Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

setting the focus point?

xat130j

UK
329 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
xat130j Gold Member Nikonian since 10th Oct 2007
Fri 11-Nov-11 07:02 AM

Hi
It is still a steep learning curve with my D7000, but impressions so far it is a great camera.

However I have a quick question, when taking portrait images I like to focus on the subjects eye, in the past I have set my D300 to single sensor, focused the shot, then re-framed and taken the exposure. Does the D7000 allow me to do this? Have looked at the manual, but cannot work out if it can be done, or should I let the 39/11 point sensors do their work? I have uploaded an image and I am happy with the sharpness, however they are not all this sharp...this young lady was taking part in the Whitby Gothic Weekend.

Click on image to view larger version


Regards

Dave

Attachment#1 (jpg file)

Regards
Dave Tucker
Yorkshire Nikonian

Please take time to visit my website:

http://www.davidtucker.co.uk

mikeon

Örebro, SE
55 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 0

mikeon Registered since 01st Oct 2004
Fri 11-Nov-11 10:14 AM

Yes, you can focus in the same manor as in D300.
Use AF-S (in focus priority) and single focus point.

In manual on Focus chapter page 91-98.
Focus setting a2 on page 208.

/Mikael
-----------------------
D800 & D7000 user (Sweden)

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

xat130j

UK
329 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 1

xat130j Gold Member Nikonian since 10th Oct 2007
Fri 11-Nov-11 03:03 PM

Mikeon
Many thanks, will have a look
Dave

Regards
Dave Tucker
Yorkshire Nikonian

Please take time to visit my website:

http://www.davidtucker.co.uk

xat130j

UK
329 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 2

xat130j Gold Member Nikonian since 10th Oct 2007
Sat 12-Nov-11 07:39 AM

Hi
I have read the manual search "you tube" and still stuggling to set a single focus point, I am doing the following:

1) Mode: A

2) "Custom Setting Menu" a2 AFS set to focus

3) ensured the focus lock is set as below

Click on image to view larger version


but still cannot move the sensor in the view finder, can someone help.

Dave



Attachment#1 (jpg file)

Regards
Dave Tucker
Yorkshire Nikonian

Please take time to visit my website:

http://www.davidtucker.co.uk

dwaycie

Lake Zurich, US
273 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 3

dwaycie Silver Member Donor Ribbon awarded for his support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Nikonian since 23rd Nov 2008
Sat 12-Nov-11 11:06 AM


In addition to the steps you've taken, you also need to make sure the AF-Area Mode is set to Single Point, not Auto-area. If you are in Auto-Area mode, the camera, not you, will select the focus point. See page 95 of the manual.

Dave

xat130j

UK
329 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 4

xat130j Gold Member Nikonian since 10th Oct 2007
Sat 12-Nov-11 12:02 PM

Hi
This is where I am struggling, I cannot change the from "Auto-area mode", to single point, tried everything from setting the camera back to factory settings to ringing a national dealer, still no luck, starting to think, this cannot be done. However if I change to "manual focus" I can put the sensor where I like.

Dave

Regards
Dave Tucker
Yorkshire Nikonian

Please take time to visit my website:

http://www.davidtucker.co.uk

ChrisPlatt

US
515 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 5

ChrisPlatt Registered since 04th Jun 2011
Sat 12-Nov-11 01:30 PM

Forget the menu system. Use the focus selector switch on the camera. Switch it to AF. While looking through the viewfinder, press on the button that is in the center of the AF switch and rotate the rear command dial until AFS shows in the viewfinder. Then, while still pressing the button on the AF switch, rotate the front command dial until S shows in the viewfinder. You should now be able to move the focus point with the multi-selector on the rear of the camera.

Of course you want to be able to move the focus point around, but if you have set the AE-L/AF-L button to AF On, you should not have to be chasing focus points by moving the single point around.

Visit my gallery.

xat130j

UK
329 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 6

xat130j Gold Member Nikonian since 10th Oct 2007
Sat 12-Nov-11 07:23 PM | edited Sat 12-Nov-11 07:30 PM by xat130j

>Forget the menu system. Use the focus selector switch on the
>camera. Switch it to AF. While looking through the
>viewfinder, press on the button that is in the center of the
>AF switch and rotate the rear command dial until AFS shows in
>the viewfinder. Then, while still pressing the button on the
>AF switch, rotate the front command dial until S shows in the
>viewfinder. You should now be able to move the focus point
>with the multi-selector on the rear of the camera.
>
>Of course you want to be able to move the focus point around,
>but if you have set the AE-L/AF-L button to AF On, you should
>not have to be chasing focus points by moving the single point
>around.


