Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Just Bought a D700

shadygreg

US
57 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
shadygreg Silver Member Nikonian since 23rd Oct 2012
Sun 10-Feb-13 10:05 PM

Got a mint used one on ebay - less than 3000 clicks. Should arrive in 3 or 4 days. I struggled a lot between a D600 or D700 purchase. The D600's 24 Mp sensor was very tempting, but in the end I prefer the body and controls of the D700 and 12 Mp really is enough. Also, I'm not a pro and I don't care about video.

I'm a longtime 35mm film slide shooter (FE and F6, both using AI/AI-S lenses mostly) and this is my first DSLR. The control layout of the D700 is very similar to the F6 so that was a big plus for me. I can see myself switching between the F6 and D700 fairly seamlessly. That and I keep hearing about how great the D700 still is.

If I really want to print big (and how often is that really) I will dive into learning RAW post processing - which I should learn how to do anyway since I'm new to digital and I've never done it!

Can't wait for the D700 to arrive.

JosephK

Seattle, WA, US
7075 posts

#1. "RE: Just Bought a D700" | In response to Reply # 0

JosephK Silver Member Fellow Ribbon awarded for his excellent and frequent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community in the Nikonians spirit. Nikonian since 17th Apr 2006
Sun 10-Feb-13 11:02 PM

Welcome to the D700 club and to Nikonians!

While you are waiting, download the PDF version of the D700 manual from Nikon and start reading. Later you will find it handy for searching.

---------+---------+---------+---------+---------+
Joseph K
Seattle, WA, USA