Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

English German French

Home Forums Articles Galleries Recent Photos Contest Help Search News Workshops Shop Upgrade Membership Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising
glbrum

4 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
glbrum Registered since 28th May 2007
Mon 28-May-07 04:33 AM

I'm new to the DSLR realm and I've been doing a lot of looking through the threads concerning the D40 and reading some reviews and I guess I'm still stuck. The main differences between the 2 are the megapixel range and the ISO. Is there anything other differences that the D40x offers over the D40? Also, would these differences make a difference in my photography? Meaning, is the extra money for the 40x worth it in what it offers?

I would be using the camera for landscape and street/urban photography. Not much, if any, sports/action, wedding, or commercial stuff.

blw

Richmond, US
28561 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to send message via AOL IM

#1. "RE: D40 vs. D40x" | In response to Reply # 0

blw Moderator Awarded for his high level of expertise in various areas Nikonian since 18th Jun 2004
Mon 28-May-07 08:13 AM

I think it really boils down to "how often will you print larger than 10x15 inches"? If it's not often, save your money. One can make a very nice 13x19 from 2.7mp, if glass, technique and conditions are on your side, so it's not as if 10x15 is a hard limit. You can, of course, make a BETTER 13x19 from 6mp or 10mp, given the same glass, technique and conditions, but how often will you do that?

You might have a look at Thom Hogan's D40/40x review here.

_____
Brian... a bicoastal Nikonian and Team Member

My gallery is online. Comments and critique welcomed any time!

Ginseng

US
142 posts