Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising
abhijitsarkar

US
208 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
abhijitsarkar Registered since 18th Apr 2010
Sun 30-Sep-12 12:58 AM | edited Sun 30-Sep-12 01:02 AM by abhijitsarkar

After using the D700 for 3 months and loving it, I discovered a problem with it y'day. The following things need to happen to reproduce this behavior.

1. Lens AF is on.
2. D700 AF is set to back button, not shutter half-press.
3. AF at a particular distance, recompose, and then trip the shutter using the interval timer.
4. The camera changes the focus just as it does if AF is set on shutter half-press. Except, shutter half-press AF is disabled as in step 2.

Anyone else knows about this problem and how to work around it? I am afraid a lot of my good shots have been ruined by this behavior.

--
Abhijit

JosephK

Seattle, WA, US
7065 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: D700 AF problem" | In response to Reply # 0

JosephK Silver Member Fellow Ribbon awarded for his excellent and frequent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community in the Nikonians spirit. Nikonian since 17th Apr 2006
Sun 30-Sep-12 02:31 AM

I would first recheck your settings. The only way I can repro this problem is to have the AF set to the shutter button. When set to af-on only, my D700 behaves as desired and expected.

---------+---------+---------+---------+
Joseph K
Seattle, WA, USA

D700, D200, D70S, 24-70mm f/2.8, VR 70-200mm f/2.8 II, 50mm f/1.4 D,
17-55mm f/2.8 DX, 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR, 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 DX

SheriB

Southern York Co, US
1973 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: D700 AF problem" | In response to Reply # 0

SheriB Gold Member Awarded for sharing her exceptional images and details of rural farm life. Nikonian since 11th Sep 2010
Sun 30-Sep-12 11:04 AM

did you have your focus mode selector switch set to C ( instead of S) by chance?

Sheri Becker

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

avm247

Rancho Cordova, US
18758 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: D700 AF problem" | In response to Reply # 0

avm247 Moderator Awarded for high skills in documentary architecture and aviation photography Donor Ribbon. Awarded for his support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Charter Member
Sun 30-Sep-12 12:46 PM

Did you try to lock AF with the AE/AF lock?


Anthony

The Moderator Page and My Gallery
The important things in life are simple; the simple things are hard.

abhijitsarkar

US
208 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: D700 AF problem" | In response to Reply # 2

abhijitsarkar Registered since 18th Apr 2010
Sun 30-Sep-12 01:08 PM

>did you have your focus mode selector switch set to C (
>instead of S) by chance?


Yes, I've focus mode selector at 'C'.

abhijitsarkar

US
208 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: D700 AF problem" | In response to Reply # 3

abhijitsarkar Registered since 18th Apr 2010
Sun 30-Sep-12 01:09 PM

>Did you try to lock AF with the AE/AF lock?
>
>
>Anthony

I've AE/AF set for AE, not AF.

SheriB

Southern York Co, US
1973 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#6. "RE: D700 AF problem" | In response to Reply # 4

SheriB Gold Member Awarded for sharing her exceptional images and details of rural farm life. Nikonian since 11th Sep 2010
Sun 30-Sep-12 03:13 PM | edited Sun 30-Sep-12 03:36 PM by SheriB

I do not know if its supposed to or not ..but I think that is your culprit..I had the same problem..change to single servo and see if it does it..
From "Mastering the Nikon D700" book
When the subject is standing still, Continuous-servo AF acts a lot like single -servo AF with the exception that the focus never locks.If you have camera movement, you may hear chattering a little as the autofocus motor makes small adjustments in the focus position.Since it never locks in this mode you need to be careful that you do not accidentially move the AF sensor off of the subject because it may focus on something in teh background instead" (pg.44)

Sheri Becker

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

JosephK

Seattle, WA, US
7065 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: D700 AF problem" | In response to Reply # 6

JosephK Silver Member Fellow Ribbon awarded for his excellent and frequent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community in the Nikonians spirit. Nikonian since 17th Apr 2006
Sun 30-Sep-12 06:12 PM

This is a good point.

In step #3 of the OP, I assumed he released the AF-ON button before doing the recompose.

---------+---------+---------+---------+
Joseph K
Seattle, WA, USA

D700, D200, D70S, 24-70mm f/2.8, VR 70-200mm f/2.8 II, 50mm f/1.4 D,
17-55mm f/2.8 DX, 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR, 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 DX

nrothschild

US
10916 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#8. "RE: D700 AF problem" | In response to Reply # 0

nrothschild Neil is an expert in several areas, including camera support Registered since 25th Jul 2004
Sun 07-Oct-12 06:18 PM

>> 3. AF at a particular distance, recompose, and then trip the shutter using the interval timer.

Are you using the "Self timer" activated from the shooting mode dial on the top left camera, or are you using the menu based intervalometer?

I don't know why it would matter, or if it would matter but if anyone is going to try to reproduce it they would want the identical settings.

What is your AF-C priority mode setting (custom a2)?

I am very sure I don't have the problem you are having but I may be skinning the cat differently. The key, as mentioned previously, is to have "AF Activation" (custom menu a5) set to OFF. And you seem to be sure you have that set correctly.

AF-S mode would not solve the problem because the camera would not fire. Same if in AF-C focus priority mode.

_________________________________
Neil


my Nikonians gallery.

abhijitsarkar

US
208 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: D700 AF problem" | In response to Reply # 8

abhijitsarkar Registered since 18th Apr 2010
Sun 07-Oct-12 06:43 PM | edited Sun 07-Oct-12 06:56 PM by abhijitsarkar

>Are you using the "Self timer" activated from the
>shooting mode dial on the top left camera, or are you using
>the menu based intervalometer?

Intervalometer or more specifically Interval timer shooting, I've added it to My Menu and access from there.

>What is your AF-C priority mode setting (custom a2)?
>
a2 AF-S priority selection=focus

However, since I am using AF-C and not AF-S, I believe the relevant setting is
a1 AF-C priority selection=Release + focus

I rechecked, c1 Shutter-release button AE-L=OFF

I tried changing f7 Assign AE-L/AF-L button=AE-L/AF-L button press >> AF lock only, but that requires me to hold the button down during shooting and Intervalometer can't be used if I am holding the button down. Unfortunately, it doesn't have an option like AF lock (hold).

>I am very sure I don't have the problem you are having but I
>may be skinning the cat differently. The key, as mentioned
>previously, is to have "AF Activation" (custom menu
>a5) set to OFF. And you seem to be sure you have that set
>correctly.
>
>AF-S mode would not solve the problem because the camera would
>not fire. Same if in AF-C focus priority mode.

In AF-C, the camera can be made to fire without locking a focus by changing a1. See my answer above.
a5 AF activation=OFF

According the an article that I was directed to by a Facebook group I am a member of, this is a known behavior. "Unless your camera is set to ‘Manual Focus,’ the Interval Timer will attempt to focus before each set of shots."
http://mariloujaen.com/images/blog/Love-Your-Nikon-D700/D700-Episode1-Interval-Timer.rs.pdf

I am too lazy to write to Nikon but I am planning to.

abhijitsarkar

US
208 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#10. "RE: D700 AF problem" | In response to Reply # 0

abhijitsarkar Registered since 18th Apr 2010
Mon 08-Oct-12 08:31 PM | edited Mon 08-Oct-12 08:31 PM by abhijitsarkar

I wrote to Thom Hogan and according to him, this is how all Nikon cameras operated for last 20 years. The only way to avoid it is to set the AF off on the lens or on the camera body.

I've just decided to switch to manual focus after I've auto-focussed at a particular distance.

G