nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

| |
Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Print Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR VISION - BY SPECIALTY Micro, Macro & Close-up (Public) topic #51457
View in linear mode

Subject: "I'm a newbie..." Previous topic | Next topic
LuisGonzalezLT Silver Member Nikonian since 04th Nov 2005Mon 17-Jun-13 01:56 AM
923 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"I'm a newbie..."
Mon 17-Jun-13 02:13 AM by LuisGonzalezLT

Macedonia, US

I have shot a lot over the years but never really did much in the realm of macro. Having decided recently to try it out more I had to first start to figure out the gear.

I already had a Nikon 85mm F/2.8 PC-E lens that did half life size. I also had a Nikon TC-20E III 2X teleconverter so I put that on the lens to create a 170mm F/5.6 that would go life size and played around with that.

Of course, I had to check out the legendary Nikon 200mm F/4 Micro so I picked up one of those to compare against my rigged "170mm".

I did some quick comparison shots against some Energizer batteries. Below are my results.

The apertures don’t initially make sense for the comparisons. These are the apertures the camera was indicating, which did not take into account the 2X on the 85mm. I adjusted the aperture on the 85mm to give the same shutter speed (ambient light for these tests) as the 200mm figuring that should get the two close. The resulting comparison images look about right DOF-wise between the two lenses.

So basically I am comparing a “170mm” against the 200mm.

So, first row is really:

170mm F/9 200mm F/8 170mm F/9 Tilted

Second row is really:

170mm F/28 200mm F/22 170mm F/28 Tilted