nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

| |
Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR VISION - BY SPECIALTY Micro, Macro & Close-up (Public) topic #50266
View in linear mode

Subject: "Extension tubes" Previous topic | Next topic
radwar Registered since 28th Feb 2009Wed 16-Jan-13 10:56 PM
301 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Extension tubes"

Cupertino, US

Hi there,
I have a D600 + a Nikon 105mm lens non VR and I am am thinking of getting extension tubes to get closer than what my 105 currently gives me. I am relatively new to macro and would like some tips, suggestions or anything I can get

Thanks!

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic

blw Moderator Awarded for his high level of expertise in various areas Nikonian since 18th Jun 2004Thu 17-Jan-13 12:33 AM
26905 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to send message via AOL IM
#1. "RE: Extension tubes"
In response to Reply # 0

Richmond, US

Since you don't have AFS or VR, you have more options. The Kenko tubes are the best choice for those that need electrical pass-through. The Nikon tubes - long out of production but generally still available at a significant price - are significantly better built, but they are incompatible with G lenses. I use a number of non-G macro lenses (including that same 105/f2.8 AFD Micro-Nikkor), and I prefer the Nikon tubes; I use the PN-11 the most.