nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

| |

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries News Workshops Shop Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising
Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Print Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR NIKON CAMERA Nikon D5000/D3000 series (Public) topic #8264
View in linear mode

Subject: "Shutter Count on d3200?" Previous topic | Next topic
buffumjr   US  Registered since 05th Jun 2013 Sun 09-Jun-13 09:19 PM
235 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Shutter Count on d3200?"



I went through the pdf file, using their search engine, and could not find shutter count. Everyone mentions it. How do I find it on a d3100 or a d3200?

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Shutter Count on d3200? Leonard62 Gold Member Awarded for excellent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community, especially of Nikkor Lenses Writer Ribbon awarded for his contributions to the Nikonians Resources articles library
09th Jun 2013
1
Reply message RE: Shutter Count on d3200? buffumjr
09th Jun 2013
2
     Reply message RE: Shutter Count on d3200? Leonard62 Gold Member Awarded for excellent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community, especially of Nikkor Lenses Writer Ribbon awarded for his contributions to the Nikonians Resources articles library
09th Jun 2013
4
          Reply message RE: Shutter Count on d3200? buffumjr
09th Jun 2013
5
               Reply message RE: Shutter Count on d3200? Leonard62 Gold Member Awarded for excellent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community, especially of Nikkor Lenses Writer Ribbon awarded for his contributions to the Nikonians Resources articles library
09th Jun 2013
6
                    Reply message RE: Shutter Count on d3200? buffumjr
09th Jun 2013
7
Reply message RE: Shutter Count on d3200? blw Moderator Awarded for his high level of expertise in various areas
09th Jun 2013
3

Leonard62 Gold Member Awarded for excellent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community, especially of Nikkor Lenses Writer Ribbon awarded for his contributions to the Nikonians Resources articles library   Hatboro, Pa, US  Nikonian since 15th Mar 2009 Sun 09-Jun-13 09:27 PM
3612 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#1. "RE: Shutter Count on d3200?"
In response to Reply # 0



What computer operating system do you use and what is your photo edit software?

Len

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

    
buffumjr   US  Registered since 05th Jun 2013 Sun 09-Jun-13 09:31 PM
235 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#2. "RE: Shutter Count on d3200?"
In response to Reply # 1



Considering Photoshop Elements, but currently have Photoshop 5.0. XP desktop computer. But, isn't the count on the camera?

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

        
Leonard62 Gold Member Awarded for excellent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community, especially of Nikkor Lenses Writer Ribbon awarded for his contributions to the Nikonians Resources articles library   Hatboro, Pa, US  Nikonian since 15th Mar 2009 Sun 09-Jun-13 09:43 PM
3612 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#4. "RE: Shutter Count on d3200?"
In response to Reply # 2



It's not on the camera. It's in the EXIF data but not every program will report the shutter counts. I use photoshop file info.

What you can do which is very easy is to upload a file here.

http://www.camerashuttercount.com/

There are other online sites you can use as well. I'm sure there will be other recommendations if you get more responses.

Len

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

            
buffumjr   US  Registered since 05th Jun 2013 Sun 09-Jun-13 09:56 PM
235 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#5. "RE: Shutter Count on d3200?"
In response to Reply # 4



Wow. That's rather inconvenient if you are at a neutral place looking at a second hand camera ytoyu are interested in.

OK. Will use it if I buy used. Thanx. I guess vibes from the seller, and visual inspection of the camera will be best.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

                
Leonard62 Gold Member Awarded for excellent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community, especially of Nikkor Lenses Writer Ribbon awarded for his contributions to the Nikonians Resources articles library   Hatboro, Pa, US  Nikonian since 15th Mar 2009 Sun 09-Jun-13 10:01 PM
3612 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#6. "RE: Shutter Count on d3200?"
In response to Reply # 5



Have the seller tell you the shutter count. Tell him how to do it if he doesn't know.

Len

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

                    
buffumjr   US  Registered since 05th Jun 2013 Sun 09-Jun-13 10:26 PM
235 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#7. "RE: Shutter Count on d3200?"
In response to Reply # 6



Makes sense to me. OK. Will do.

Plan to buy camera either in private sale, or used from Clem's Classic Cameras in Daytona Beach.

Each little detail is important, so I can get the best deal.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

blw Moderator Awarded for his high level of expertise in various areas   Richmond, US  Nikonian since 18th Jun 2004 Sun 09-Jun-13 09:37 PM
26996 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to send message via AOL IM
#3. "RE: Shutter Count on d3200?"
In response to Reply # 0



The count is not accessible on the camera. It's placed in the EXIF data of every file produced by the camera, though: NEF, JPEG, etc.

So what you need to do is to find one of the more advanced EXIF readers. On Windows, the usual reference is called Opanda. Later versions of Photoshop display the data with File->File Info, but 5.0 is so old that I'm fairly sure that it doesn't. (Current CS6 is 13.0.5; I think 5.0 is from about 1999?) There are lots of ways to read this, though.

_____
Brian... a bicoastal Nikonian and Team Member

My gallery is online. Comments and critique welcomed any time!

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR NIKON CAMERA Nikon D5000/D3000 series (Public) topic #8264 Previous topic | Next topic