nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

Select your language:

Lens Reviews

Tamron SP70-300mm F4-5.6 Di VC USD Review

Armando Heredia (Covey22) on October 25, 2010


Keywords: tamron, sp70, 300mm, lenses, non_nikon, product, articles

previous page Page 1/2 show all pages

Tamron SP70-300 Di VC USD: The Nikonians Review
For most photographers, a telephoto lens is like a specialized tool; you don’t often have need for it, but when you do, you want it to work right the first time. Tamron’s latest telephoto zoom, the SP 70-300 f4-5.6 Di VC USD, is exactly that – a very useful lens that gets you the shot you want when you need it.

Editor's Note: The Samples Gallery is now available.

Tamron is no newcomer to the market. As a third-party manufacturer of still camera and video lenses, the company has been making optical products since 1950. The new 70-300 VC USD reflects their long history and experience in its’ build, handling and performance.

Some of you are probably thinking; “What, another mid-range telephoto zoom?” This isn't just another "me-too" product, it's got some really compelling features, and performance that will surprise you. Let’s quickly walk through the basics:

Ultrasonic Drive (USD) - this is Tamron’s first lens to use a coreless drive motor. Much like Nikon’s Silent Wave motor, the lens is not dependent upon the camera’s internal shaft drive to move the optical elements. Instead, Ultrasonic Drive pulls battery power from the camera and uses a ring motor to silently and swiftly arrive at the desired focus. It’s perfect for fast moving action but discreet enough in events requiring a low noise profile.

Vibration Compensation (VC) – this is Tamron’s fourth lens to feature a form of image stabilization. This is an extremely useful feature when you’re talking about a telephoto lens. Longer focal lengths require sufficiently higher shutter speeds to avoid hand shake effects. Vibration Compensation is rated to give up to four stops of hand-holding, allowing us to shoot in progressively lower light and/or lower ISO at lower shutter speeds, or forgo traditional supports like tripods and still be able to get blur-free photos.*

*If your subject is moving at a pace faster than the shutter speed can freeze the action, it will still be blurred.

Optical Formula – the new lens features an LD (Low Dispersion) and an XLD (Extra Low Dispersion) optical element that helps prevent chromatic aberration (the so-called “purple fringing” effect). The optical formula of 12 groups in 17 elements is considerably more complex compared to Tamron’s previous implementations – the AF 70-300 Macro and the AF 75-300 Macro LD both had 9 groups in 12 elements, and only a single LD element each.

Di Type – Tamron applies a multi-coating to optimize the lens’ use with more reflective Digital SLR sensors, although it is fully compatible with film cameras as well.


 

The build is quite modern and reassuring. Although it is mostly composed of light-weight materials and a metal mount, the lens is hefty at 1.7 lbs/0.7 kg and feels solid. There is no creak or give whatsoever, and when extended to its full length at 300mm, the lens barrel does not flop or bend. Tamron also includes a deep bayonet-mounted flower-petal hood that is reversible for easy storage. The hood’s length is great as it increases the efficiency of glare reduction. A proprietary rear cap and a pinch front cap round out the package. The pinch cap is very convenient, and is easily mounted and removed even with the hood in place. The filter size is a common and relatively inexpensive 062mm, which is great for photographers on a tight budget. The lens has the normal seals against dust and dirt, but is not waterproof.

As previously noted, this is not a constant aperture zoom, so the maximum aperture at each focal length is as follows:

•70mm - f4.0
•100mm - f4.2
•135mm - f4.5
•200mm - f5.3
•300mm – f5.6

The lens has no dedicated aperture ring. Like its modern peers, the mechanical linkage of aperture is now electronically controlled through the lens mount interface, allowing the photographer to set the opening via control dials on the camera body.

