Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Manual mayhem....... what the £"^*$ going on?

Devonish

Newton Abbot, UK
122 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
Devonish Registered since 13th Nov 2011
Fri 17-Aug-12 11:31 AM

I'm currently having problems with one of my D700's when using the Manual program, the picture taken has the exposure way off and I have discovered that it's selecting it's own shutter speed?

In fact the shutter speed varies on each picture, almost as if it is metering! I admit I haven't done the latest firmware upgrade and am hoping maybe that will fix it?

The aperture remains constant, as selected.

Has anyone come across this fault in a D700?

Visit my Nikonians gallery.


Wedding Photographer in Devon: http://www.whitepetal.co.uk

CharlieS

US
1729 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: Manual mayhem....... what the £"^*$ going on?" | In response to Reply # 0

CharlieS Registered since 29th Aug 2007
Fri 17-Aug-12 09:48 AM

do you by chance have bracketing turned on?

____________________________________________________________________
When no one is looking, Pigs can walk on they're hind legs

MEMcD

US
31324 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: Manual mayhem....... what the £"^*$ going on?" | In response to Reply # 0

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007
Fri 17-Aug-12 01:17 PM

Hi Paul,

I think Charlie hit the nail on the head.
Sounds like you inadvertantly turned on Bracketing.
Good luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

gkaiseril

Chicago, US
6739 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: Manual mayhem....... what the £"^*$ going on?" | In response to Reply # 0

gkaiseril Gold Member Nikonian since 28th Oct 2005
Fri 17-Aug-12 01:44 PM

Agree, it sounds like bracketing has been inadvertently turned on. Have you looked at the EXIF tag Shooting Mode in the Nikon MakerNotes section?

0x0089 ShootingMode int16u~ (for the D70, Bit 5 = Unused LE-NR Slowdown)
Bit 0 = Continuous
Bit 1 = Delay
Bit 2 = PC Control
Bit 4 = Exposure Bracketing
Bit 5 = Auto ISO
Bit 6 = White-Balance Bracketing
Bit 7 = IR Control

You may need to use a more advanced reader than either Nikon's or Adobe's software can provide.

George
My Nikonian Galleries

Devonish

Newton Abbot, UK
122 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: Manual mayhem....... what the £"^*$ going on?" | In response to Reply # 0

Devonish Registered since 13th Nov 2011
Fri 17-Aug-12 01:54 PM

Hi guys, thanks for posting a reply, but no it's not bracketing. I think maybe my description misled you slightly.

What happens is this:
1) Say I set up Manual settings at f5.6 and 125th Sec. at ISO 200

2) I frame my shot and half press for focus

3) Checking the viewfinder and it still shows f5.6 / 125th sec

4) Click - take the picture and it's overexposed, shot at f5.6 and a 30th Sec (or whatever). Now the data on the top LCD has changed to match what was taken, i.e. f5.6 / 30th sec

5) I've only taken one shot, it's not bracketing. So I reset to f5.6 / 125th sec, point and take another test shot - this time, different result and the shutter speed has changed again. It's not even correct exposures I'm getting so I can't figure out what is going on. Think I'll be sending it off to Nikon?

Visit my Nikonians gallery.


Wedding Photographer in Devon: http://www.whitepetal.co.uk

CharlieS

US
1729 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: Manual mayhem....... what the £"^*$ going on?" | In response to Reply # 4

CharlieS Registered since 29th Aug 2007
Fri 17-Aug-12 02:58 PM

a sample image with exif data intact would be a big help for us to dianose the issue.

____________________________________________________________________
When no one is looking, Pigs can walk on they're hind legs

GiantTristan

Stamford, US
2676 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: Manual mayhem....... what the £"^*$ going on?" | In response to Reply # 0

GiantTristan Silver Member Nikonian since 08th Jan 2006
Fri 17-Aug-12 03:22 PM

Did you try a reset to factory defaults?

Tristan

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Devonish

Newton Abbot, UK
122 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: Manual mayhem....... what the £"^*$ going on?" | In response to Reply # 5

Devonish Registered since 13th Nov 2011
Fri 17-Aug-12 04:13 PM

Ok, will try and sort something next week. I'm working this weekend... shooting a wedding.


>a sample image with exif data intact would be a big help for
>us to dianose the issue.
>
>

Visit my Nikonians gallery.


Wedding Photographer in Devon: http://www.whitepetal.co.uk

Devonish

Newton Abbot, UK
122 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: Manual mayhem....... what the £"^*$ going on?" | In response to Reply # 6

Devonish Registered since 13th Nov 2011
Fri 17-Aug-12 04:15 PM

No I haven't... maybe I'll do that and load the new firmware. Will update next week because I'm working (at a wedding) this weekend and don't want to play with the camera settings tonight.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.


Wedding Photographer in Devon: http://www.whitepetal.co.uk

Devonish

Newton Abbot, UK
122 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: Manual mayhem....... what the £"^*$ going on?" | In response to Reply # 1

Devonish Registered since 13th Nov 2011
Fri 24-Aug-12 08:59 AM | edited Fri 24-Aug-12 09:00 AM by Devonish

>do you by chance have bracketing turned on?


Charlie...., guys.......... humble apologies; it turns out I did inadvertantly manage to turn on bracketing without realising!

I'd set up the Func button for bracketing some time ago, but haven't been using it because I'm not a lover of HDR; anyway.... seems like I must have acccidentally pushed the Func button and set up bracketing.

Thanks very much, your responses did help me go away and take another look! Sorry for slow response, I've been away in a remote part of the Exe Valley, Devon, with very limnited wi-fi access.

I've also updated my firmware, so all is well

Visit my Nikonians gallery.


Wedding Photographer in Devon: http://www.whitepetal.co.uk

Devonish

Newton Abbot, UK
122 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: Manual mayhem....... what the £"^*$ going on?" | In response to Reply # 0

Devonish Registered since 13th Nov 2011
Fri 24-Aug-12 09:02 AM

Charlie...., guys.......... humble apologies; it turns out I did inadvertantly manage to turn on bracketing without realising!

I'd set up the Func button for bracketing some time ago, but haven't been using it because I'm not a lover of HDR; anyway.... seems like I must have acccidentally pushed the Func button and set up bracketing.

Thanks very much, your responses did help me go away and take another look! Sorry for slow response, I've been away in a remote part of the Exe Valley, Devon, with very limnited wi-fi access.

I've also updated my firmware, so all is well

Visit my Nikonians gallery.


Wedding Photographer in Devon: http://www.whitepetal.co.uk

G