nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

Select your language:

Accessories Reviews

Review EPSON Stylus Photo R3000

Thomas Berg (twberg) on January 12, 2011


Keywords: epson, stylus, photo, r3000, review, printer, paper, non_nikon, product, articles

Sometimes, being a fellow Nikonian has sparkling advantages.

I had the pleasure of attending an official hands-on presentation of the brand new Epson Stylus Photo R3000 printer and it is a pleasure to share my impressions with you.

"Ah, yet another printer, move on, move on," you might think. But, allow me to mention that this device has indeed impressed me by demonstrating two vital points: 1) Epson listens to customers and is willing to act accordingly 2) Epson is able to further improve the achievable print quality

Lens 60mm
Epson Stylus Photo R3000

The new SP-R3000 printer utilizes the same excellent UltraChrome K3 Vivid Magenta pigmented ink system already known from the R2880 and R3880 printers. In fact, the R3000 forms a new member of that family. This ensures an output quality that will be at least as good as everybody expects it to be. A droplet size reduction from 3 picolitres to 2 pl along with print algorithm refinements yields improved tonal transitions and even a slight expansion of the printer gamut, squeezing the last bit of quality out of the ink formulation.

Although this is good news in itself, it won't rock anybody who is familiar with the already famous Epson print quality. Neither will the substantial increase of ink cartridge capacity, now almost 26 ml. That is certainly a valuable improvement but not a killer feature in my opinion.

The real revolution resides under the front lid: Epson incorporated a media feeder which I consider fool-proof and which is such a joy to use that this alone justifies a purchase. Believe me, you won't ever experience a misaligned print or paper feed issue with this device. All the awkward handling hiccups of the family members are overcome. The paper alignment and transport are so precise that it is indeed no problem to print borderless without any artificial oversizing engaged. Just crop the image to meet the exact sheet dimensions and print borderless without any worries of paper white strips along the edges. This is good proof of the engineering efforts and manufacturing quality that constitutes the SP-R3000 printer.


 

Many customers were not overly happy with the need to exchange photo black and matte black cartridges on the R2880 device, the "elder brother". Epson revamped the cartridge system, inspired by the R3880 solution and incorporated an automatic switching of black inks depending on the paper media that the operator selects in the printer driver.

Since the cartridges are now "externalized" and feed the print head via tubes, the switchover involves tube purging which, inevitably, spills roundabout 1 millilitre of black ink. The switching procedure is cleverly sequenced such that the tube purge is actually executed only before the print starts.This means, you can change and revise your media settings in the driver as many times as you wish. The tube purge becomes effective only if necessary and ultimately before the print job starts.

From what I have seen, the new R3000 printer inherited winner genes and might cause the R28880 a hard time. Frankly speaking, the SP-R3000 features everything one may wish from an A3+ size printer. Be it WiFi/cable network integration, adequate cartridge capacity, effortless paper feed, profile support for lots of fine art media in top quality, local operation aided by colour display and wizards. It is a serious quality tool in every respect and performs with a lot of customer orientation in mind.

I am curious what else Epson has in the pipeline. The SP-4900 LFP ? the SP-R3000 - ? My glass bowl is opaque but I am convinced they will not stop at this point.

r3000
Epson Stylus Photo R3000

 

(0 Votes)
Thomas Berg Thomas Berg (twberg)

Porz, Germany
Normal, 1 post

14 comments

David Benyukhis (davidben33) on July 18, 2013

I work with Epson 2200. Earlier, printing in ICM was good, but now at PhotoShop CS6 with color control it get worse.

David Benyukhis (davidben33) on July 18, 2013

I work with Epson 2200. Earlier, printing in ICM was good, but now at PhotoShop CS6 with color control it get worse.

Rudy Van Acker (6x7) on June 9, 2011

It's a marvel, I bought it yesterday and have done 20 prints now after the testprints. Color, B&W, toned, you name it, everything I print is top! I downloaded the ICC profile from Ilford for my Gold Fiber Silk paper and after 5 testprints with different settings I am very exited with the result. This is my second Epson printer and I will stay with them!

Eddie Hardman (MrEdd) on February 10, 2011

Being an owner of both the R1800 and the R2880 I often make comparison prints and to be honest the R2880 wins hands down. I used to own the R2100 too but it died. Depending on the price of this new one and cost of it's inks I may consider. Problem is I am rapidly running out of space to have 3 large printers; not including the R285 everyday use printer. Plus a Brother all-in-one for scanning. I need room but have to decide which to get rid of. Edd

keith smith (kdsmithjr) on February 5, 2011

I owned a 2400 and i left an r2880 at my home when i moved to the philipines to retire. I want one of these new r3000's, but I think they are pretty much unavailable here...unless you live close to manila (i don't). anyone that knows a good source for one of these new printers...and the inks. I would love to know.

Chris Ham (chrisham) on January 26, 2011

What about the waste ink pads? I hsve a R1400 that's just stopped working with 2 red lights flashing and message stating some parts have reached the end of their life and the machine needs servicing. I only purchased m/c in June last year and looking at paying another £100+ to service . There's nothing in the manual that offers any assistance, after a lot of Googling I find the ink pads are full and i can buy work around for £10 plus another £5 to download patch to reset the waste ink counter. Download is only PC compatible so anyone with Mac has to purchase cheap PC to fix. What does the manual for this m/c have to say about the waste ink pads and what's the factory setting for the waste ink counter? I was told on the R1400 it was some 1300 head cleans but there's no way i've done that many since June 2010.

Bill Russo (wjr47) on January 26, 2011

I will be in the market later this year, after we move. I definitely am interested in this printer. Was very tempted by the great prices on the 3880, but have to wait until I have relocated. Glad to see the changes they made to the ink.

David Ziff (davidziff2) on January 23, 2011

Nice printer but priced at $849 at B&H it's for pro's. Will that price appeal to rank and file Nikonians? I haven't seen the ink prices yet.

Rick Spehn (PSAGuy) on January 19, 2011

As an R2880 owner for the last year and a half (and sports photo business owner) I print LOTS of 5 x7 shots on my 2880 (The favorite size for all the sports moms out there). The 2880 produces wonderful output and very reliably.....BUT the ink makes me crazy !! I am constantly running clear across town for more. Nobody locally stocks it and it's a 20 mile drive for me to get it. The ink is constantly running low....shutting me down. I am very seriously thinking of selling my 2880 for a bargain price to someone, and replacing it with this model. The little cartridges are the goofiest thing ever.

Kristofor Jensen (kkjensen) on January 19, 2011

I've been looking for a good printer for a while (after being turned off of DIY home printing years ago by a REALLY bad choice) and this looks like it meets the criteria I've been waiting for. Why are there no printers in the nikonians proshop? ;D

David C Russell (Bull Camera) on January 18, 2011

I think it is time to replace my R800. Sounds like the R2880 complaints have been heard.

Andrew MILLER (RAJMiller) on January 17, 2011

I'm due to replace my R1800 shortly and am looking forward to a full review of this printer as well - Nice to find Epson listening - I've been using their printers for years.

Chris Poole (CPP) on January 17, 2011

Very Interesting and since I'm looking at printers, I will wait now on a full review of this device.

Alan Dooley (ajdooley) on January 17, 2011

I recently bought the Epson R1900 and am delighted with its output. I fully agree -- Epson seems to listen to those of us who spend our money on their products and to support us in their use. This new printer seems to be a result of that process and foretells more of the same for the future. HP could take a lesson here.

Back to top