Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR VISION - BY SPECIALTY Micro, Macro & Close-up (Public) topic #50997
View in linear mode

Subject: "Depth of Field" Previous topic | Next topic
rpoyner Registered since 23rd Apr 2013Sun 12-May-13 07:29 PM
9 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Depth of Field"

GB

Hi there, this is my first post, I'm a keen macro photographer and only recently read that distance to subject has a big impact also. I thought I'd check this out and did some tests on my Sigma 150mm lens, I plotted the results on excel (would attach if I knew how). It amazed me that going from 20cm to 40cm doubled the DOF for a given f stop, in fact more than doubled at higher f stops. Previously I have always tried to get as close as possible, this year I think I'll be keeping my distance from the bugs.
That's my question really, I've just upgraded from a D80 to a D600 and wondered is there an optimum subject distance to work at? I'd really appreciate your comments as I want to up my game this year. Many thanks in advance.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Depth of Field
AartPapaya Silver Member
12th May 2013
rpoyner
12th May 2013
aolander Silver Member
12th May 2013
rpoyner
12th May 2013
kodiak photo Silver Member
12th May 2013
rpoyner
12th May 2013
aolander Silver Member
12th May 2013
12th May 2013
rpoyner
13th May 2013
13th May 2013

AartPapaya Silver Member Nikonian since 21st Oct 2011Sun 12-May-13 07:49 PM