This is my first post and I writing on behalf of my buddy who's on a safari vacation in Africa.
Before his trip he purchased a 5200 and a couple of SanDisk cards. He found that the camera/cards never give a warning that the card is full and will overwrite existing images. Luckily his prized images of gorillas were backed-up before the camera overwrote those.
Anyway has anyone seen this behavior before? I don't know if it's on more than one card. Is there a setting on the camera that he missed? He mentioned he did format both cards in camera before use.
I did warn him that he should test the camera before he left for his trip but the camera just became available the day before he left.
#1. "RE: 5200 - card never fills - overwrites images!" In response to Reply # 0
Welcome to Nikonians!
I have not heard of a camera overwriting images on a full card before.
Have your friend go into the Camera Menu > Custom Settings Menu (Pencil icon) >f4 Slot Empty Release Lock Set it to Release locked This will prevent the shutter from releasing when there is no memory card in the camera and I suspect possibly when the memory card in the camera is full.
When it is set to Enable release the shutter will release with no memory card in the camera (and I suspect with a full memory card in the camera) and while the image will not be recorded, it will be displayed in the LCD monitor in Demo mode.
My best guess is f4 is Enabled in your friends camera and the while the new images are being displayed in the monitor, they are not being recorded.
#2. "RE: 5200 - card never fills - overwrites images!" In response to Reply # 1
>I have not heard of a camera overwriting images on a full card >before.
I, unfortunately, have, and it was caused by a knock-off memory card, labeled as Sandisk. They use smaller memory chips and write the firmware so that when you reach the end of the card, it starts overwriting from the start again. Usually these cards are easy to detect though, as their prices are far too good to be true.
I would suggest looking at the custom settings as suggested, that seems the more likely culprit by far.