nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

| |

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries News Workshops Shop Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising
Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Print Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR NIKON CAMERA Nikon D5000/D3000 series (Public) topic #3264
View in linear mode

Subject: "Remotes for 3100" Previous topic | Next topic
rafaelgcpp   BR  Registered since 13th Feb 2011 Sun 13-Feb-11 10:31 PM
3 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Remotes for 3100"



Hi Nikonians,

Is the ML-L3 infrared remote compatible with the D3100, or only the corder MC-DC2?

Thanks,

Rafael

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Remotes for 3100 MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas
14th Feb 2011
1
Reply message RE: Remotes for 3100 d3100user Silver Member
14th Feb 2011
2
     Reply message RE: Remotes for 3100 Romnerd
18th Feb 2011
3
Reply message RE: Remotes for 3100 jpFoto
18th Feb 2011
4
Reply message RE: Remotes for 3100 Romnerd
21st Feb 2011
5
     Reply message RE: Remotes for 3100 zb007
09th Jun 2011
6
          Reply message RE: Remotes for 3100 gkaiseril Gold Member
12th Jun 2011
7

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas   US  Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007 Mon 14-Feb-11 12:36 AM
27439 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#1. "RE: Remotes for 3100"
In response to Reply # 0



Hi Rafael,

The D3100 Users Manual does not refer to the ML-L3 so I suspect that it is not compatible. It does refer to the MC-DC2 as being compatible with the D3100.
Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

    
d3100user Silver Member  US  Nikonian since 23rd Jan 2011 Mon 14-Feb-11 03:12 PM
148 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#2. "RE: Remotes for 3100"
In response to Reply # 1



The MC-DC2 is you one option so you will be corded.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

        
Romnerd   UK  Registered since 18th Feb 2011 Fri 18-Feb-11 01:29 PM
2 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#3. "RE: Remotes for 3100"
In response to Reply # 2



Hi,
Whilst on this subject can anyone tell me if the
PHOTTIX® NIKOS Digital Timer Remote is FULLY compatible with the Nikon D3100? (http://www.phottix.com/en/wired-remotes/phottixr-nikos-digital-timer-remote.html)


The Website say - Yes........ but ....

The reason I ask is that I ordered a model similar to their PHOTTIX® TR-90 (http://www.phottix.com/en/wired-remotes/phottixr-tr-90.html) and it did not work. Whilst it connected ok the shutter release did not work remotely! I sent it back for a refund to the third party supplier.

Before you ask, yes I have emailed Phottix, waiting for reply. However if anyone has actually fully tested this unit It would be very helpful.
Thank you



  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

jpFoto   US  Registered since 25th Jun 2010 Fri 18-Feb-11 04:01 PM
1114 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#4. "RE: Remotes for 3100"
In response to Reply # 0



There are a number of third party remotes. I bought one from Linkdelight for $13.50 plus shipping. It works great, however, it ships from Hong Kong and takes about 2 weeks. I think that Vivitar may make one. Here's a link:

http://www.linkdelight.com/R6I-Wireless-Remote-Shutter-N3-for-Nikon-D90-D7000-D3100-as-MC-DC2.html

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

    
Romnerd   UK  Registered since 18th Feb 2011 Mon 21-Feb-11 08:58 AM
2 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#5. "RE: Remotes for 3100"
In response to Reply # 4



Thanks very much for the information but I am looking for a timed shutter release remote, wired or wireless that is fully compatible with Nikon D3100.

Anyone?

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

        
zb007   PT  Registered since 09th Jun 2011 Thu 09-Jun-11 01:22 PM
2 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#6. "RE: Remotes for 3100"
In response to Reply # 5



I buy this one D Remote Shutter Release Cord for Nikon D3100 MC-DC2 FS and i don´t now how this work, i put it in the camera and don´t do nothing can any body help me?

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

            
gkaiseril Gold Member  Chicago, US  Nikonian since 28th Oct 2005 Sun 12-Jun-11 04:52 PM
6739 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#7. "RE: Remotes for 3100"
In response to Reply # 6



With the remote in the camera, can you use the camera's shutter release to take an image?

The camera may need to achieve focus, so you will need to half depress the remote shutter release and pause before the full press.


You should also cover the viewfinder as light entering here can cause light meter reading errors.

George
My Nikonian Galleries

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR NIKON CAMERA Nikon D5000/D3000 series (Public) topic #3264 Previous topic | Next topic