Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D5300/D5200/D5100/D5000/D3300/D3200/D3100/D3000 (Public) topic #6774
View in linear mode

Subject: "Older flash units on D3200" Previous topic | Next topic
OldNavy609 Silver Member Nikonian since 07th Feb 2012Tue 25-Sep-12 05:01 PM
383 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Older flash units on D3200"


Albuquerque, US
          

I have an SB-20 and SB-28 and am wondering if I can use them on my D3200 without damaging the camera? I don't use flash very often (mostly for fill or interior shots). If I am unable to use either of these units, would you recommend the SB-400?
Thanks in advance.
Lee

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Older flash units on D3200
Leonard62 Gold Member
25th Sep 2012
1
Reply message RE: Older flash units on D3200
OldNavy609 Silver Member
25th Sep 2012
2
Reply message RE: Older flash units on D3200
gkaiseril Gold Member
25th Sep 2012
3
Reply message RE: Older flash units on D3200
OldNavy609 Silver Member
26th Sep 2012
4
     Reply message RE: Older flash units on D3200
MEMcD Moderator
26th Sep 2012
5
          Reply message RE: Older flash units on D3200
OldNavy609 Silver Member
26th Sep 2012
6
               Reply message RE: Older flash units on D3200
MEMcD Moderator
27th Sep 2012
7

Leonard62 Gold Member Awarded for excellent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community, especially of Nikkor Lenses Nikonian since 15th Mar 2009Tue 25-Sep-12 07:36 PM
2887 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#1. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 0
Tue 25-Sep-12 07:47 PM by Leonard62

Hatboro, Pa, US
          

I have the SB-28 and it works fine on the D3200.

However the D3200 will have to be in M mode so you can set the shutter sync speed. I use 1/125. You will need to set the aperture in A mode and then go back to M to take your flash photo.

The SB-28 will need to be in A mode. When you first turn the flash on the ISO display on the flash LCD will blink. Use the + or - button to set your ISO. It can only be set immediately after turning on the flash and while the ISO is blinking.

Now you can use the zoom button to set the lens focal length and the SEL button to set the lens aperture to match what you set the D3200 aperture to.

After you set the ISO, lens FL and aperture you will see a line of black squares directly above the distance scale in feet. The f stop you chose will be fine as long as your distance from camera to subject falls under the black squares. If they fall outside of your distance simply change the f stop on the flash and then the D3200 until they do.

You should get a perfectly exposed photo automatically as long as your f stop and ISO is set correctly and the distance falls anywhere under the black squares.

As a starting point and with a 50mm lens, ISO 400 and f5.6 set on both the D3200 and the SB-28, you should get good flash photos Automatically at any distance between 5 and 40 feet.

I don't have the SB-20 so I can't help you there. But the SB-28 is the newer flash and should be preferred.

edit: If you don't have the manual for the SB-28 you can down load it from the NikonUSA site.

Good Luck,
Len

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

    
OldNavy609 Silver Member Nikonian since 07th Feb 2012Tue 25-Sep-12 08:09 PM
383 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#2. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 1


Albuquerque, US
          

Thank you so much for the information. I have a bid in for a SB-400 on Ebay, but I would still use the SB-28 if I needed extra "oomp". My real concern was that the SB-28 would damage the camera.
Again thank you so much for your time and help.
Good shooting,
Lee

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

        
gkaiseril Gold Member Nikonian since 28th Oct 2005Tue 25-Sep-12 08:50 PM
6739 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#3. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 2


Chicago, US
          

You can use Photo Strobe Trigger Voltages for older flashes other than Nikon flashes. Some flashes actually used the HV circuit and that could eventually damage the shutter release contacts.

George
My Nikonian Galleries

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

    
OldNavy609 Silver Member Nikonian since 07th Feb 2012Wed 26-Sep-12 07:36 PM
383 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#4. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 1


Albuquerque, US
          

Thanks so much, Len. I copied your post to a Word Pad document and did as you suggested. The test shots turned out great.

I do have a "newbie" question. Will the built-in flash on the D3200 always pop up, or is there a way of using the SB-28 without that happening?

Thanks again,
Lee

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

        
MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007Wed 26-Sep-12 11:00 PM
25569 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#5. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 4


US
          

Hi Lee,

If you use P, S, A, or M exposure modes, the built in Speedlight won't pop up until you manually press the flash button to turn it on.
Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

            
OldNavy609 Silver Member Nikonian since 07th Feb 2012Wed 26-Sep-12 11:18 PM
383 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#6. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 5


Albuquerque, US
          

>Hi Lee,
>
>If you use P, S, A, or M exposure modes, the built in
>Speedlight won't pop up until you manually press the flash
>button to turn it on.
>Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!
Thanks for the info. I feel really dumb, after I posted, I started experimenting and found out the answer. I'm still a newbie, even though I'm an "old guy".

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

                
MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007Thu 27-Sep-12 07:04 AM
25569 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#7. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 6


US
          

Hi Lee,

>I feel really dumb, after I posted, I
>started experimenting and found out the answer.

Don't!
Remember: The only dumb question is the one that was never asked!
Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D5300/D5200/D5100/D5000/D3300/D3200/D3100/D3000 (Public) topic #6774 Previous topic | Next topic


Take the Nikonians Tour and learn more about being a Nikonian Wiki /FAQ /Help Listen to our MP3 photography radio channels Find anything on Nikon and imaging technology - fast!

Copyright © Nikonians 2000, 2014
All Rights Reserved

Nikonians®, NikoScope® and NikoniansAcademy™ are trademarks owned by Nikonians.org.
Nikon®, Nikonos® and Nikkor® are registered trademarks of Nikon Corporation.