apr 2009
Tue 19-Feb-13 01:40 PM

I must admit my D800 seems to attract more dust and needs more cleaning than my D700 did or D7000 does. This week I had a stubborn sensor spot which showed up large on the attached image above and to the left of the Goldfinch's head as you can see.

This wasn't dust as using my Rocket blower and visible dust static brush failed to remove it. I did a wet clean and as expected it smeared on the first clean. When that happens I've been instructed to clean again with a new swipe. This time it disappeared. Guess it was an oil spot as I am very careful when changing lenses to tilt the camera forwards.

Richard

Click on image to view larger version


Attachment#1 (jpg file)

Visit my Nikonians gallery

Visit my website www.pixels4u.co.uk
The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing. Einstein

ljordan316

Inverness, US
830 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#11. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 9

ljordan316 Silver Member Nikonian since 10th Feb 2010
Sat 23-Feb-13 04:50 PM

I must be doing something right...or my two D800e bodies are allergic to dust. I have not had a dust problem with either one. Dust used to drive me nuts with one of my two D300 bodies.

Larry Jordan

D800E, D500, 14-24, 16-35, 24-70, 70-180 Micro, 80-400mm AF-S, 500mm AF-S II

Website:
http://larryjordan.smugmug.com/

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

FineArtSnaps

Leesburg, US
401 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#12. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 11

FineArtSnaps Silver Member Nikonian since 12th Jun 2012
Sat 23-Feb-13 06:57 PM

Same here, Larry. Once past my d800's oil-spitting phase it's been staying clear of dust. I change lenses often.

Russ Lewis
www.russ-lewis.com
www.FineArtSnaps.com

InsaneO

Encino, US
395 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#13. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 10

InsaneO Registered since 09th May 2012
Sat 23-Feb-13 09:26 PM

It is definitely the oil spot. You can see aura around it.

richardd300

Dyserth, UK
4509 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#14. "RE: Cannot clean "dot" from sensor..." | In response to Reply # 13

richardd300 Silver Member Nikonian since 19th Apr 2009
Sun 24-Feb-13 05:49 AM

I shall keep a vigilant eye on the situation, but if persistent the camera is on a trip to Nikon.

Richard

Visit my Nikonians gallery

Visit my website www.pixels4u.co.uk
The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing. Einstein

G