Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MULTILINGUAL NIKONIANS English Café (Public) topic #87491
View in linear mode

Subject: "Hypothesis - comments invited" Previous topic | Next topic
PeterBeckett Gold Member Nikonian since 04th Jan 2010Tue 19-Mar-13 05:08 PM
813 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Hypothesis - comments invited"

San Jose, US

As I have admitted many times, I'm more of a techie photographer than I am an artist - having enjoyed a lifetime's association with hardware and software development. My experiences lead me to be curious about the relative auto-focusing speed between the D4 and other Nikon DSLRs.

I doubt that I'll be challenged if I state that the D4 achieves faster autofocus than its stablemates. That being the case, I propose that the governing factor might well be the "beefier" battery used in the D4 - which may well allow greater surge currents during auto-focus than the lesser batteries used in other bodies.

Unfortunately, I sold my D4 but do have a couple of D800s which use the, somewhat puny, EN-EL15 batteries. I have a Nikon AC adapter with the matching connector for the EN-EL15 and have used this during lengthy AF fine-tuning tests. I have the potential to power D800s externally, either by a HD battery or the AC adapter.

Would anyone like to suggest a good way to quantify speed-of-AF during tests with different power options? Results might be dominated by the in-camera power circuitry, but could well depend on the capacity of the battery to maintain voltage during the surge current while auto-focusing.

Pete

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic