Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Will you still get lens diffraction past f8 even if you are on DX mode?

gqtuazon

FPO, US
644 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
gqtuazon Registered since 18th Nov 2009
Mon 23-Jul-12 04:32 PM

Although I have not tried it yet, I was wondering if it is safe to get the optimal sharpness pass f8 if you are on DX or even 1.2x mode.

Will I still see lens diffraction in either DX or 1.2 crop mode? I'm not technically savvy when it comes to this. Thanks.

Regards,

Glenn

blw

Richmond, US
28709 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to send message via AOL IM

#1. "RE: Will you still get lens diffraction past f8 even if you are on DX mode?" | In response to Reply # 0

blw Moderator Awarded for his high level of expertise in various areas Nikonian since 18th Jun 2004
Mon 23-Jul-12 02:55 PM

Both of those are simple cropping - just like doing the crop in Photoshop. They don't affect the content of what does get captured. You wouldn't expect a physical crop of a paper print to change the sharpness of the remaining part of the print, right?

_____
Brian... a bicoastal Nikonian and Team Member

My gallery is online. Comments and critique welcomed any time!

JonK

New York, US
6409 posts

#2. "RE: Will you still get lens diffraction past f8 even if you are on DX mode?" | In response to Reply # 0

JonK Moderator Awarded for his high level skills and in-depth knowledge in various areas, such as Wildlife, Landscape and Stage Photography Donor Ribbon awarded for his very generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2015 Nikonian since 03rd Jul 2004