Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

New firmware update?

adcam

Portland, US
598 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
adcam Gold Member Nikonian since 31st Dec 2007
Wed 16-May-12 06:52 PM

Just saw in Nikonrumors that someone in Germany bought a D700 which had V1.03 firmware update. The nikonusa site still shows the old one since 2010.

gkaiseril

Chicago, US
6739 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 0

gkaiseril Gold Member Nikonian since 28th Oct 2005
Wed 16-May-12 05:40 PM

Did you try to follow the link?
Last updated "Updated 10/20/2011 02:59 PM "

Maybe, the poster had a D7000, D Seven Thousand, unless a service test camera escaped.

George
My Nikonian Galleries

adcam

Portland, US
598 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 1

adcam Gold Member Nikonian since 31st Dec 2007
Wed 16-May-12 06:10 PM

Check out Nikonrumors. It is a D700 and it was posted in a German forum.

Asgard

East Frisia, DE
60616 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 2

Asgard Administrator He is your Chief Guardian Angel at the Helpdesk and knows a lot about a lot Nikonian since 07th Apr 2004
Thu 17-May-12 09:14 AM

Indeed he has A 1.03.

As long as it is not a "malfunction", I think we will see an update shortly.

Gerold - Nikonian in East Frisia
Eala Freya Fresena

Railcam

Edinburgh, UK
81 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 3

Railcam Silver Member Nikonian since 13th Nov 2005
Tue 22-May-12 07:35 AM

I have just received an e-mail from Nikon Europe advising me that a Firmware Upgrade for the D700 is now available. This will give Firmware Version A = 1.03, B = 1.02.

I have downloaded the .exe file and update instructions from the Nikon Europe site.

For European members this is the site: https://nikoneurope-en.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/52614

Keith, a UK Railway Photographer

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Daveecopping

Polegate, UK
191 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 4

Daveecopping Silver Member Nikonian since 21st Jan 2011
Tue 22-May-12 08:08 AM

I can confirm Railcams posting, I had an email from Nikon UK advising me of a firmware update: A 1.03 and B 1.02.

I have downloaded and installed without any problems during and after.

Dave

espeto68

Oeiras, PT
475 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 5

espeto68 Silver Member Nikonian since 28th Aug 2010
Tue 22-May-12 09:12 AM | edited Tue 22-May-12 09:12 AM by espeto68

Plus one, here in Portugal,

José

Nikonians!!! My best investment made after my camera!!!

D700, D90, F80, F Photomic FTn

surfinscottie

Southend-on-sea, UK
6 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 6

surfinscottie Registered since 06th Jun 2010
Tue 22-May-12 09:25 AM

Also just received an email about the update.

Does anyone know what the update is for? I heard it was because there was a bug causing underexposure problems. I dont think ive had that problem, but surely there must be more to the update than that??

expat

Qawra St Pauls Bay, MT
532 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 7

expat Silver Member Nikonian since 09th Mar 2010
Tue 22-May-12 10:28 AM

Yes underexposure fix.
Updated mine today as the nice people at Nikon Europe informed me (as a registered user) that it was available.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

KazeyBunch

Fort Worth, US
40 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 8

KazeyBunch Registered since 03rd Jan 2012
Tue 22-May-12 04:43 PM

Very cool & great info! I noticed underexposure problems on my last shoot - about every 8 to 10 frames .5 to 1.5 stops under, but my glass was malfunctioning at the time, so I wasn't sure if the UE was from the lens or the camera. I will update the firmware tonight. Worth noting, there are primary fixes in firmware updates, but there are also secondary fixes to "smaller" lesser known bugs that aren't always disclosed. So consider always getting the update whether you're experiencing the "fixed" problem or not.

www.kazeybunch.com

“You can miss a lot of moments with your head stuck in your LCD.” - Joe McNally

fdmhiggins

Norwood, US
31 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 9

fdmhiggins Registered since 13th Aug 2008
Tue 22-May-12 05:17 PM

Can I in the United States down load and install this version?
Thank you for the info and the link.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

winthrop

Thousand Oaks, US
295 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#11. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 10

winthrop Silver Member Charter Member
Tue 22-May-12 05:22 PM

You can download it from NikonUSA.com.