There are two ring controls – a very large zoom ring dominates the front two-thirds of the barrel length, while a narrower but easily handed focus ring is placed closer to the mount. The focus ring adequately allows clearance even for larger hands, so you won’t feel cramped while trying to manually focus. A display window on the top closest to the lens mount end shows focus distance in feet and meters. The rings are mechanically sound – both turned with a crisp reassurance, but were tight enough that with some practice, you could move the zoom ring by “feel” to a given focal length and know it would stay there. It takes about a quarter turn to cycle through the whole zoom range. Because of the full-time AF manual override, the focus ring turns freely in either direction and does not hit a stop or detent. Those of us who have struggled with “switchology errors” on lenses will be pleased to see the simplified setup Tamron has created – there’s just two switches, both on the left side; one turns VC ON or OFF and the other switches AF ON or OFF. That’s it. For folks who like to delve into the technical details, it sounds suspiciously like Tamron’s implementation is too simplified, but be reassured, it’s not. We’ll get into that later in this review.

(2 Votes)
previous page Page 1/2 show all pages
Armando Heredia Armando Heredia (Covey22)

USA
Moderator, 10673 posts

114 comments

Szekely Janos (AMDaZERG) on June 6, 2012

Hi! Went wrong with my Tamron 70-300 USD optics. The auto focus is not sharp. Just move forward and backward and stop somewhere but not sharp. Service center is now in Germany. Anyone else done it? Sorry for poor english expression

Desiga Poonsamy (Des Poonsamy) on May 11, 2012

Anyone seen a comparative review between this lense and the Nikkor equavelent

patrick dumo ogbalor (pattos) on March 7, 2012

i think the best lens i have used it 4rom nikon such as 55-200mm, 18-70mm,

patrick dumo ogbalor (pattos) on March 7, 2012

i think the best lens i have used it 4rom nikon such as 55-200mm, 18-70mm,

patrick dumo ogbalor (pattos) on March 7, 2012

i think the best lens i have used it 4rom nikon such as 55-200mm, 18-70mm,

patrick dumo ogbalor (pattos) on March 7, 2012

i just bought tamron 70-300mm not long and i have not done any serious shooting with it . it cost $270.

patrick dumo ogbalor (pattos) on March 7, 2012

i just bought tamron 70-300mm not long and i have not done any serious shooting with it . it cost $270.

patrick dumo ogbalor (pattos) on March 7, 2012

i just bought tamron 70-300mm not long and i have not done any serious shooting with it . it cost $270.

Denny Jodeit (redvoodoo378) on January 25, 2011

I've owned this lens about a month and I really like it. I shot a photo of the moon from the driver's seat of my car handheld and it came out pretty sharp for how I prepared and composed the shot. I posted the photo to my gallery. Great job Tamron!

Manuel Perez Cuevas (mannypr55) on December 5, 2010

Nice review. one of the aspects of using this lens is it's sharpness all the way threw. I kind of gives you a weird sensation when shooting because usually when you are going to shot at something you would have to adjust aperture in order to get proper sharpness. With this lens you don't have to worry about. You just go ahead changing what ever for other reasons but sharpness. It gives a nice feeling knowing that all your photos will turn out properly sharp and contrasty.

Cheryl Coons (shuttersyn) on November 30, 2010

I can't wait to get my hands on this lense. I purchased a Tamron 90mm for my son and the image quality certainly rivals my Nikkor 105.

sunset rock (sunsetrock) on November 30, 2010

I shot the old Tamron 70-300 on my film Nikon and then used it with my d70s. The lens is twenty years old and still cranking along on the back up gear. Now I'm a 700 shooter with the 2.8 70/200 in my kit, but man that fast lens weighs a ton! It may finally be time to add a lighter, high-quality upgrade to the daylight shoot kit!

sunset rock (sunsetrock) on November 30, 2010

I shot the old Tamron 70-300 on my film Nikon and then used it with my d70s. The lens is twenty years old and still cranking along on the back up gear. Now I'm a 700 shooter with the 2.8 70/200 in my kit, but man that fast lens weighs a ton! It may finally be time to add a lighter, high-quality upgrade to the daylight shoot kit!

