Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D5300/D5200/D5100/D5000/D3300/D3200/D3100/D3000 (Public) topic #8124
View in linear mode

Subject: "Nikon D3200 focus - Viewfinder vs Live View" Previous topic | Next topic
daveyoung Registered since 13th May 2013Mon 13-May-13 12:44 PM
2 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Nikon D3200 focus - Viewfinder vs Live View"

GB

Hi all,

I'm new to DSLRs and "proper" photography in general so I apologise if my questions seem obvious or my terminology is all wrong!

I've always wanted to learn a bit more about photography and from various reviews I determined that the D3200/18-55mm VR would be a good camera for me to start with.

So far, most of my photographs have been taken with the kit lens and the camera set to Auto. The clarity of photographs over my old Panasonic pocket camera is vast, however I've always had problems getting a really crisp focus on things whether stationary or moving. Occasionally I get it spot on, but more often not.

I have always put this down to:

1) The camera being in Auto mode
2) Not really knowing what I am doing
3) Wobbly hands
4) Some people saying the lens isn't very good

Recently I've been spending a bit more time with my camera and I've bought another lens (Nikon 35mm 1.8 AF-S) and I seem to be struggling to get crisp focus with this also. I’ve experimented with the AF options but I haven’t found the answer yet.

This weekend , quite by accident, I discovered that if I take a photograph using "Live view" then the focus is bang on. Even if I zoom right in on a photograph there is no blur at all.