nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

Select your language:

Camera Reviews How-to's

Upgrading Firmware in Your Nikon D7100

Darrell Young (DigitalDarrell) on October 14, 2013


Keywords: nikon, manuals, photo, glossary, product, articles

previous page Page 1/4 show all pages

(Reference: User’s manual: page 272)

Nikon has released a firmware upgrade for the Nikon D7100 camera. Let’s see how to upgrade your Nikon D7100 camera.

 

Computer Operating System Requirements

Here are the computer operating system and card reader requirements. Your computer must be running one of the following operating systems and have a compatible SD memory card reader:

Windows Computers

  • Microsoft Windows 8
  • Microsoft Windows 8 Professional
  • Microsoft Windows 8 Enterprise
  • Microsoft Windows 7 Home Basic
  • Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
  • Microsoft Windows 7 Professional
  • Microsoft Windows 7 Home Ultimate
  • Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic
  • Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium
  • Microsoft Windows Vista Business
  • Microsoft Windows Vista Enterprise
  • Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional
  • Microsoft Windows XP Home
  • Microsoft Windows 98 Second Edition (SE)
  • Card reader or computer equipped with built in Secure Digital (SD) memory card slot

Macintosh Computers

  • Mac OS 10.1.5 - 10.8.4
  • USB interface (built-in only)
  • Card reader or computer equipped with built in Secure Digital (SD) memory card slot

Once you have the validated that you have a compatible operating system you must download the firmware update. Here’s how.

 

 
(3 Votes)
previous page Page 1/4 show all pages
Darrell Young Darrell Young (DigitalDarrell)

Knoxville, USA
Team, 5948 posts

9 comments

Ray Milbrandt (iiKaptain) on March 11, 2014

I just purchased my D7100 and my version is C1.01 L 1.009

Darrell Young (DigitalDarrell) on October 21, 2013

Yes, it is normal to update only one of the two (C or L). Sometimes Nikon provides separate updates for each one, and sometimes just for one of the two. Check the Nikon website several times per year to see if new updates present themselves.

Francisco Castro (xis) on October 21, 2013

hello, yesterday i performed the update of my D7100 firmware and it went from: C 1.00 L 1.008 to: C 1.01 L 1.008 just changed C, is it normal?

Darrell Young (DigitalDarrell) on October 20, 2013

Nikon publishes updates that cover one or the other, or both. Just keep checking back in at the site listed in the article and watch for new firmware updates.

William McConnell (WilliamMcConnell) on October 20, 2013

I did the update as directed and my C version is correct at 1.01 but my L still says 1.008. Any suggestions on how to get that to upgrade as well?

Darrell Young (DigitalDarrell) on October 16, 2013

Sorry for any confusion or misunderstanding about the timing of the firmware update. Let me explain. This article is one of the downloadable resources from Mastering the Nikon D7100. It is a simple explanation of the basics of how to do a firmware upgrade. It just happens to be about an upgrade that became available in June (about the time I wrote the article). The information, with only a little variation in upgrade software filenames is applicable to any future firmware upgrade. In other words, the intention of the article was not for any particular upgrade. Instead, it is for *any* firmware upgrade, this one, or a future one. Why was this article published here, then? We usually have several downloadable resources like this one that cover information not found within the book. Mastering the Nikon D7100 is already close to 600 pages in length, so we chose to have some extra downloadable material that normally would only be available to owners of Mastering the Nikon D7100. However, since the D7100 is so wildly popular, Nikonians decided to publish this article for general D7100 owners. Therefore, keep this article as a reference for this particular firmware version, and any future firmware versions. They will all work the same, with with little variation. Thanks!

Dave Shaner (dave_17531) on October 15, 2013

The latest firmware version I'm seeing from Nikon support was released last June. I've already updated mine and haven't seen anything new from Nikon to date.

Mick Klass (mklass) on October 15, 2013

Good Grief, this update came out 4 months ago! You make it sound like it just same out now in OCtober.

Lawrence Carr (Sixmileman) on October 15, 2013

I'm confused. I performed an update of my D7100 a while ago and it is C 1.01, L 1.009. Isn't that firmware version more current than the one discussed here?

Back to top