John Earl (jhearl) on November 30, 2010

Sounds like the new drive motor might address the slow focusing I've seen on other Tamron lenses. I like the 3-way VC too.

Daniel Spencer (dandy49) on November 29, 2010

Being fairly new to photography, I've been very wary of buying non-Nikon lenses. A friend of mine loaned me a Tamron lens, 10.5 fisheye. I was blown away by this lens. This 70-300 sounds like a perfect lens for any type of photography. I am looking for up to 300 mm for nature photography. I will definitely give this lens serious consideration.

Joseph Jeram (jeramphotography) on November 24, 2010

Great review.

Whit Anthony (ncwhit) on November 24, 2010

I have an older Tamron 28-300 XR di that is my main lens for my D90. Very pleased, although I would really like to add VC.

Francine dollinger (francine) on November 23, 2010

Sounds interesting. I do not have a Tamron but this one sounds like a lens I would buy.

David Paukovich (ATCRetired) on November 23, 2010

Does the rear lens cap have a tight fit or does it rattle off like previous lenses.

Michael Busch (Yosemit e) on November 23, 2010

Nice review. I'll have to keep my eye on how well this lens is accepted.

Chris Smeds (csmeds) on November 23, 2010

Odds of winning are better than the lottery... Come on lucky lens!!! (Thanks for the review, BTW.)

Aaron Chong (porqpyne) on November 22, 2010

Thanks for the review. I have a couple of great Tamron lenses that I use, including the 28-75 f2.8 lens. Love the pics.

Madeleine Punde (flyfast70) on November 22, 2010

Thanks for the review! Now I really have to get a closer look at it! :-)

Gerry Beth Buckel (buckelup) on November 22, 2010

I have a Tamron70-270 lens and I use it for everything. It has never let me down no matter the situation. After reading your review, I am thinking I may have to invest in this new lens. I will have to add this lens to my collection.

John Turner (jrt0169) on November 22, 2010

Thanks for giving us a second alternative to lens selection. I like the price point of the Tamaron's compared to other brands. Does this lens work with AF modes of Nikon; ex. Dynamic area 51 points 3-D tracking, or Auto-area AF? Thanks again.

John Walser (jwalser) on November 22, 2010

Great review! Now there is another lens to add to my wish list.

Peter Guerrini (petergg) on November 21, 2010

I think I'll take a closer look at this!

robert posar (fotographer) on November 21, 2010

The Tamron 17-50 has been my "standard" lens for weddings for years. This lens looks like a great compliment to create a great DX combo.

Bill Shanney (wshanney) on November 21, 2010

I love my 70-300 VC USD lens. It is much sharper than my Nikkor equivalent at 300mm in the corners. It is an impressive lens for the money.

Mark Voyles (MVoyles) on November 21, 2010

I've owned several Tamron lenses and I've loved each of them. This would be a great lens to complement my other Tamron lenses.

Lynn Welles (lawelles) on November 20, 2010

I am new here, and it's information like this that I have been looking for. Thanks!

Lee Witt (spootdad) on November 20, 2010

Looks very nice. I'll have to check one out at my local store. Thanks for the review. Lee

Premachandran K (premc44) on November 20, 2010

Thank you for the review, which is not different from the many reviews about this superb lens, I am yet to see a review , which does not praise its sharpness and its superior VC, surpassing even the Nikon's VR. I hope to get one soon and can't wait to publish the photos in Nikonians gallery.

Kathy D. Waters (Waterscolor) on November 19, 2010

Sounds nice! I could use a new 70-300. The one I have is soft and I would like to replace it.

Tom Runge (Grunge) on November 19, 2010

I've used the 28-75 F2.8 and like it a lot. This review will help me decide on the next lens...many thanks.

