nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

| |
Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Digital postprocessing & workflow (Public) topic #35
View in linear mode

Subject: "42-Bit Image Filtering and Editing" Previous topic | Next topic
f5fstop Awarded for his contributions to the Resources Basic MemberSat 11-Nov-00 03:06 PM
2947 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"42-Bit Image Filtering and Editing"

Private, UM

Ok, as I said before I'm new to this scanning of slides/negatives/photos, and the two software packages that came with the scanner are PhotoDeluxe 4.0 and Photoshop 5.0 LE. Neither of these packages allow editing of a photo scanned in at 42-bit (when I mean editing, I mean the used of filters, changing image size, changing hue, saturation, etc.). The software packages require the bit-depth to be reduced to 24 bit before editing can be performed.

Does a full-blown (extremely overpriced, in my opinion) copy of Photoshop allow editing of these photos while still at 42-bit?
Are there any other programs out there that are just as good for scanning photos in, but a little less expensive, and still allow the editing of a 42 bit photo.

Now, those who know me understand that I'm not a cheap person; however, since I will only be using this software for scanning in my photos (and some friends' photos from time-to-time), I feel it is rather ludicrous to purchase a software program that will be used about once every two months that costs in the area of $500.00.