Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Would not take picture

Caroleen

Carthage, US
133 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
Caroleen Registered since 10th Dec 2007
Mon 05-Nov-12 11:53 PM

Today I was at my grandson's birthday party. My one month old D7000 decided it wasn't going to take a picture when you pressed the shutter button. It would take several pictures in a row and then all of a sudden it would not focus and would not take the picture. I was wandering if anyone has had a similar problem? I'm going to try it another day and see if it happens again. If it does it again I guess I need to send it in.

Any suggestions? Thanks, Caroleen

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Gamecocks

Joanna, US
986 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 0

Gamecocks Registered since 22nd Jul 2010
Tue 06-Nov-12 12:01 AM

When you say that it wouldn't focus & not take any more pictures do you mean any more for a long duration or a very short time period - like a few sections? Also, could you tell us your settings and if using flash?

John

Nobody should seek his own good, but the good of others. <><

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

blw

Richmond, US
28552 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to send message via AOL IM

#2. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 0

blw Moderator Awarded for his high level of expertise in various areas Nikonian since 18th Jun 2004
Tue 06-Nov-12 12:20 AM

Next time it happens, pay attention to the green (black?) dot on the lower left corner of the viewfinder. That dot tells you whether or not the AF target thinks it is locked on target. If it's not lit, you probably can't release the shutter. It's only broken if the dot is lit and you still can't release the shutter.

Chances are quite strong that there's nothing at all wrong with it.

_____
Brian... a bicoastal Nikonian and Team Member

My gallery is online. Comments and critique welcomed any time!

Caroleen

Carthage, US
133 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 1

Caroleen Registered since 10th Dec 2007
Tue 06-Nov-12 07:25 AM | edited Tue 06-Nov-12 07:26 AM by Caroleen

My setting was on Manual - Aperture 5.6, Shutter 1/250, ISO 1000, indoors with a flash. I took probably 20 pictures and then when I pressed the shutter button, nothing. It wouldn't focus, wouldn't take the picture at all. I moved the camera and tried to take a picture - nothing. It wouldn't do anything. I turned it off and turned it back on and I was able to take a few pictures - after that it went right back to taking no pictures.
The focus dot did not come on but the camera did not even try to focus. You know it makes that hunting sound for focus and it didn't even do that. I probably am not using the exact terms for everything but when I pressed the shutter release it wouldn't do anything at all.
I do have about 900+ photos on that memory card (32G). I was reading last night that sometimes some cameras have a hard time storing more than 900 pictures. Don't know if that was the problem but it was annoying because I missed some of the most important times of the party like blowing out the candle, opening a certain present. It was annoying to say the least. Thanks for any help.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Caroleen

Carthage, US
133 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 2

Caroleen Registered since 10th Dec 2007
Tue 06-Nov-12 07:35 AM

Brian, I did pay attention to the green dot and it did not come on but like I said when I replied above, the camera did not make the hunting focus sound. It just seemed dead when you pressed the shutter release. Usually you press it half way and it has that "trying to lock focus sound" and it didnt' do that either. Like I said it did nothing at all.

I have to say it was quite annoying when you're trying to get some good shots of a birthday party. My grandson was 3 so he's definitely not standing still to wait for a camera to wake up.

Thanks for any help. There have been a few issues with this D7000. One other issue is that the LCD will read "E" for memmory card slot sometimes and its not empty. I have to take the memory card out and re-insert it and then we can continue. I thought I had a bad memory card so I took the card back and replaced it. No, it still does it once in a while. Usually after you have taken quite a few pictures it will not let you take a picture and you look at the LCD and there's the "E".

Thats what I thought had happened yesterday but it wasn't. Thanks for any help.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

mborn1

Taunton, US
222 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 4

mborn1 Gold Member Nikonian since 20th Nov 2008
Tue 06-Nov-12 10:28 AM

I would just send the camera to Nikon since it it under warranty

Myer
Photo Bee1
http://photobee1.blogspot.com/
http://photobee1.com

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Rassie

Milton, CA
4035 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 0

Rassie Gold Member Nikonian since 08th Jan 2006
Tue 06-Nov-12 11:40 AM

If you shot in burst mode, or took the pictures very quickly after one another, maybe the buffer was full and the camera needed to clear the buffer first?

