Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Low light photography

adribyers

Kailua, US
2 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
adribyers Registered since 29th Feb 2012
Thu 26-Apr-12 07:58 AM

Ok, I'm new to photography and I love it, I think I'm doing ok on daylight pictures, but I have no idea what kinda settings to use for a low light situation like inside of a submarine, any help will be appreciated.

luckyphoto

Port Charlotte, US
1055 posts

#1. "RE: Low light photography" | In response to Reply # 0

luckyphoto Silver Member Nikonian since 27th Dec 2010
Thu 26-Apr-12 10:56 AM

Welcome to the Nikonians and thanks for posting your question. Low light photography can be approached in many different ways depending upon the subject you want to capture and the surrounding environment.

You should consider getting some books, DVDs or similar on exposure to better understand the challenges of low light photography.

A good read is Bryan Peterson's "Understanding Exposure" There is a whole chapter about low light photography. It's available on Amazon and several of the camera web sites.

Larry

"Red is gray and yellow white, but we decide which is right
....and which is an illusion"

Moody Blues - Nights in White Satin

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

JosephK

Seattle, WA, US
7108 posts

#2. "RE: Low light photography" | In response to Reply # 0

JosephK Silver Member Fellow Ribbon awarded for his excellent and frequent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community in the Nikonians spirit. Nikonian since 17th Apr 2006
Thu 26-Apr-12 05:26 PM