Bob

visit my gallery

niksi

Kranj, SI
219 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#12. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 0

niksi Silver Member Nikonian since 20th Jul 2006
Tue 22-May-12 06:12 PM

Hi everybody!

I just received a notice from Nikon Europe about new FW update from A1.02 to A 1.03.
B FW has not been changed.

I downloaded the FW and updated my D700, no issues whatsoever.
What I would suggest is that you save your settings prior to updating the FW and to load the same setting into D700 after updating. Just in case...

I also noticed an underexposure on my D700 a couple of times, no big issue, I hope that now the exposure will be even more consistent.

I find Nikon policy about updating the FW on "old" cameras after a new model (D800) has been released, a good customer care policy.

Thank you Nikon!

Niko
-----------------------
Never underestimate!

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

rubo

NL
27 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#13. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 11

rubo Registered since 09th Mar 2011
Tue 22-May-12 06:59 PM

Also in the Netherlands I.ve received an email from Nikon. Didn't perform the update yet, but wil do it tomorrow

Visit my Nikonians gallery.


www.pbase.com/rdsb

Ray B

Worthing, UK
210 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#14. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 12

Ray B Registered since 17th Dec 2008
Tue 22-May-12 07:56 PM

Yep I got an email today from Nikon UK and will be updating my firmware in the morning

Regards, Ray

Visit: My Nikonians Gallery

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Flokx

FR
11 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#15. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 13

Flokx Registered since 07th Dec 2011
Tue 22-May-12 08:01 PM

Hello,

Email alert in France too. Nikon explains a fix of underexposure.

Lionel

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

adcam

Portland, US
598 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#16. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 0

adcam Gold Member Nikonian since 31st Dec 2007
Tue 22-May-12 10:22 PM

Nikonusa still shows the old update. I wonder if we can download the Europe version?

Greyscale

Freehold, US
111 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#17. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 16

Greyscale Registered since 12th Jun 2002
Tue 22-May-12 10:59 PM

Just D/L 1.03 from NikonUSA site. However, I believe the manual updates are for the 1.02 version.

greyscale

adcam

Portland, US
598 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#18. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 17

adcam Gold Member Nikonian since 31st Dec 2007
Wed 23-May-12 03:21 AM

Just came out today then.

http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17802/session/L3RpbWUvMTMzNzc1MDM0OC9zaWQvVHI1a1FPWWs%3D

slothead

Frederick, US
1906 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#19. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 18

slothead Gold Member Donor Ribbon awarded for his generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Nikonian since 11th Aug 2009
Wed 23-May-12 08:41 AM | edited Wed 23-May-12 08:49 AM by slothead

I just got it. According to the binary file software properties it was created April 25, 2012.

I had the MB-D10 grip on the camera and had to take it off. Interestingly, the camera said it couldn't update with the grip batteries (even though they were fully charged).

Tom
http://tjmanson.smugmug.com
D810, D750, N1-J5, N1-V3 (and a few other cameras) and a BIG handful of lenses.

vadim0416

Northbrook, US
98 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#20. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 0

vadim0416 Gold Member Nikonian since 20th Jan 2009
Wed 23-May-12 12:25 PM

Can I update 1.01 directly to 1.03 or do I need to update to 1.02 first?

Thanks,
Vlad.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

slothead

Frederick, US
1906 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#21. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 20

slothead Gold Member Donor Ribbon awarded for his generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Nikonian since 11th Aug 2009
Wed 23-May-12 03:21 PM

Vladimir, I can't see anything in the NikonUSA website that says you need to have 1.02, but you might want to do it in that sequence (I don't even know if you can find the 1.02 version now) just to be safe.

