nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

| |
Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR VISION - BY SPECIALTY Micro, Macro & Close-up (Public) topic #50817
View in linear mode

Subject: "Starting into macro photography" Previous topic | Next topic
Jamed600 Gold Member Nikonian since 02nd Mar 2013Wed 17-Apr-13 06:23 PM
192 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Starting into macro photography"

Naperville, US

I am new to nikon and am getting interested in macro. Just got a D600 and have a 105 micro on order. I have read several articles here in macro photography but still have questions. My main interest starting out is flowers but I would like to progress to insects. In have a good Manfrotto tripod. My questions:

1. Sounds like anything smaller than flowers will require > the 105, would you all agree? At this point I don't want to buy a larger Micro.
2. I saw one post where a 105 was used in combination with a 1.4 TC and extension tube and the result looked great. Is this a practical combination? I have a 2.0 TC for use with my 70-200. Could that be used with the 105 and are there disadvantages with a TC?
3. It appears the only option with the D600 and G lenses is Kenko extension tubes (assuming you want auto focus and aperture control). However the reviews on the Kenko tubes is mixed. Is there a higher quality option (surprised that Nikon doesn't offer tubes appropriate for G lenses)?