Thank you, thank you and thank you, I have now got it!!!!!! It is this button, could not work this out "for the life of me"

Dave


Click on image to view larger version


Attachment#1 (jpg file)

Regards
Dave Tucker
Yorkshire Nikonian

Please take time to visit my website:

http://www.davidtucker.co.uk

xat130j

UK
329 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 7

xat130j Gold Member Nikonian since 10th Oct 2007
Sun 13-Nov-11 07:13 AM

just found this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CERkBvmjI90

Dave

Regards
Dave Tucker
Yorkshire Nikonian

Please take time to visit my website:

http://www.davidtucker.co.uk

ericbowles

Atlanta, US
10641 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 8

ericbowles Moderator Awarded for his in-depth knowledge and high level skills in various areas, especially Landscape and Wildlife Photoghraphy Writer Ribbon awarded for for his article contributions to the community Donor Ribbon awarded for his very generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2015 Nikonian since 25th Nov 2005
Sun 13-Nov-11 04:04 PM

Dave

You're right - it is not very intuitive -= especially for those used to the D300 and other models. Just remember to push in the button on the AF/M selector, then use front and rear command dials to make changes.

I find that using the AF-On approach works better for "focus and recompose". With the D7000 it is executed a little differently from the D300 in that instead of using AF On, you have to assign the AF/AE Lock button. Using the back button to activate AF seems to be more reliable - especially with VR lenses where you want to use the shutter release to activate VR.

Eric Bowles
Nikonians Team
My Gallery
Workshops

Nikonians membership — my most important photographic investment, after the camera

BForbes

Alexandria, US
120 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 9

BForbes Basic Member
Sat 19-Nov-11 10:04 PM | edited Sat 19-Nov-11 10:10 PM by BForbes

No kidding, it is not very intuitive. I was in a camera shop today playing around with a D7000 and could not find a way to lock the autofocus point so that I have one focus point in the center of the view finder. What appeared to be a few focus areas kept jumping around looking for I guess the closest object to focus on. I found this very annoying and could not turn this off. I have a D300 and was thinking of purchasing this as a second camera for weddings. I'll have to remember this the next time I'm in the store.

Brent

D700, D300, D70, SB-900, SB-910, Nikkor 24-70 2.8, Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S, Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G AF, Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D AF, Nikkor 85mm f/1.8G AF-S, Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF, Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED AF, Rokinon 8mm Fisheye

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

RockyIII

Raleigh, US
3272 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#11. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 10

RockyIII Gold Member Donor Ribbon awarded for his very generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2015 Nikonian since 27th May 2006
Sat 19-Nov-11 11:59 PM | edited Sun 20-Nov-11 12:02 AM by RockyIII

Simply put, you can set a single focus point by holding down the AF mode button while rotating the sub-command dial. Center the focus point by using the multi selector, and then lock it down by using the focus selector lock.

Rocky

xat130j

UK
329 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#12. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 11

xat130j Gold Member Nikonian since 10th Oct 2007
Wed 23-Nov-11 09:12 AM

Thanks Guys for taking the time to respond to me question, all sorted now, looking forward to getting out with the D7000, very soon.

Dave

Regards
Dave Tucker
Yorkshire Nikonian

Please take time to visit my website:

http://www.davidtucker.co.uk

jodylud

US
87 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#13. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 11

jodylud Registered since 07th Sep 2011
Wed 23-Nov-11 12:24 PM

>Simply put, you can set a single focus point by holding down
>the AF mode button while rotating the sub-command dial.
>Center the focus point by using the multi selector, and then
>lock it down by using the focus selector lock.
>
>Rocky

Thank you SO much Rocky for this advice. I was always shifting the focus point with the slightest touch of the multi-selector button.

I LOVE this site! =D

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Marmion4

Near Sacramento, US
188 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#14. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 8

Marmion4 Gold Member Nikonian since 21st Sep 2008
Fri 25-Nov-11 03:52 AM

That is a great resource, thanks for sharing!