Frank Kendralla (drFrank) on November 19, 2010

Great review - thanks for the info!

Zita Margit Kemeny (zkemeny) on November 19, 2010

Nice article

Hendric Schneider (Hendric) on November 19, 2010

Just a few days left. Leave a coment to win this great lens.

Jeffrey P Sevier (Daddyo) on November 19, 2010

Another item added to my wish list!

Gina Davison (GinaDavison) on November 19, 2010

I've been looking at replacing my Nikkor zoom with a Tamron. Your review is just the information I needed.

Leigh Spigelman (TucsonPhotographer) on November 19, 2010

Sound like a lens that must be considered if you're in the market for a 70-300 non fixed aperture lens. Nice job Tamron. Especially competitive at this price point.

John Walker (jgwalk) on November 18, 2010

Excellent review. I have a 17-50VC and am seriously giving this lens a spot in my bag.

Barry Deditch (bdeditch) on November 18, 2010

I bought one a few months ago, I took it down to the NHRA Drag Races in Las Vegas in October. I could not believe the detail of the pictures.Blowing them up 200% and it was still very sharp.I was holding the camera free hand, and you could see the tire actually Twisting as they took off. I would like to post some of the pictures, but i am not sure how to make them smaller to up load them.

Pamela Stickney (jaw_fish) on November 18, 2010

Thank you for including some of the details in your review which are difficult to find even from the manufacturers, such as what USD and VC translate to and how they perform. Selecting the correct lens for a camera is getting harder and harder to accomplish for those of us who are not professionals.

Kathleen McCortney (Kathleen M) on November 18, 2010

Thanks for the review! I have your 17-50 f2.8 on order and really need a good telephoto. Would LOVE this telephoto lens!

Jason Hedlund (prana04) on November 18, 2010

I have a Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 and really enjoy using it. I actually just tried the 70-300mm at the store today and am really considering getting one. Poor college students can't afford any lens though, no matter how good a deal.

Jim Milligan (jimmil43) on November 18, 2010

oh great just when you think its safe to venture into the camera store they come up with something I have to have

Greg Schmidt (nikond90greg) on November 18, 2010

I have a Tamrom 90mm 2.8 macro and a 18/270mm zoom.I also own several Nikon lenses. Until I purchased my 1st Tamron lens, I was very apprehensive about 3rd party lenses. I was pleasantly surprised with Tamron's quality. The Tamron 70-300 is now on my list to buy.

daniel soderstrom (orangecroll) on November 18, 2010

Thank you for the review! I have been very happy with my 17-50mm and would love to get the 70-300 Di VC USD!

Michelle Milner (milnermetal) on November 18, 2010

I have been thinking about getting the Tamron 18-270 lens but this one would be great to have too. I am still learning how to use my D5000 and loving it.

Michelle Milner (milnermetal) on November 18, 2010

I have been thinking about getting the Tamron 18-270 lens but this one would be great to have too. I am still learning how to use my D5000 and loving it.

rick pallatt (moosespop) on November 18, 2010

I worked in a camera shop in the mid 70's. The owner called Tamron the lens for cheap people. I always thought it was a solid lens. Nice to see a good review about this lens.

Colleen Lowe (colleen7) on November 18, 2010

Thanks for the great review. Cannot wait to get out and try this new lens!

Huey Fourquet (latino4decker) on November 18, 2010

Good review. Thanks!

Jim Schwartz (jmschwartz) on November 18, 2010

I purchased my very first Tamron lens, a 17-50 f/2.8, a few short weeks ago, and I love it. From the above review, the 70-300 sounds like it will soon become my second Tamron lens.

Dennis Iskra (excel25) on November 18, 2010

Great review. Sounds like a great alternative to the Nikon 70-300mm VR. Will have to go and test one at my local shop.I,m in need of a new lens, all I have are the kit lens.

Randall Spizman (ILuv10s) on November 18, 2010

Nice review. Love to try it.

