#1. "RE: Will I loss U settings?" In response to Reply # 0
You won't lose the U settings -- they have nothing to do with the card.
However, if you save some settings to a card using the "Save/Load Settings" item, which is a bit further down from the "Save User Settings" (which saves to U1/U2), then formatting the card will erase those.
I'm not sure how useful the "Save/Load Settings" is because they are erased on format, and because you can only save one set per card since the name is fixed. Maybe I will find a use over time.
Actually I found ONE use for the Save/Load -- I wanted to get my U1 settings loaded into my normal non Ux selections, so I saved then moved the setting to "P" and did load.
#2. "RE: Will I loss U settings?" In response to Reply # 1
Saving the settings (U settings or the custom bank settings on other Nikons) to the card can be handy if you do it at the beginning of a shooting session, go through the session making changes to your settings, then reload the settings when you are done to restore them to what they were before shooting. (and before you transfer the files to your computer and reformat the card!)
This was a tip from a Nikonians workshop with Winston Hall, which I repeatedly forget to do!
#4. "RE: Will I loss U settings?" In response to Reply # 2
Austin, TX, US
>Saving the settings (U settings or the custom bank settings >on other Nikons) to the card can be handy if you do it at the >beginning of a shooting session, go through the session making >changes to your settings, then reload the settings when you >are done to restore them to what they were before shooting. >(and before you transfer the files to your computer and >reformat the card!)
Perhaps the behavior has changed with the D7100, but I have found that U1 and U2 settings are semi-permanent - if I change any settings while in U1, then switch to S,A,P,M, or U2, then when I return to U1 my initial settings are automatically restored. In order to make any changes to U1 or U2 permanent, I have to manually save the current settings through the menus.
#5. "RE: Will I loss U settings?" In response to Reply # 4
U1 and U2 are really something that gets loaded when you switch TO it. Once you have switched TO it, you are free to change anything you want.
The only way that can work is to load the settings each time you switch to it, otherwise it does not work. Consider what it would mean if you could switch away from it and then back to it and retain what you had modified it to -- you would no longer have a stable, known thing to return to -- it would be dynamic based on some change you made last time.
When I first started using these (D7100 is new Dec25), I thought there were better ways of doing it. But as I thought more and more I finally had to concede that none of my "better ideas" would work.
You can of course go into U1 (or U2), make a few changes and then save to U1/U2 -- now you have a changed set. The only thing you cannot change once the initial save is done, is the P/S/A/M setting -- because if you select P/S/A/M, you lose all the settings you got from selecting U1/U2 to start with.
What you CAN do, is select Ux, save to the SD-Card, move to P/S/A/M and load from the SD-Card -- the you SHOULD have the Ux settings with the P/S/A/M changed, and you can now save to Ux. I have not done a black-box test of that yet, but seems reasonable.