Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D5300/D5200/D5100/D5000/D3300/D3200/D3100/D3000 (Public) topic #7055
View in linear mode

Subject: "Best compact Nikon body in last 10 years?" Previous topic | Next topic
Pacman32 Registered since 13th Nov 2012Tue 13-Nov-12 04:21 AM
9 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Best compact Nikon body in last 10 years?"

US

So I have been shooting with a D40x and D80 since 2007. Some burglars recently gave me the opportunity to re-think my entire camera/lens collection, as I will be starting from scratch. I will likely buy used equipment, so the whole model line is available to me.

Anyway, I loved the D40x. It seemed to have a good chip in it (I thought it did a slightly better job with colors than did my d80), and I loved its compact size. I'm now in the market for a replacement body. It would help me if you all could tell me which of the compact bodies has the best chip in it. Superior high-ISO low light performance would be a big plus.

If you all don't think that there is a huge difference among these bodies, that is useful to know too. I could always just go for the best deal or pick up a D50, which will work with all the good ole AF lenses.

I almost posted in the D50/D40/D60 forum -- I want to consider both model lines. Whether or not the camera can do video is not really a big priority for me -- all else being equal, it would be nice.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Best compact Nikon body in last 10 years?
MEMcD Moderator
13th Nov 2012
Pacman32
13th Nov 2012