Regards

My Nikonians gallery

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

esandy

Wichita Falls, US
356 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 0

esandy Gold Member Nikonian since 19th Nov 2011
Tue 06-Nov-12 03:17 PM

My thought is the same as Rassie's. I've been shooting with my D7k and had similar situation as yours. I pressed the shutter button and nothing happened. I was shooting in continuous mode and the buffer was full, once the buffer cleared the camera would work normally again.

Ed

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

ctdrummer

Southern CT, US
240 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 0

ctdrummer Registered since 09th Feb 2012
Tue 06-Nov-12 03:59 PM



Do you think you may have turned on Bracketing without knowing?


Visit My Nikonians Gallery.

Visit My web page.

gkaiseril

Chicago, US
6739 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 0

gkaiseril Gold Member Nikonian since 28th Oct 2005
Tue 06-Nov-12 05:09 PM

Look for the "r##" in the viewfinder. If it shows "r0" the processing buffer is full and no more pictures can be taken until there is space for at least 1 image.

George
My Nikonian Galleries

Gamecocks

Joanna, US
986 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 3

Gamecocks Registered since 22nd Jul 2010
Wed 07-Nov-12 12:44 AM

As others have mentioned, perhaps the buffer was full and/or when using the flash the battery didn't have time to recover. I would try some normal single shots and compare the results with taking several quick continuous shots; both with flash as you did at the party. If this doesn't give you a resolution I'd recommend sending it in while under warranty. Good luck.

John

Nobody should seek his own good, but the good of others. <><

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Rassie

Milton, CA
4035 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#11. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 4

Rassie Gold Member Nikonian since 08th Jan 2006
Wed 07-Nov-12 02:26 AM

It seems some D7000 cameras had issues where memory cards were not properly recognized in the camera. This was addressed through updated firmware. Are you sure your camera has the latest firmware installed?

Regards

My Nikonians gallery

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

earleinatruck

Bourne, US
8 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#12. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 0

earleinatruck Registered since 14th Mar 2011
Wed 07-Nov-12 04:57 PM

I had some similar issues with the cheapie SD card that came with my kit. No problems since I upgraded to an approved Sandisk card. You may want to power down and remove the battery if it acts up again.

earleinatruck
...and there was light...and it was good.
The more I learn, the better my camera gets.
D7000 w/MB-D11 Grip
Too much, yet never enough...

Ginsbury

Netanya, IL
539 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#13. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 12

Ginsbury Gold Member Nikonian since 21st Sep 2008
Sun 11-Nov-12 07:02 AM

Can you, in that situation, turn the camera off?

I had a similar situation a few months back and there was an extensive discussion in the forum.

The solution was a camera reset. Anything electronic can, apparently, get itself tied up in a knot and has to be reset. The biggest culprits are, in my experience, Windows PCs, but cameras can do it also.

Nathan

IanCT

SF Bay, US
253 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#14. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 3

IanCT Registered since 15th Sep 2008
Mon 12-Nov-12 03:46 AM

How long have those 900+ photos been on that card? Do you do any in-camera deleting? I ask because sometimes the card data can get fragmented. I haven't experienced this but a friend that owns a D90 did, he would fill the card, delete inconsequential photos, and shoot some more. He rarely offloaded them to the computer, as such he was just shooting pictures for fun but found out the hard way when his D90 would write to the card anymore until he manually copied the photos off and reformatted it.

Before every shoot I start with a blank memory card, I format it in camera and don't delete anything until the photos are offloaded into my computer.

Have you checked your camera/lens contacts to make sure they're clean? Maybe something isn't making 100% connection.

__________________________________
IanThurstonPhotography.com | Blog & Gallery

mdallie

Novi, US
238 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#15. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 0

mdallie Silver Member Nikonian since 02nd Jan 2011
Wed 14-Nov-12 11:53 PM

I am assuming that both your camera and lens are properly set to AF.

