nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

| |

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries News Workshops Shop Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising
Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Print Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR NIKON CAMERA Nikon D5000/D3000 series (Public) topic #5627
View in linear mode

Subject: "Hard Reset doesn't Reset Custom Data - Hard Reset Not..." Previous topic | Next topic
searchlight59   US  Registered since 01st Apr 2012 Wed 04-Apr-12 04:27 AM
2 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Hard Reset doesn't Reset Custom Data - Hard Reset Not Working?"
Wed 04-Apr-12 04:31 AM by searchlight59


I own a used D5000.

I have been aclimating myself to its features and have loused up the settings a few times so to start from scratch, I wanted to completely reset the camera so I did a hard reset with the paper clip pressing the button in the SD card compartment, the 2 button reset, and a Custom Reset.

After doing all this, I set the camera to what I wanted, and went to my local park to take some test shots.

When I came home to download the images to my PC, lo and behold, the previous owner's name appeared under every shot that I took.

I did not know about the Image Comments option, so I called Nikon and the rep told me where to look in the menus, and that the previous owner placed his name there. I told him that irregardless, a Hard Reset should not only reset the camera but erase all custom settings, too. He agreed. He thought that maybe the clock battery is retaining the custom settings but if that were true, then the clock would not have to be reset.

Now I am wondering whether this camera will really ever be completely reset since it leaves data in the camera's memory. In previous DSLR's that I owned, a Hard Reset meant a complete reset of everything including custom data from memory.

I just did my tri-reset as a test, and it still left my name in Image Comments.

Is this normal? What do you think?

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR NIKON CAMERA Nikon D5000/D3000 series (Public) topic #5627 Previous topic | Next topic