Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?

westlight


12 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
westlight Registered since 03rd Sep 2007
Sat 11-Oct-08 04:25 PM

I would like to find out if there is a way to quickly access the "Virtual Horizon" feature that appears in the LCD screen as the camera inside the compass like dial, not the one which shows in the "Control Panel" or viewfinder.

So far the only way I can seem to bring this up in the LCD is to go into the "Setup" menu and scroll up or down until I find the "Virtual Horizon".

Someone else had suggested assigning the AE-L/AF-L button to bring this up but it actually seems only to be able to display a different view, the one inside the viewfinder and Control Panel.

Thanks, David

www.westlightimages.com

gkaiseril

Chicago, US
6739 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?" | In response to Reply # 0

gkaiseril Gold Member Nikonian since 28th Oct 2005
Sat 11-Oct-08 05:09 PM

Have you looked at using the "Fn" button to quickly set this option?

See pages 320-323 of the D700 manual for assigning a function to the "Fn" button. Page 322 deals spefically deals with the Virtual Horizon option.

George
My Nikonian Galleries

westlight


12 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?" | In response to Reply # 1

westlight Registered since 03rd Sep 2007
Sat 11-Oct-08 05:39 PM

Yes, I've set it up using the "Fn" key but that only works on the Virtual Horizon that shows up in the Control Panel or within the viewfinder. It does not work with the one that shows up as the camera in the dial that can be seen in the LCD. It's the LCD version of the Virtual Horizon that I would like to access without digging into the Menu each time.


www.westlightimages.com

pwscott61

Fairfiled County, US
72 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?" | In response to Reply # 2

pwscott61 Registered since 11th Feb 2006
Sat 11-Oct-08 10:22 PM

I'd like to find a shortcut to that too.

PaulBennett

US
321 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?" | In response to Reply # 3

PaulBennett Registered since 09th May 2008
Sun 12-Oct-08 05:11 AM

I place Virtual Horizon into 'My Menu' for fast access along with
Battery Info
Auto ISO on/off
Active D
Image Comment

My Menu is the only place I don't need to remember "was that in the custom menu?" "or the setup menu?" and "where do I need to scroll to find it". Things I use a lot go there.

pwscott61

Fairfiled County, US
72 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?" | In response to Reply # 4

pwscott61 Registered since 11th Feb 2006
Sun 12-Oct-08 11:47 AM

Do you recall what menu # it is? Like E4 or D5 etc?

westlight


12 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?" | In response to Reply # 5

westlight Registered since 03rd Sep 2007
Sun 12-Oct-08 05:37 PM

It's in the "Setup Menu" under "Virtual Horizon". I've gone ahead and just added it to "My Menu" which seems to be the easiest way to access this. I've been shooting a lot of panoramic images lately and this feature comes in very handy.



pwscott61

Fairfiled County, US
72 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?" | In response to Reply # 6

pwscott61 Registered since 11th Feb 2006
Sun 12-Oct-08 05:38 PM

Thanks I'll have a look.

Ricechex75

Parkersburg, US
46 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?" | In response to Reply # 0

Ricechex75 Basic Member
Mon 13-Oct-08 10:30 AM

I have on of the buttons programmed for Live View. While in LV, if you hit the Info button it should bring up Virtual Horizon. Press the Info button again and you should go back to LV.

~Russ
Post processing is such a buzz-kill.
My Flickr gallery: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ricechex75/

flisom

Kingsland, US
199 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?" | In response to Reply # 8

flisom Registered since 19th Jul 2008
Wed 15-Oct-08 10:04 AM

>I have on of the buttons programmed for Live View. While in
>LV, if you hit the Info button it should bring up Virtual
>Horizon. Press the Info button again and you should go back to
>LV.
>
>~Russ
>Post processing is such a buzz-kill.
>My Flickr gallery: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ricechex75/

I do the same and it works great,


Fred Isom

www.fredisomphotography.com

pwscott61

Fairfiled County, US
72 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?" | In response to Reply # 9

pwscott61 Registered since 11th Feb 2006
Wed 15-Oct-08 10:12 AM

Made that change and assigned the AE/AL button to Live View (If I assigned the Fn button then I lost Fn + Dial = Bracket). Very helpful indeed! Now I just so wish I had this on my D300 too!

westlight


12 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#11. "RE: Virtual horizon in LCD, easy access?" | In response to Reply # 10

westlight Registered since 03rd Sep 2007
Wed 15-Oct-08 12:04 PM

Thanks for the suggestions regarding LV and Virtual Horizon. I'll give it a try. I think we need more buttons. Maybe not.

www.westlightimages.com

G