Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

A public apology to my D700 ....

Ray B

Worthing, UK
210 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
Ray B Registered since 17th Dec 2008
Wed 02-Jan-13 07:02 PM

I feel compelled to offer up a public apology to my beloved D700, a faithful friend since 2008....

OK, I admit it. I broke my own rule, don't get seduced by the latest bodies, add glass to feed your NAS if justified instead....

1. Have I outgrown my D700? .... Nope..... it's still a better camera than I am a photographer ...

2. Do I print BIG ?? nope....

3. Have I missed a shot due to "limitations" with my D700 ?? Nope!! (In fact it has given me more wonderful keepers than I deserve!!)

4. Did my D700 become a bad camera when the latest bodies arrived? Nope....

So, how did I repay my trusty servant? I bought a D800 !! Got it home New Years Eve, rattled off a few shots New Years Day, love the images, hated the download times to my pimped up Mac Pro and more sluggish PP response, marveled at the images then went to bed for a sleepless night... troubled....

Woke up this morning with clarity of mind, an epiphany?? ... Yep the D800 images are awesome, but I don't need the extra PP drain and my D700 images are awesome too. I was seduced by the extra DR particularly (note to self and New Years resolution, learn HDR for some of my landscape stuff with D700, I keep putting it off)

So, with clarity of mind restored back to the store today to return my D800 and home again with the much less expensive and new 70-200mm f4.0 VRIII - glass which I know will ADD to my photography.