Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D5300/D5200/D5100/D5000/D3300/D3200/D3100/D3000 (Public) topic #8604
View in linear mode

Subject: "Two lenses versus one" Previous topic | Next topic
BeginnerLC Registered since 26th Aug 2013Mon 26-Aug-13 05:11 PM
12 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Two lenses versus one"

US

Hello,

Total newbie at DSLR and photography, and considering buying a D5200.

There are many different kits out there, and I’m trying to find the best deal possible with the most useful/powerful equipment. I see that I need to choose between having two lenses (18-55mm G VR DX AF-S Zoom Lens with 55-300mm VR Lens) versus a single, more versatile, lens (18-300mm VR Zoom Lens). The latter is more expensive, probably because it is more practical–you don’t have to change lenses as often– but are there differences in quality between the lenses I mentioned?

I gather that lens choices depend on what you intend to shoot. As a beginner, I will try exploring all types of photography (portraits, nature shots, artsy photos…) from close-ups to landscapes.

Thanks!

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Two lenses versus one
rogermorris Silver Member
26th Aug 2013
BeginnerLC
26th Aug 2013
BeginnerLC
26th Aug 2013
rogermorris Silver Member
26th Aug 2013
BeginnerLC
26th Aug 2013
MEMcD Moderator
26th Aug 2013
BeginnerLC
26th Aug 2013
BeginnerLC
26th Aug 2013
MEMcD Moderator
27th Aug 2013
BeginnerLC
27th Aug 2013
grnzbra
28th Aug 2013
BeginnerLC
28th Aug 2013
jcsocalphoto
28th Aug 2013
BeginnerLC
28th Aug 2013