Russ Kashow (rkashow) on November 18, 2010

I would love to see a head to head with the Nikon 70-300 for 80 dollars less does it compare? I guess that is for another day.

Robert Briganti (rlb4) on November 17, 2010

Great review. Lens looks really good. I'm hoping to add this to my limited collection for sports pics of my kids.

Dan Garrett (dlgarrett) on November 16, 2010

I have the Tamron SP AF 200 - 500 F/5-6.3 Di LD [IF] Model A08 and Tamron SP AF90mm F/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 and have been very happy with both. This lens will make a fine addition to anyones kit.

David Minkanic (Da1mink) on November 15, 2010

I'm at the slightly shaky age of 67, and anything with good Vibration Compensation is wonderful. Along with my age is limited income so I'm real careful about what gear I buy. This would be the 'good stuff'.

Jim Troxell (FFN) on November 15, 2010

Today, I tested it at my favorite camera store, Campus Camera in Kent Ohio. On a D3s it focused fast and the VC is rock steady and is clearly much better than the Nikon. The difference must be seen to comprehend how much of an improvement the 3rd dimension is over the Nikon VR. In my test, although it seems hard to believe, the sharpness seems better at 300mm than the Nikon 70-300 VR (a really sharp lens), particularly in the corners. This is hard for me to write as I am usually a Nikkor only type, but this lens is a winner.

Dick Boman (nikondcc) on November 15, 2010

This lens sounds very lonly. I offer it a warm and loveing home

Harry Sisson (Chevy Thunder) on November 15, 2010

Armando, Thanks for the review. I am very satisfied with my tamron 70-200 f2.8, (and 17-50) but have to admit the VC feature would be good to have, along with the additional 100mm. And having just checked B&H's price, it even seems reasonably priced.

Thomas Bogan (tebogan) on November 14, 2010

Armando, Thanks for the review. I know it must have been a thrill to have that glass in your hands. I love both of my Tamrons and looking to add this one to the stable, as soon as I get my hands on my 10-24. Keep up the good work..

Peter Kehagias (pkcyrus) on November 14, 2010

I'm curious if you tried this lens with any wildlife? I noticed the sample gallery is 95% stationary buildings and vehicles.

Paul Tombleson (PR108) on November 14, 2010

Thanks Armando, always helpful to read a review from someone in the group. I just purchased the Tamron 17-50 VC lens and I must say it has surprised me for it's bang for the buck. I will be checking out the 70-300mm for sure.

Michael K (Smiert Spionam) on November 13, 2010

I tried out this lens recently, and was quite impressed. The VC feature locks on exceptionally well, and my subjective impression is that it improves on the comparable Nikon in both in the stability of the view in the viewfinder and in the range of shutter speeds it will stabilize. Also, unlike the Nikon, it appears to be at its best at 300mm, which is a nice bonus. Good lens.

Chuck Tankersley (Chuck_Tankersley) on November 12, 2010

I have just begun to use the Tamron 18-270 lens with many of the same controls, and I can tell you that the VC is great! I was in Gatlinburg this past weekend, and from our Inn we could see the buildings on Mt. LeCont over 5 miles away. I took a shot at 270mm with my D300 handheld and was amazed. Even when I zoomed into the photo at 100% I was more than satisfied at the crispness of the shot. I could plainly see the buildings. Amazing stuff!

Aaron L (dasein) on November 12, 2010

Sounds like an excellent lens! I use Nikons 18-200vr lens and have wanted a 300mm focal length before. This might be a great additional lens to have!

christian coombes (chiefmasterjedi) on November 12, 2010

I've owned the Tamron 70-200mm and 28-75mm and currently own the Tamron 28-300vc. If this new lens is as good as these then I'll be getting one.

