Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Digital postprocessing & workflow (Public) topic #23
View in linear mode

Subject: "Photoshop and the Zone System" Previous topic | Next topic
N80 Silver Member Charter MemberFri 13-Oct-00 10:54 PM
8574 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Photoshop and the Zone System"

Rock Hill, US

I am an amatuer photographer who knows deep down inside that I will never own a darkroom and likely will never learn how to do my own processing at all. However, I've gotten serious enough about this hobby to 1) buy an N80 with a 28-105 AF Nikkor ( a big step for me) and 2) start learning and using the Zone System. The Zone System makes perfect sense to me (on a practical level) and I've made a few photos I'm proud of. Yet, using roll film and lab processing limits the total utility of the Zone System. For those unwilling to go the route of self processing Photoshop seems to be a very real possibility coupled with a high quality slide scanner and printer (or a printing service like Ofoto). I would love to see a discussion about applying the Zone System to the digital set-up I've described above. How can one use the scanner settings or Photoshop filters to achieve N-1, N+2, etc., processing? Does anyone have experience in this? Are there special plug-ins? Is there specific "how-to" literature on this topic? Are there recommendations for the best slide scanners and printers for black and white processing?

Thanks,
George

George Barron

My Nikonians Gallery is here:
http://images.nikonians.org/galleries/showgallery.php/cat/500/ppuser/1091