Laura

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

loveisageless

Oakland, US
119 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#15. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 14

loveisageless Silver Member Nikonian since 27th Feb 2011
Sat 26-Nov-11 08:07 AM

My heartfelt thanks as well. The AF-Auto was driving me crazy. Order has been restored in my world lol

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

jodylud

US
87 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#16. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 15

jodylud Registered since 07th Sep 2011
Sat 26-Nov-11 05:29 PM | edited Sat 26-Nov-11 05:30 PM by jodylud

Just wondering... is there a way I can lock the focus point to my D5100? Can't seem to find any reference in the manual. :/

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

RockyIII

Raleigh, US
3272 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#17. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 16

RockyIII Gold Member Donor Ribbon awarded for his very generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2015 Nikonian since 27th May 2006
Sat 26-Nov-11 06:21 PM

I do not think the D5100 has the ability to lock the focus point.

Rocky

jodylud

US
87 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#18. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 17

jodylud Registered since 07th Sep 2011
Sat 26-Nov-11 06:27 PM

Thank you Rocky, I think I can live with that.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

TheDraftsman

middlesex, US
111 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#19. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 18

TheDraftsman Registered since 20th Jan 2011
Sun 27-Nov-11 10:51 PM

>Thank you Rocky, I think I can live with that.
>


Why would a DSLR not be able to lock focus points? Why would you live with that?

Is it not explained in pages 42-44 of your D5100 manual?

I can see why a lot of people have focus problems with their cameras and complain
on here rather that actually sit down to read and understand their manual first.

JosephK

Seattle, WA, US
7109 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#20. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 19

JosephK Silver Member Fellow Ribbon awarded for his excellent and frequent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community in the Nikonians spirit. Nikonian since 17th Apr 2006
Mon 28-Nov-11 12:54 AM

I think you are talking about something else.

Some of the higher level bodies have a switch that locks the focus point to prevent the multi-selector from moving it around.

---------+---------+---------+---------+
Joseph K
Seattle, WA, USA

D700, D200, D70S, 24-70mm f/2.8, VR 70-200mm f/2.8 II, 50mm f/1.4 D,
17-55mm f/2.8 DX, 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 DX, 70-300mm f/4-5.6 ED

xat130j

UK
329 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#21. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 20

xat130j Gold Member Nikonian since 10th Oct 2007
Mon 28-Nov-11 08:48 AM

Hi Joseph, pretty sure the D7000 had a focus point lock......

Dave

Regards
Dave Tucker
Yorkshire Nikonian

Please take time to visit my website:

http://www.davidtucker.co.uk

xat130j

UK
329 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#22. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 19

xat130j Gold Member Nikonian since 10th Oct 2007
Mon 28-Nov-11 08:55 AM

>>Thank you Rocky, I think I can live with that.
>>
>
>
>Why would a DSLR not be able to lock focus points? Why would
>you live with that?
>
>Is it not explained in pages 42-44 of your D5100 manual?
>
>I can see why a lot of people have focus problems with their
>cameras and complain
>on here rather that actually sit down to read and understand
>their manual first.
>
>
The point of forums is to share knowledge and experience, in my opinion. As the Thread Starter, I did not start this thread to "complain" and I can assure you , I did read the "manual first" however I still could not work out, how to change focus modes. I therefore asked for help, and with the help of Nikonians worked out my problem with changing focus modes.

Dave

Regards
Dave Tucker
Yorkshire Nikonian

Please take time to visit my website:

http://www.davidtucker.co.uk

briantilley

Paignton, UK
30235 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#23. "RE: setting the focus point?" | In response to Reply # 19

briantilley Gold Member Deep knowledge of bodies and lens; high level photography skills Donor Ribbon awarded for his support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Nikonian since 26th Jan 2003
Mon 28-Nov-11 09:39 AM

At Joseph says, you're talking about something different. Cameras like the D7000, D300, D700 and so on have a switch that allows you to disable the Multi-selector, thus locking-in whichever AF point had been selected. The D5100 lacks such a feature.

You've been asked in an earlier thread to show more consideration and understanding for members who come here asking questions and looking for help. Please stop your critical comments. Thank you.

Brian
Welsh Nikonian

G