Gaylon Holmes (Holmes375) on November 12, 2010

This is a very nice review that covers the bases without becoming an exercise in pixel peeping that bears little resemblance to actual field use. The author has a nice style that will appeal to a wide audience. I especially found the information relative to Tamron's stabilisation interesting. I've used the Tamron for several weeks and have owned the Nikon counterpart since its inception. Nikon set a high bar with their 70-300 VR and Tamron has stepped up to the plate. Enthusiasts can not go wrong with either lens.

Ferdinand Siagian (bacil) on November 12, 2010

It's good to have alternative to Nikon's lenses especially in this favorite focal length. If it's sharp, has nice bokeh, and has excellent VC, I want one. It will be a great lens for portrait and travel.

Matthew Smith (maconmatt) on November 11, 2010

Thanks for the great review. Sounds like a nice lens!

Ralph Baskin (rbaskin) on November 11, 2010

Great review. Sounds like a great alternative to the Nikon 70-300mm VR. A head to head comparison would be of great interest.

mark dodd (click74) on November 11, 2010

tamron have come along way with lenses i think i will now look to tamron when choosing future glass! i never win anything but i hope there is a chance! cheers mark

Sam Pred (shredder36) on November 11, 2010

I hope I win!

linda handel (amalalin) on November 11, 2010

If I win this lens I am going to give it to my son in law who is an avid hiker in Washington State. He has taken fabulous pictures of mountain goats and bear in the wild. I would feel more secure for his safety if he has this lens for those more predatory experiences! thank you.

William Ko (Eye Doc) on November 11, 2010

Looks like it may be a better value than my Nikon 70-300 mm VR

Robert Armstrong (Diogynes) on November 11, 2010

Looks like a nice lens to add to my wish list.

KENNETH JACKSON (f5titan) on November 11, 2010

Actually, this Tamron is a little faster than my 70-300 4.5-5.6 VR lens right there at the short (portrait) focal lengths!

Randall Finley (daneeka) on November 10, 2010

Sounds like this lens may be an option for my whale-watching shooting. :)

Jeff Bernas (Snapshott) on November 10, 2010

This sounds like a very promicing lens. If I was in the market and didn't already have a Nikon 70-300mm VR I would purchase this lens. I hope Tamron doesn't take too long to incorporate VC and USD into their 70-200 f2.8 lens.

Don Morrison (Bulgakov) on November 10, 2010

This sound like a great lens and one that I would use a lot. Great reviews

Joe Miller (fotojoe) on November 10, 2010

I like the longer reach than my 70-200 2.8 Tamron. Would be a good option for daytime sports.

Douglas W Wittrock (Dougw) on November 10, 2010

Makes me wish I had waited a bit longer, instead of buying the Nikon 70-300. USD/(AFS) is absent on that lens, though it does focus nicely and is relatively sharp. Would love to see some photo comparisons. The weight of this lens is great for traveling compared to the 70-200.

Denny Jodeit (redvoodoo378) on November 10, 2010

Thanks for the review. This lens is definitely on my wish list.

George Warren (bassman1946) on November 10, 2010

Looks like a great lens. Shapes up to be a good choice for a walk around lens.

Korbin Berg (korbin) on November 10, 2010

Very nice. Looks like I have something to add to my Christmas wish list! :)

Tina Schell (trschell) on November 10, 2010

I've been spoiled by Nikon's 70-200 lens but the price point, extra reach and lighter weight of this lens makes it a very nice alternative. Excellent review!

Mark Routliffe (Chooch88) on November 10, 2010

Nice review. As a Nikon site I would have liked a comment comparing it specifically to the Nikon counterpart.

Christopher Ranney (CapeCodDiver) on November 10, 2010

Thanks for the great review. Will cecommend this lens to my brother. He is looking for an econimical birding lens

Brian Offermann (Winterfell) on November 10, 2010

Nice Review. I've heard good things about Tamrons implementation of image stabilization. The Nikon version deserves it' great reputation... it's size makes it especially great for hiking, but isn't amazing at 300mm. Very interested in seeing how this new competitor compares.

