Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

D7000 remote mirror up problem

GCDawn

Gold Coast, AU
64 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
GCDawn Registered since 18th Dec 2010
Sat 18-Dec-10 06:53 PM

Hi, I don't know whether I am doing something wrong here. When I set my remote release mode to Mirror Up it is supposed to flip up the mirror on the first press, then release the shutter on the next. Mine is not consistent. Sometimes does both on one press, just as if it were set to quick response release. Other times it will flip the mirror up on the first press, then each subsequent press it releases the shutter and flips up the mirror again! Then to get out of this cycle I have to wait 30 seconds or so for the timeout to kick in and return the mirror.
If I set the top dial to Mirror Up rather than remote release, the function works correctly.
Have I missed something?

JPJ

Toronto, CA
1327 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: D7000 remote mirror up problem" | In response to Reply # 0

JPJ Silver Member Nikonian since 19th Aug 2009
Sat 18-Dec-10 09:40 PM

No, you are doing it correct (per page 80 of the manual) so long as your remote mode is set to Remote MuP, and your dial is on remote, it should operate as you describe (1x to lift mirror, 1x to release shutter).

I pulled out my D7000 and ML-L3 and tested this. Works like a charm.

Jason

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Gamecocks

Joanna, US
986 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: D7000 remote mirror up problem" | In response to Reply # 1

Gamecocks Registered since 22nd Jul 2010
Sat 18-Dec-10 10:56 PM

Hello Dawn,

Welcome to the community of Nikonians. Like Jason, I tested my set up and it works as hoped: mode dial on remote and remote control mode in Shooting menu set to Remote mirror up. Good luck.

John

Nobody should seek his own good, but the good of others. <><

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

poc

US
320 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: D7000 remote mirror up problem" | In response to Reply # 0

poc Silver Member Nikonian since 08th Jan 2008
Sat 18-Dec-10 10:56 PM

"If I set the top dial to Mirror Up rather than remote release, the function works correctly."

I am not sure I am understanding this part. Which function works correctly?

If you set the top dial to Mup, the remote does not fire the camera. In this position it will only fire by pressing the shutter down all the way (or a second time) or with a remote cord inserted into the side of the camera.

With respect to the inconsistency, the only thing I can think of is that you inadvertently activated another function. I would go through the menu to see if this is the case.

If you give me some more details, I will play with it to see if I can reproduce your problem.

Thank you for bringing this up as it has motivated me to look at another feature of the camera that is different from my d300s.

POC

http://cabreraphoto.smugmug.com

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

GCDawn

Gold Coast, AU
64 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: D7000 remote mirror up problem" | In response to Reply # 3

GCDawn Registered since 18th Dec 2010
Sun 19-Dec-10 12:29 AM

Thanks Peter,

Sorry, I wasn't very clear.

Here's what happens. I set the release mode dial to Mirror Up, press the shutter release once, mirror goes up, press the shutter release again, shutter releases. All OK as advertised in the manual.

Now I set the release mode dial to Remote, and the menu remote control mode to Remote mirror-up, press the remote button once, mirror flips up. Press the remote button again, shutter releases and mirror flips up again. I can do this multiple times, mirror keeps finishing up. It only will go back if I do nothing for 30 seconds or whatever, at which time the shutter releases again and the mirror goes back down.

Stop press!
I have just done the test again for this post and bizarrely ... if I am in U1 - which for me is an aperture priority setting - or U2 (manual) the problem occurs. However if I put the mode dial on to A - the problem disappears! The problem occurs also in M and S. I'm starting to think it is just intermittent.

Thanks for your responses and I would love if someone would test it on U1 or U2.

Dawn.

poc

US
320 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: D7000 remote mirror up problem" | In response to Reply # 4

poc Silver Member Nikonian since 08th Jan 2008
Sun 19-Dec-10 01:36 AM

Hi Dawn,

Try this. When you are in U1 and U2 go into the shooting menu and check to see how you have set the remote control mode. In my case I have them set for two different things (One is 2s delay and the other is immediate release) so they naturally function differently.

