Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #62517
View in linear mode

Subject: "White Balance W/ Flash?" Previous topic | Next topic
Jamed600 Gold Member Nikonian since 02nd Mar 2013Fri 22-Nov-13 03:38 PM
189 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"White Balance W/ Flash?"

Naperville, US

I am new to flash photography and trying to learn the basics. I am using the SB-700 and 910 with a D600. I assumed the camera would set WB to 'flash' automatically when a flash was mounted but it appears that is not the case. With diffuser and bounce in lighted family room WB as shot was 5100. Changing to 'Flash' in Elements brought it to 5500 which looked right. So I assume I should be manually setting the camera WB to Flash?
Second question. We have a very 'Tuscan' themed family room which reads very warm + incandescent lighting. Shooting available light I have used a gray card and set a custom white balance. Could I do the same with bounce flash using either a gray card or Expodisc? Or would the changing mix of flash/background light as I moved around the room (shooting grandkids Christmas morning) defeat the purpose?
Thanks for any help/advise.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic

HBB Moderator Hal is an expert in several areas, including CLS Awarded for his excellent article contributions to the Resources. Charter MemberFri 22-Nov-13 09:33 PM