Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR VISION - BY SPECIALTY Micro, Macro & Close-up (Public) topic #50312
View in linear mode

Subject: "HELP! Please help with flash settings." Previous topic | Next topic
bellnier Silver Member Nikonian since 18th Jul 2006Wed 23-Jan-13 12:21 PM
1714 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"HELP! Please help with flash settings."

Buffalo, US

I have D300 camera, R1C1 kit including SU-800 and two SB-R200 speedlights mounted on a 60mm AF Micro Nikkor lens. I have NO experience with flash photography (I'm an ambient-light sports shooter).

I need to photograph lab mice and rats, close up. The room lighting in our Biobubble is bad and I need reproducible lighting for publication and presentations.

I've set the commander to TTL, close-up.
Camera settings:
A mode, f/5
Single-point AF
Single-servo AF
Spot metering

What other settings should I use in the camera? ISO? Minimum shutter speed? Etc.

Thanks.
Dave

"Stupidity is a gift from God, but one mustn't misuse it" - Pope John Paul II

Http://bellnier-photos.smugmug.com

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: HELP! Please help with flash settings.
bellnier Silver Member
23rd Jan 2013
blw Moderator
23rd Jan 2013
bellnier Silver Member
23rd Jan 2013
blw Moderator
24th Jan 2013
bellnier Silver Member
24th Jan 2013
blw Moderator
24th Jan 2013
bellnier Silver Member
24th Jan 2013
blw Moderator
25th Jan 2013
bellnier Silver Member
25th Jan 2013

bellnier Silver Member Nikonian since 18th Jul 2006Wed 23-Jan-13 07:40 PM