Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

User Settings: U1 and U2

Gamecocks

Joanna, US
986 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
Gamecocks Registered since 22nd Jul 2010
Sun 05-Dec-10 11:45 AM

I believe I understand the concept but have two questions. 1) Once you save the settings, is the "Save user settings" section suppose to show anything other than --? Most other menu changes show the change made; or maybe I'm not doing something right. 2) If you were going to save settings that you would like for video, would all previously changed menus be incorporated when you save to U1/U2? If changes that have been made are included into your user setting wouldn't this have a chance to cause problems?

Thanks for any assistance.

John

Nobody should seek his own good, but the good of others. <><

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Gamecocks

Joanna, US
986 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: User Settings: U1 and U2" | In response to Reply # 0

Gamecocks Registered since 22nd Jul 2010
Sun 05-Dec-10 07:32 PM

FYI: I called Nikon support and was told - 1) the two lines that show do not change. 2) Any menu settings that were previously made will be include within your "new" user saving and may have an effect on other changes.
Please advise if any of you have or receive different information.

John

Nobody should seek his own good, but the good of others. <><

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

briantilley

Paignton, UK
30235 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: User Settings: U1 and U2" | In response to Reply # 0

briantilley Gold Member Deep knowledge of bodies and lens; high level photography skills Donor Ribbon awarded for his support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Nikonian since 26th Jan 2003
Sun 05-Dec-10 09:06 PM


>1) Once you save the settings, is the "Save user
>settings" section suppose to show anything other than --?

Assuming you are pressing "OK" to save the settings, I think that is normal. I don't have access to a D7000 to check myself.

>2) If you were going to save settings that you would like for
>video, would all previously changed menus be incorporated when
>you save to U1/U2?

Page 75 in the D7000 Manual indicates which items are included (and not included) when current settings are saved.

Brian
Welsh Nikonian

G