Linda Schaible (shibes) on November 10, 2010

I usually only buy Nikon lenses - primarily out of fear of the unknown. The review (from a very credible source) does make me feel better about a non-Nikon lens purchase. Ok, and the price point helps!

Suzette da Cruz (furry1) on November 9, 2010

Thanks for this info! I'm going on my first ever workshop in the spring and have been lookingt this lens to take with me. Maybe someone will leave it in my Christmas stocking! ;}

Bill Currier (bcurrier) on November 9, 2010

I own the Tamron 90mm Macro and the 10-24 wide angle and love them both. Thanks for the review. I will definitely give the 70-300mm a serious look!

Bill Currier (bcurrier) on November 9, 2010

I own the Tamron 90mm Macro and the 10-24 wide angle and love them both. Thanks for the review. I will definitely give the 70-300mm a serious look!

Bill Currier (bcurrier) on November 9, 2010

I own the Tamron 90mm Macro and the 10-24 wide angle and love them both. Thanks for the review. I will definitely give the 70-300mm a serious look!

william hawkins (wh2005) on November 9, 2010

I'm going to be add this lens to my wishlist. Sounds like a great alternative to the Nikon.

John Ellis (JohnE Nikon) on November 9, 2010

Did the sharpness stand up at the edges of the FX D2H?

Michael Lord (lordfam) on November 9, 2010

The Nikon 70-300 VR has been on my wish list for a while. This sounds like a very capable alternative, worthy of serious consideration.

Michael Lord (lordfam) on November 9, 2010

The Nikon 70-300 VR has been on my wish list for a while. This sounds like a very capable alternative, worthy of serious consideration.

Bob Burns (burns157) on November 9, 2010

Nice comprehensive review. Definitely worth looking into.

Kim (kb_photo) on November 9, 2010

Sounds like a good lens. I am considering my options on my next lens and this is very helpful. Thanks!

Darin Reed (Makada97) on November 9, 2010

Sounds like a winner. I've been looking for long telephoto to travel with. My 70-200 Nikon is great but is big and heavy. This Tamron might be just the ticket.

Darin Reed (Makada97) on November 9, 2010

Sounds like a winner. I've been looking for long telephoto to travel with. My 70-200 Nikon is great but is big and heavy. This Tamron might be just the ticket.

Gary Poole (gpoole) on November 9, 2010

Armando, great review. I'd be very interested in a comparison with the Nikon 70-300/4.5-5.6 VR. I like the no thinking VC and the slightly wider max aperture compared to the Nikon.

Steve Kitsap (beNatural) on November 9, 2010

If this lens is of the same quality as their amazing 90mm macro lens, then it is certainly a winner! Would love to try it!

James Knighten (emi_fiend) on November 9, 2010

Excellent review! I particularly appreciated the paragraphs explaining VC (vs Nikon VR). I am already an owner of the Nikon 70-300VR. If I weren't, I'd give this lens serious consideration.

Michael Rominger Jr (Quickone4u) on November 8, 2010

Armando, thanks for the review! I have been considering the Nikon 70-300mm VR but, your review has swayed my view in favor of the Tamron. At that price and the quality you describe,it sounds great. I would like to hear/see how image quality compares to the Nikon.

Patrick Gibbs (PGibbs) on November 8, 2010

I'm impressed by the quality, bang for the buck and what the capability it could give a photographer in a nature photography situation at dawn or dusk.

Tony John (avjohn) on November 8, 2010

Great Review. This is a lens I'm going to have consider.

Tony John (avjohn) on November 8, 2010

Great Review. This is a lens I'm going to have consider.

Matthew Ogorzalek (Matto) on November 8, 2010

Sounds like this lens is a good alternative to the Nikon 70-300mm VR! The one thing not mentioned in the review is if the effective focal length changes at close focusing distances.

Back to top