Tom
http://tjmanson.smugmug.com
D810, D750, N1-J5, N1-V3 (and a few other cameras) and a BIG handful of lenses.

vadim0416

Northbrook, US
98 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#22. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 21

vadim0416 Gold Member Nikonian since 20th Jan 2009
Wed 23-May-12 04:10 PM

Thanks Tom! I've updated directly from 1.01 to 1.03 using NikonUSA link.

Vlad.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

jgould2

Fort Pierce, US
4628 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to send message via AOL IM

#23. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 19

jgould2 Gold Member Fellow Ribbon awarded for his excellent and frequent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community in the Nikonians spirit. Nikonian since 13th Oct 2007
Wed 23-May-12 05:02 PM

Hi Tom.

I had no such problems with my MB-D10 grip but I had an enel4 battery in mine.

Note that only the A firmware needs updating.

JIM

Highlander_Italy

Milano, IT
50 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#24. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 22

Highlander_Italy Registered since 09th May 2012
Wed 23-May-12 07:05 PM

Where shall I download the new firmware from for my camera been bought in Hong Kong?

Thanks

zedbadee

Richmond, CA
154 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#25. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 24

zedbadee Winner in the Nikonians 10th Anniversary Photo Contest Registered since 05th Jun 2007
Wed 23-May-12 11:15 PM

http://help.nikon.ca/app/answers/detail/a_id/17803/kw/D700

avm247

Rancho Cordova, US
18758 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#26. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 19

avm247 Moderator Awarded for high skills in documentary architecture and aviation photography Donor Ribbon. Awarded for his support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Charter Member
Wed 23-May-12 11:44 PM

I just downloaded and updated my firmware with A1.03 and B1.02 (same as the old firmware). I had no problem updating with my MB-D10 attached (both camera and grip running EN-EL3e fully charged).



Anthony

The Moderator Page and My Gallery
The important things in life are simple; the simple things are hard.

Ed911

US
222 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#27. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 25

Ed911 Silver Member Nikonian since 01st Apr 2007
Thu 24-May-12 08:05 PM

Just FYI, there is a misprint on the Nikon USA website...that refers to the upgrade as D7000 in item 4. But, it's just that, so don't worry. I tried to call Nikon and alert them, but after too many numbered options, I quit.

Ed

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

jgould2

Fort Pierce, US
4628 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to send message via AOL IM

#28. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 27

jgould2 Gold Member Fellow Ribbon awarded for his excellent and frequent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community in the Nikonians spirit. Nikonian since 13th Oct 2007
Thu 24-May-12 08:43 PM

Hi Ed.

I saw that as well and had to read everything again from the top before I downloaded the update, just to be sure.

JIM

ptremb

Manchester, US
98 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#29. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 0

ptremb Silver Member Nikonian since 12th Dec 2010
Thu 24-May-12 10:38 PM

I wish they would give a little better description of the fix it is for than just "fixes some rare underexposure issue". Basically I would like to see that to read as when using "A" mode (or what ever mode)this fixes a potential metering problem causing underexposure in mixed lighting situations.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

esantos

McAllen, US
13266 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#30. "RE: New firmware update?" | In response to Reply # 0

esantos Moderator Nikonians Resources Writer. Recognized for his outstanding reviews on printers and printing articles. Awarded for his high level of expertise in various areas, including Landscape Photography Awarded for his extraordinary accomplishments in Landscape Photography. His work has been exhibited at the Smithsonian. Nikonian since 10th Nov 2002
Thu 24-May-12 11:02 PM

Folks,
I just posted a pinned topic with the USA update link here:


https://www.nikonians.org/forums/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=226&topic_id=43340&mesg_id=43340&page=

Ernesto Santos
esartprints.com Ernesto Santos Photography
Get my new e-Book "Churches of Texas"

G