The U1 and U2 settings save everything including the remote control mode. This goes back to my original recommendation. Once in each of the modes, go through the entire menu to see how you have set things up. Again, you may find that you have checked off some things that you may not have intended to save.

When I checked M and S on my camera it fired as directed.

I am curious to know how it goes.

POC

http://cabreraphoto.smugmug.com

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

GCDawn

Gold Coast, AU
64 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: D7000 remote mirror up problem" | In response to Reply # 5

GCDawn Registered since 18th Dec 2010
Sun 19-Dec-10 06:42 AM

No I checked that first. I do want to use mirror up whenever I use the remote because I usually am looking for zero camera shake and I thought this was a great feature of the D7000 ... so I set that on day one for U1 and U2.

I'm wondering whether my ML-L3 is playing up. If it were to sometimes send 2 signals instead of one that could explain it. I did try a fresh battery in it but no difference. When I can get hold of a friend's ML-L3 I will try it on my camera. Might be after Christmas though.

I haven't posted on these forums before ... it is so great to have that resource out there - thanks for your interest and help!!!

Dawn.

richardd300

Dyserth, UK
4501 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: D7000 remote mirror up problem" | In response to Reply # 6

richardd300 Silver Member Nikonian since 19th Apr 2009
Sun 19-Dec-10 09:55 AM | edited Sun 19-Dec-10 10:00 AM by richardd300

Welcome Dawn
As the other posters, I've just tried it set up as you have and it's fine. I doubt it's the remote ML-L3 as you say it is triggering the shutter. Try removing the camera battery, re-insert it and operate a two button reset. Then try again. You'll have to reset up the remote Mup options and any other setups you've lost.

Cheers

Richard

Visit my Nikonians gallery

Visit my website www.pixels4u.co.uk
The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing. Einstein

pdekman

Swisher, US
1058 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: D7000 remote mirror up problem" | In response to Reply # 6

pdekman Gold Member Winner in The Nikonians 10th Anniversary Photo Contest Awarded as a regular contributor who offers in-depth knowledge to members who are interested in building efficient work flows. Winner in the Annual Nikonians Best Images Contest 2015 Nikonian since 17th Nov 2005
Sun 19-Dec-10 11:58 AM

I was thinking a bad switch (bouncing) on the ML-3 when I first read your post. Program the remote for normal operation and see if you can detect multiple firings in that mode as well.

Paul
My Nikonians Gallery

Mike Buckley

US
27 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: D7000 remote mirror up problem" | In response to Reply # 7

Mike Buckley Registered since 22nd Aug 2010
Sun 19-Dec-10 01:24 PM | edited Sun 19-Dec-10 01:25 PM by Mike Buckley

>operate a two button reset. Then try again.
>You'll have to reset up the remote Mup options and any other
>setups you've lost.

Yikes!!!!!!!!! Before you use the two-button reset, save your settings file to the memory card stored in slot #1. After you do the two-button reset, load the settings file. You won't have to manually re-configure all of your settings.

Page 244 of the manual explains how to save and load your settings file.

Author of "IDimager Version 5 Workbook"

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

GCDawn

Gold Coast, AU
64 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: D7000 remote mirror up problem" | In response to Reply # 8

GCDawn Registered since 18th Dec 2010
Sun 19-Dec-10 05:48 PM

Thanks all, I have tried the two button reset which didn't fix the problem, and tested the remote on quick release (no misfires detected). Looks like I will have to take the camera back to the shop.

I will post the outcome.

Dawn.

GCDawn

Gold Coast, AU
64 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#11. "RE: D7000 remote mirror up problem" | In response to Reply # 10

GCDawn Registered since 18th Dec 2010
Mon 20-Dec-10 02:04 AM

Excellent - I took my problem to the friendly folk at Cameras Direct (thanks Janaka) and am now the proud owner of a new ML-L3 which works, and my D7000 is a perfect angel again.

Thanks again for all your input which contributed to a speedy resolution. I hope I can be of help to somebody else soon.

Dawn.

G