Beyond that, I would do a total camera reset. I once had a problem (don't remember the details) where my camera was misbehaving terribly. Made no sense, and it even could have been the same problem you had. I couldn't even get it to work right it full auto mode.

I went into the menu and told it to reset everything to factory defaults and all of a sudden everything was fine (except I had to go back and re-set all of my settings, of course).

Also make sure you mode dial (on the top left) is set properly.

Good luck..

Mike

offrdk5

US
81 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#16. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 0

offrdk5 Registered since 22nd Jun 2008
Mon 26-Nov-12 03:14 AM | edited Mon 26-Nov-12 03:15 AM by offrdk5

Does this happen with one lens or all lenses? Dirty contacts?

And I have had over 2000 photos on my card with no issues so I think 900 should be acceptable!

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

mvlow1974

US
107 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#17. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 2

mvlow1974 Registered since 03rd Dec 2012
Tue 04-Dec-12 02:31 PM

Have you checked to see if you have red eye reduction set to on? When I first began using a D5100 I experienced a frustrating delay between shots when trying to take portraits of my grandson when using flash. I had a fresh battery, plenty of space on my SD card etc.

I was advised to check to see if the red eye reduction was set to on and it was. The red eye reduction feature fires a series of pre-flashes and therefore prevents you from taking the next shot before it has done its magic.

As soon as I switched off red eye reduction the problem was solved.

dmarklin

US
5 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#18. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 0

dmarklin Registered since 10th Sep 2012
Sun 09-Dec-12 02:24 AM | edited Sun 09-Dec-12 02:25 AM by dmarklin

I've been having the same problem. I have mine set up to shoot regardless of whether not focus is achieved but it still hangs; it will not take an exposure. I understand how frustrating it can be because I lost some good shots too. So if I can remember next time I'll try shooting with autofocus off and see if that doesn't do it. I hate to have to reset everything as suggestedi In the thread, and then go back in and put in my settings again. That would be a pain.

shooter26

Roselle, US
1 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#19. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 18

shooter26 Registered since 17th Feb 2012
Mon 17-Dec-12 10:45 AM

just wondering if you have solved the problem. i have had my 7000 for short time and no problems with camera not taking images after a certain amount of shooting.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

dmarklin

US
5 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#20. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 19

dmarklin Registered since 10th Sep 2012
Mon 17-Dec-12 12:40 PM

No, it's still a mystery.

cwils02

HIXSON, US
826 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#21. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 20

cwils02 Gold Member Nikonian since 18th Apr 2012
Mon 17-Dec-12 08:05 PM

Dave,

Unfortunately, I understand your frustration.

1) Is it possible that you are at the near focus point of your lens? If you are indeed within that range, the lens (at least G versions)will not hunt for focus, and it will not focus. If you are setup not to shoot without focus, the camera will not shoot. That one had me stymied for some time before I figured it out.

2) When your goal is to take a shot even if it won't win a Pulitzer, then what I do is:
a- I keep my AE-L/AF-L button set to force the shutter to fire regardless of focus.
b- If I know that my buffer is not full, and the shutter won't fire; I depress the AE-L/AF-L button while pressing the shutter release. I've never had that to fail.

Hope this helps!

Charlie

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Camel Toad

Austin, US
134 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#22. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 15

Camel Toad Registered since 06th Dec 2012
Tue 18-Dec-12 08:10 PM

>I went into the menu and told it to reset everything to
>factory defaults and all of a sudden everything was fine
>(except I had to go back and re-set all of my settings, of
>course).

I had to do the same to my D7000 once, but it was day 1 of ownership and I can't recall what all setting(s) changes I had made. I haven't had to reset it since that one time.

FWIW I have read the manual and viewed a few DVDs since then

-James

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

dmarklin

US
5 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#23. "RE: Would not take picture" | In response to Reply # 21

dmarklin Registered since 10th Sep 2012
Tue 18-Dec-12 11:43 PM

Thnx. I'll Experiment with that

G