Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D7100, D7000 (Public) topic #24623
View in linear mode

Subject: "Am I a Wimp to Use Other Modes Besides Manual?" Previous topic | Next topic
Octobercrow1 Registered since 10th Dec 2012Mon 25-Feb-13 04:39 PM
10 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Am I a Wimp to Use Other Modes Besides Manual?"

US

I am relatively new to Nikon and have the D7000. A pro photographer friend of mine has been trying to convince me of the value of always shooting in manual mode. I have been concentrating on shooting this way, and I am learning a lot, so I am grateful for the challenge posed.

But now I feel like I'm wimping out when I contemplate using any of the other modes. Part of the reason I want to revert is that I haven't mastered shooting in manual (far from it--I'm a slow learner)and sometimes I'd rather rely on my camera's brain instead of my own.

My questions: Am I being wimpy to use the other modes and to not focus completely on shooting manual? Secondly, is manual mode something all good photographers master, or is each shot an exercise in experimentation as to what setting work best?

Robin M.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Am I a Wimp to Use Other Modes Besides Manual?
avm247 Moderator
25th Feb 2013
torwood Silver Member
25th Feb 2013
harken
01st Mar 2013
Ray B Gold Member
25th Feb 2013
torwood Silver Member
25th Feb 2013
Ray B Gold Member
25th Feb 2013
Gamecocks Silver Member
25th Feb 2013
avm247 Moderator
25th Feb 2013
Omaha
25th Feb 2013
JosephK Silver Member