nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

Select your language:

Software Reviews

Capture One Pro 7 Review

Martin Turner (Martin Turner) on January 28, 2013


Keywords: capture, phase, software, postprocessing

In some ways this is the single biggest advance in the new version, and in other ways it isn't an advance at all. It's an advance because Capture One was previously very weak in the area of digital assets management, choosing to focus solely on raw developing. Faced with the growing challenge from, among others, Adobe Lightroom, Phase One's acquisition of Media Pro was a smart move — we had done a head to head shoot out of six digital assets management systems a few years before, and Media Pro was the clear winner. From my point of view, the combination of Phase One's rejig of Media Pro and Capture One Pro 6 made for the best possible combination of a lightning fast digital assets management system and an intuitive raw developer that was tailored to professional use.

Bringing the Media Pro features into Capture One means that you can save some cash by not acquiring both systems, and it also means that you can quickly catalogue a shoot and then work on it in Capture One without moving from application to application.

On an older machine (2008 Mac Book Pro) we were able to run Media Pro without any issues of lag at all. On the same machine, we found that a large catalogue of over 50,000 images did not convert properly (after two hours trying). Using small catalogues on a 2013 Mac Book Pro we found that the digital assets management features in Capture One Pro 7 zipped along without difficulty.


Whether you use the new cataloguing features is up to you — Capture One has a Session mode and a Catalogue mode, and you can happily stick with the older Session mode if you prefer. If you want the cataloguing, though, then you can use Capture One in this way, and you have all the functionality of Media Pro without having to buy additional software.

If you're moving across from Lightroom, this may be a deal clincher — Lightroom's principal advantage of Capture One was that it did all of the databasing functions as well as raw development. Now Capture One does it too.

 

(3 Votes)
Page 2/7 show all pages
Martin Turner Martin Turner (Martin Turner)

Expert professional PJ & PR photographer

Bidford on Avon, United Kingdom
Moderator, 4613 posts

8 comments

Damian Vines (damianvines) on June 28, 2013

Expert professional PJ & PR photographer

Can anyone verify whether or not live view works with the Nikon D700 and Capture One Pro 7?

Martin Turner (Martin Turner) on March 2, 2013

That's surprising Ian. I use the Mac version of Capture One which supports Live View fine on the Nikon D3, though, oddly, you have to come out of Live View to actually make the capture, unless you have an iPhone or iPad also connected via WiFi in which case you can implement the capture while Live View is running. Capture One Pro 6 only supported Live View for Phase One, Leaf and Mamma on Mac, but Capture One Pro 7 definitely supports Live View. Worth checking that your machine is opening version 7 and not for some reason opening an older install of version 6. One thing I did discover though was that you have to have the latest firmware on the D3 for it to work reliably. This is what the Capture One website says: "Capture One Pro 7 now offers Live View for selected DSLRs. The Live View feature can help speed up image composition, lighting, and focusing adjustments. This function makes it possible to easily view an image on a computer screen in real-time. Previously this feature was available for MF cameras only, but now Live View is also available for supported 35mm DSLRs." In practice not all Nikon models are supported, and also note that you have to disable the Canon drivers to have Nikon support. The text you linked to seems to be a fossil from the Capture One Pro 6 specifications which hasn't been updated, even though it says Capture One Pro 7 at the top of the page.

Ian Thoms (tuss234) on February 28, 2013

Expert professional PJ & PR photographer

Thanks for the review I enjoyed reading it. I have this software on my pc and their website states "Live View is only supported with Phase One, Leaf and Mamiya (M and DM)" http://www.phaseone.com/Search/Article.aspx?articleid=2067&languageid=1 . Live View function only reviews the shot on your pc after it's been taken not as in "Live View" on the rear screen on the camera, a bit frustrating if it's been bought for that purpose. Regards Ian

Martin Turner (Martin Turner) on February 16, 2013

Thanks for pointing this out, Peter. I've had another look at Capture Pilot and what it actually does. I agree that you can now use a web browser to view and rate captured images. What you can't do is actually control the camera settings and trigger the shot. This only works in the the iPad and iPhone versions of Capture Pilot. This is quite important because, for some reason, you can't actually fire the camera while in Live View mode from Capture One itself — but you can fire it from iPad or iPhone Capture Pilot while Live View is running on Capture One. So, while some of the functionality is available for non-iOS devices, there is still quite a step change between what you can do on the web-browser and on the dedicated apps. Perhaps Phase One will release an Android version at some point.

Peter Harris (pshnikchch) on January 30, 2013

Expert professional PJ & PR photographer

Thanks for the review. It is a very good introduction. Regarding your references to using Capture Pilot on iPads and iPhones: Actually in Capture One 7 you can now instantly view and rate captured images on any device connected to the network that runs a web browser. Therefore to Phase One's credit they have become less Apple centric. I have used that function on Android based devices (smartphone and tablets) and PCs running Windows. Maybe you would consider revising the related text. Regards Peter

Colin Green (Seajay) on January 30, 2013

Very nice review, Martin. Capture One Pro 7 is nothing less than awesome imo.

Richard Luse (DaddySS) on January 29, 2013

Excellent review, thanks for taking the time to present this.

J. Ramon Palacios (jrp) on January 29, 2013

Donor Ribbon awarded for his generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014

Remarkable product and excellent review. Thank you.

Back to top