nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

Select your language:

Software Reviews

Capture One Pro 7 Review

Martin Turner (Martin Turner) on January 28, 2013


Keywords: capture, phase, software

Exposure Pane

PastedGraphic-10

In the Exposure pane, the Highlight and Shadow controls for High Dynamic Range have been souped up, meaning that Capture One can now take you into the unreal territory of HDR-look images, if that's where you want to go. Because it's working from 14 or 16 bit RAW files there is generally enough play here to do almost anything you want. However, you may be better off using layers with gradient masks, as the HDR controls affect the entire image. Additionally, there are now clarity and vignetting controls available.

Lens Correction Pane
PastedGraphic-11

The lens correction pane now offers specific lens profiles. There are only 19 in the Nikon stable right now, but they include most of the lenses I own, including the 85 f1.8 (as well as the f1.4) which DxO has stubbornly refused to acknowledge.
If the HDR controls are not enough for you, you can create an LCC profile from the image and then partially enable it. This is quite a useful trick as it gives enormous amounts of contrast control. One of the programmers demonstrated this to me with version 6, and I've used it a few times since. The improved HDR controls and the gradient masks make this largely redundant, but it's a good feature.
If you have a lens with movements, then you can control this in the movements section.

 

(3 Votes)
Page 4/7 show all pages
Martin Turner Martin Turner (Martin Turner)

Bidford on Avon, United Kingdom
Moderator, 4520 posts

8 comments

Damian Vines (damianvines) on June 28, 2013

Can anyone verify whether or not live view works with the Nikon D700 and Capture One Pro 7?

Martin Turner (Martin Turner) on March 2, 2013

That's surprising Ian. I use the Mac version of Capture One which supports Live View fine on the Nikon D3, though, oddly, you have to come out of Live View to actually make the capture, unless you have an iPhone or iPad also connected via WiFi in which case you can implement the capture while Live View is running. Capture One Pro 6 only supported Live View for Phase One, Leaf and Mamma on Mac, but Capture One Pro 7 definitely supports Live View. Worth checking that your machine is opening version 7 and not for some reason opening an older install of version 6. One thing I did discover though was that you have to have the latest firmware on the D3 for it to work reliably. This is what the Capture One website says: "Capture One Pro 7 now offers Live View for selected DSLRs. The Live View feature can help speed up image composition, lighting, and focusing adjustments. This function makes it possible to easily view an image on a computer screen in real-time. Previously this feature was available for MF cameras only, but now Live View is also available for supported 35mm DSLRs." In practice not all Nikon models are supported, and also note that you have to disable the Canon drivers to have Nikon support. The text you linked to seems to be a fossil from the Capture One Pro 6 specifications which hasn't been updated, even though it says Capture One Pro 7 at the top of the page.

Ian Thoms (tuss234) on February 28, 2013

Thanks for the review I enjoyed reading it. I have this software on my pc and their website states "Live View is only supported with Phase One, Leaf and Mamiya (M and DM)" http://www.phaseone.com/Search/Article.aspx?articleid=2067&languageid=1 . Live View function only reviews the shot on your pc after it's been taken not as in "Live View" on the rear screen on the camera, a bit frustrating if it's been bought for that purpose. Regards Ian

Martin Turner (Martin Turner) on February 16, 2013

Thanks for pointing this out, Peter. I've had another look at Capture Pilot and what it actually does. I agree that you can now use a web browser to view and rate captured images. What you can't do is actually control the camera settings and trigger the shot. This only works in the the iPad and iPhone versions of Capture Pilot. This is quite important because, for some reason, you can't actually fire the camera while in Live View mode from Capture One itself — but you can fire it from iPad or iPhone Capture Pilot while Live View is running on Capture One. So, while some of the functionality is available for non-iOS devices, there is still quite a step change between what you can do on the web-browser and on the dedicated apps. Perhaps Phase One will release an Android version at some point.

Peter Harris (pshnikchch) on January 30, 2013

Thanks for the review. It is a very good introduction. Regarding your references to using Capture Pilot on iPads and iPhones: Actually in Capture One 7 you can now instantly view and rate captured images on any device connected to the network that runs a web browser. Therefore to Phase One's credit they have become less Apple centric. I have used that function on Android based devices (smartphone and tablets) and PCs running Windows. Maybe you would consider revising the related text. Regards Peter

Colin Green (Seajay) on January 30, 2013

Very nice review, Martin. Capture One Pro 7 is nothing less than awesome imo.

Richard Luse (DaddySS) on January 29, 2013

Excellent review, thanks for taking the time to present this.

J. Ramon Palacios (jrp) on January 29, 2013

Remarkable product and excellent review. Thank you.

Back to top