nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

Home Forums Articles Galleries News Workshops Shop Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Coming Full Circle on JPG

Omaha

Omaha, US
561 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
Omaha Registered since 07th Jan 2012
Sun 16-Mar-14 02:45 PM

Years ago, when I got my D70, I shot JPG because I didn't know there was any alternative. I bought it to take product shots for our website, and generally things worked out well.

Almost. I was always frustrated that the results weren't exactly what I wanted, so I spent a lot of time fiddling with lighting (mostly). That helped a lot. But then (thanks to some very helpful Nikonians) I finally "got it"...meaning I finally understood how to correlate what I knew about film photography to digital.

So I started shooting everything RAW, and spent countless hours experimenting with different RAW conversion options in Photoshop. That was the last piece of the puzzle, and the results were wonderful. It was a rare image that couldn't be "fixed in post". RAW was where its at.

A couple of years ago, I realized that the amazing medium format film cameras I couldn't begin to afford back in the 80's were available at crazy-low prices today. I ended up getting an amazing Mamiya RB67 setup (complete with some fantastic lenses and a collection of film backs), and the whole business cost less than I spent on my second-hand Nikon 10.5 fisheye.

Back to film I went. I shot about a thousand miles of Tri-X back in the 80's, but this time around I decided to give Ilford FP4 a try. Amazing stuff. I also discovered Kodak Portra 160, which is absolute magic.