nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

Select your language:

Software Reviews

OnOne Plug-In Suite 5 Review

Ernesto Santos (esantos) on March 13, 2010


Keywords: onone, photoshop, plugin, ononesoftware, software

previous page Page 1/8 show all pages

plugin-suite-5-300
Products:

  • Genuine Fractals 6 – Resizing tool
  • MaskPro 4 – Masking tool to remove unwanted backgrounds
  • PhotoTune 3 – Color correction tool
  • FocalPoint 2 – Selective focus tool
  • PhotoTools 2.5 – Professional retouching tool
  • PhotoFrame 4.5 – Digital custom framing tool

 System Requirements:

 

Apple Mac OS X

Microsoft Windows

Operating System

Mac OS X 10.5 or 10.6

Windows XP, Vista, or 7

Processor

PowerPC or Intel

Pentium 4 w/SSE3 support or equiv.

Memory

2 GB RAM – 3GB HD space

2 GB RAM – 3GB HD space

Display

OpenGL 2.0 capable video card w/ 128MB VRAM  - minimum resolution 1024x768

OpenGL 2.0 capable video card w/ 128MB VRAM  - minimum resolution 1024x768

Required Host Application

Adobe Photoshop CS2, CS3, or CS4

Adobe Photoshop CS2, CS3, or CS4

Optional Host Applications

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 2

Apple Aperture 2.1

(requires Photoshop for either)

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 2

(requires Photoshop)

On One Software has a tag line for their newest plug-in suite for Photoshop. “Solve the Six Most Common Problems in Photoshop”, it says. Hmmm, are there really only six common problems that we, as daring digital photographers, encounter in our favorite editing program Photoshop? I'll always remember how overwhelmed I felt when I first encountered the enormous learning curve facing me dead in the eye that first time I double-clicked the Photoshop icon sitting on my Windows desktop. Back then there were not just six problems for me, there were, it seemed, hundreds. Where would I begin? There were so many panels and tools, menu choices, adjustment sliders, and that HUGE, empty workspace in the middle of it all. It was as big as the Delphic Expanse from the Star Trek series, or so it seemed.

ADVERTISEMENT

Well, as I started testing this suite of plug-ins I came to realize that there really are six common issues the photographer will encounter eventually. You may not need to apply these tools to every one of your images but over the course of processing even possibly one series of photos I would bet that you will need to address the issues these plug-ins are designed to correct. So let’s get started and see what they do independently and together as a holistic approach to a solid post processing workflow.

 

(0 Votes)
previous page Page 1/8 show all pages
Ernesto Santos Ernesto Santos (esantos)

McAllen, USA
Moderator, 11376 posts

12 comments

Daniel DiBernardo (DanielJDLM) on January 26, 2013

I just joined Nikonians, so this is probably a bit late. I can concur with Ernesto abour OnOne Software...I am using Perfect Effects 6.0...yes, I know Suite 7 is now out, but I have not upgraded. This package of effects is easy to work with and allows multiple ajustments. I hightly recommend this product to all.

Charles Carstensen (chuckcars) on December 29, 2010

Since Ernesto's review was written, On One has released the late upgrade named Perfect Photo Suite 5.5. Genuine Fractals has been renamed Perfect Resize 7 Professional. The PhotoFrame is now ver. 4.6 Professional Edition. It is all 64 bit compatible. I find myself using photoframes more than ever. Am becoming more of a fan of On One Software very quickly. Ernesto, now you must continue with a fresh review due to the fact this one is so well done. (smiling)

Beth Russell (Wileycoyote1) on October 10, 2010

A late to the party technical thought one that is the likely explanation to your crashing problem Ernesto. I beta tested PSCS5 and use onOne Plug-in suite 5.1 extensively. If you have software on your machine that uses Microsoft C++ libraries extensively, it almost certain, Plug-in Suite will bang heads with it. If you check your installed software and find any presence of MS C++ your problem lies there. Email onOne tech-support, They don't do phones but will respond.

Edward Overstreet (emphoto) on July 23, 2010

Question for you Ernest, did you use CS5, 32 bit? I had no complaints until CS 5. The program has been very unstable with our computers. More often than not, after making adjustments.....I click APPLY and nothing happens.....or PS crashes. Getting help is not easy either. Presently, I am not using OnOne although installed, I figure, as in the past, they will make the needed changes and send out a new release. Methinks they hurried this latest edition to market and got caught with their pants down. Also, regarding Genuine Fractals, I seem to get better prints when I "res up" in Image |Print. All versions of CS do a poor job of "res-ing up, IMHO. GF is not a whole lot better but it is better. BTW, we use the OnOne suite on three different MACs ... and the problems occur on all three computers. I also prefer the older interface. I do not like another dialog box cluttering an already busy monitor. I preferred using the Filter menu to access the suites' choices. If you use a Wacom Intuos tablet.....put the pen down and grab the mouse as making your selections with the pen is a challenge. Mask Pro is a tough program to use....the newest version of CS5 has beat it with their "Refine Edge" tool. Changing backgrounds is a snap compared to former versions of CS as well as OnOne. Extremely slow when it does work! I am sure they are working on it and a new more accommodating suite will be relassed. For now, I am dissappointed! To be sure, I need to take better images out of the camera and bypass CS and all the plugins, period.

Linda Scarbrough (Palmilla) on June 30, 2010

I purchased OnOne Plug-In Suite 5 at Photoshop world in Orlando a few months back. I have no Photoshop experience but started using this produce and immediately people were impressed with my photos... I still have lots to learn to learn in both Photoshop and OnOne, but even after reading your review Ernesto, it has helped me look in other areas of OnOne to cleanup some pretty rough beginner photos. Good Job in your review.

Steve Bilden (erpsab) on June 13, 2010

How does this compare with the Nik software package for Photoshop? Are they similar or different and in what ways?

Dan Goebel (notes386) on May 21, 2010

I am silver, do you need to be gold/platinum to get the 200 & 59.85 off for OnOne? Interested in getting it for new MacBook Pro with Aperture 3.

Ernesto Santos (esantos) on March 22, 2010

Thank you all for the kind comments. I am glad that this review has proven to be informative.

norm lenczycki (nobelija) on March 21, 2010

Very nice job Ernesto, I have a copy of this coming from Onone on Monday. I also want to thank Nikonians for there discount. I received an email from Onone with 200.00 off the price of 599.00 with the final price of 399.00. Well I added nikonians to the discount coupon and received another 59.85 off, thats better than the next 2 years of Nikonians for free. Can't beat that with the biggest stick I can find. Thank you for a great review. Norm

Michael Spanel (output555) on March 19, 2010

Excellent summary and review, Ernesto. I've been a fan in OnOne's software for years and their newest version of Plug-In Suite is their best. In my opinion it's as essential as Photoshop for processing an image.

Guy Perkins (gaperklake) on March 17, 2010

Thank you, Ernesto. You do very, very good work. Your analysis and approach has given me the best and clearest ideas about these products. (I have Genuine Fractals, and will probably buy Focus Point now.)

J. Ramon Palacios (jrp) on March 17, 2010

Well done, Ernesto Succinct, concise and to the point, your review clearly shows what you can expect from these plug-ins and how easy it is to use them. Thank you.

Back to top