Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Problem with D7100 shutter speed

Sirisauce

US
3 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
Sirisauce Registered since 06th Apr 2013
Sat 06-Apr-13 05:43 AM

Hi all! I just recently upgraded to the D7100 and went to shoot with it in manual mode tonight. I ran into a problem where I could only get the shutter speed up to 1/250 when it's supposed to go up to 1/8000. Anyone have any idea what's wrong? I read the entire manual and tried so many things. I don't understand why it won't let me increase the shutter speed. Not using flash or anything. Please help!

six34sigma

Cumming, US
72 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: Problem with D7100 shutter speed" | In response to Reply # 0

six34sigma Silver Member Nikonian since 02nd Nov 2010
Sat 06-Apr-13 04:46 AM

Sounds like you were using a flash? Max flash synch speed is 1/250, see menu item e1. Hopefully this helps.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.



Excellence is an art won by training and habituation. We do not act rightly because we have virtue or excellence, but we rather have those because we have acted rightly. We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act but a habit. - Nicomachean Ethics

gfinlayson

Maidenhead, UK
244 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: Problem with D7100 shutter speed" | In response to Reply # 1

gfinlayson Registered since 24th Jan 2011
Sat 06-Apr-13 05:40 PM

Have you gone to the wrong end of the shutter speed range? If your 250 has an 'X' next to it, you've selected the flash sync shutter speed. You need to spin the dial all the way to the other end to get to 1/8000.

JosephK

Seattle, WA, US
7108 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: Problem with D7100 shutter speed" | In response to Reply # 0

JosephK Silver Member Fellow Ribbon awarded for his excellent and frequent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community in the Nikonians spirit. Nikonian since 17th Apr 2006
Sat 06-Apr-13 05:44 PM

Check to make sure you did not go the wrong way on the dial as the slow end will have "bulb" and "x250" along with all the whole-second times having a double-quote after them (math symbol for seconds).

---------+---------+---------+---------+---------+
Joseph K
Seattle, WA, USA

D700, D200, D70S, 24-70mm f/2.8, VR 70-200mm f/2.8 II,
50mm f/1.4 D, 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR, 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 DX

Sirisauce

US
3 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: Problem with D7100 shutter speed" | In response to Reply # 3

Sirisauce Registered since 06th Apr 2013
Sat 06-Apr-13 05:48 PM

I wasn't using any sort of flash and I put the dial as far as it would go both directions. 250x in one direction to 250 in the other. I tried every button and read the whole manual and it finally let me change up to 8000 when I changed something in the custom settings called command mode. I still don't quite understand it, but at least I can use the higher shutter speeds now.

gfinlayson

Maidenhead, UK
244 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: Problem with D7100 shutter speed" | In response to Reply # 4

gfinlayson Registered since 24th Jan 2011
Sat 06-Apr-13 06:00 PM | edited Sat 06-Apr-13 06:01 PM by gfinlayson

Do you mean 'Commander Mode'? This is an operating mode for the on-board flash that allows it to wirelessly control remote CLS compatible Nikon Speedlites. It shouldn't affect shutter speed selection unless you're using flash.

Was the on-board flash popped up when you had this issue?

Sirisauce

US
3 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: Problem with D7100 shutter speed" | In response to Reply # 5

Sirisauce Registered since 06th Apr 2013
Sat 06-Apr-13 07:25 PM

No my flash was not popped up at all, but when I changed the commander mode it suddenly allowed me to scroll up the shutter speed all the way. I don't know why.

Blupurs

US
2 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: Problem with D7100 shutter speed" | In response to Reply # 0

Blupurs Registered since 21st Nov 2013
Thu 21-Nov-13 01:20 PM

Hi,
I joined this forum to figure out this exact same problem.
I learned on a Nikon D50 and in September purchased a D7100.
In manual mode, which I prefer to use, the shutter will go no higher than 60 secs.
I've reset the camera to factory settings.
Shutter priority also has horrible and blurry pics.
The only place I am getting a decent action shot ( action with a dog running) is in Aperture Mode?
I don't know what to try next besides calling Nikon
Thanks Blupurs

Blupurs

US
2 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: Problem with D7100 shutter speed" | In response to Reply # 7

Blupurs Registered since 21st Nov 2013
Thu 21-Nov-13 01:26 PM

I want to add that in Aperture I can get a shutter for an action photo of 1/500 up to 1/1000 or better. Why can't I in manual?

aolander

Nevis, US
3974 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: Problem with D7100 shutter speed" | In response to Reply # 8

aolander Silver Member Nikonian since 15th Sep 2006
Thu 21-Nov-13 04:48 PM | edited Thu 21-Nov-13 04:52 PM by aolander

I have a D7100 and in manual exposure mode the only way shutter speed is restricted is if you have the flash enabled. Then shutter speed is restricted to whatever to have the Flash Sync Speed set to in the menu (Custom Setting Menu item e1).

In shutter priority you set the shutter speed so if you're getting blurred images from motion, then you haven't set a high enough speed. However, if your "issue" is preventing higher speeds, then I can see why. Perhaps the flash is not latching closed completely. ?? But that wouldn't explain why everything works in aperture priority.??

Alan

G